Audio Analogue Puccini SE Integrated Amplifiers

Puccini SE

Integrated amplifier - 50 watts

User Reviews (30)

Showing 1-10 of 30  
Larsen   AudioPhile [Sep 10, 2015]

Jag har haft den i snart 10 år
Gillar det mjukt ljud med rör känsla
Det låter raffinerad, mycket rörliknande, om du vet vad jag menar: söt och raffinerad diskant
jag kan säga att den gillar alla högtalare :)
en dual mono förstärkare som är från Italien
med 50w men driver lätt mina trög drivna 85db högtalare lätt. (den har kraften )
priset när jag köpte den i sweden kosta den 19.000kr

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tinbby   AudioPhile [May 02, 2015]

This amp like a beautiful woman. Class A
I have this amplifier more than 10 years

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ps Stoltz   AudioPhile [Feb 27, 2015]

Wow !!!!!
Kvalitet och tung. Enormt bra ljud för små slantar
Låter mycket trevligt till Jaz sax gitarr Akustiskt och sång
men är även bra till R&B med bas då en riktig spelare än idag
Hittar ni en kan jag bara säga köp utan att tänka :)


Rock Nej Disco ok

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rabby   AudioPhile [Aug 16, 2004]
Strength:

realistic midrange. Elegant design. smooth and slightly laid back highs. musically slow but keeps a good pace.

Weakness:

doesn't have a headphone jack

I've been in this hobby for more than 10 years and I've owned big integrated amps such as Accuphase E-407. While I keep upgrading, the Puccini SE stays in my second system. Well, the E-407 is far more superior, but for the price, it's much better than competitors like Audio Refinement Int Amp or any int amp under $2000. It's soft, realistic sound makes many CDs listenable (actually enjoyable). Use a pair of efficient speakers and the bass can go quite deep and weighty, the amp sounds a little slow compared to most solid state amps, but I consider that a feature, not a drawback. This is the amp that makes you forget about hi-fi terms and enjoy music. Vocal performance is the best I've heard from any amp that weights less than 50 LB.

Similar Products Used: Audio Refinement Int Amp (lifeless). Aragon 8008 (not bad for solid state). and many others
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
soso_soso   Audio Enthusiast [May 21, 2004]
Strength:

Easy to love sound

Weakness:

If you like veru open and dynamic sound, if you like to look inside your favorite singers' throat - AAP is not for you.

This amp like a beautiful woman. It’s easy to love but give you all if you will coddle her. Cables, source, and loudspeakers – all mean in Puccini’s case. I have tried this amp with few CDP and many cables both to speakers and IC. AAP had to play also with few different speakers. It is so easy to find out that everything is important for the sound. I prefer Harmonic Technology Truth Link as IC and I would like to change also speaker’s cable soon to HT Pro-9. Loudspeakers should be not too hard for managing. Sound is very detailed, great high range and midrange. A bit round bass is a feature, not a real fail. Dynamic is average but with good material sound is impressive still and can wake you up. 3D space appears without any problem but then cables play the main part.

Similar Products Used: many...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Audi   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 13, 2003]
Strength:

Beautiful engaging sound

Weakness:

Not for hard-hitting music. Not very dynamic.

Very good with vocal but not very detailed. But the best thing about this amp is that it sounds beautiful. It's not very good with hard hitting music though. Eminem and Missy Elliot sounds better on a boom box ;) But Diana Krall and Dave Koz simply sounds great. I've noted that some people say it sounds better with good power cords. I've tried Audioquest but can't detect any difference. I've also tried Kimber PK-14 Gold, faster tighter sound with more detail, but I like the standard sound better, it simply sounds more beautiful. Maybe I'll try other power cords in the future.

Similar Products Used: CJ PV-10A, Golden Tube SE-40, ST-85, Aronov
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
vsrok   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 02, 2002]
Strength:

For price sound is OK

Weakness:

I am not sure any more in Italian technology.

I have this amplifier more than 4 years, and I am not satisfied due to two failures that I had. In Croatia is missing well and quality service, and I will never by Italian product any more. The sound is OK, but all this failures are more than enough for me.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
vntg59   AudioPhile [May 17, 2002]
Strength:

Build, finish,sound,looks,price

A damn good amp, probably one of the best in its price range. I use the new remote and more powerful one. needs a pair of neutral sounding speakers and its best mate is the Paganini CD player. Hook them up with good cables(I use Harmonic Tech) and it will surprise you with a natural,transparent, uncoloured, dynamic and exceptionally detailed sound. Holographic imaging including soundstage height, very rare in this price range. Comes with a classy remote, so heavy that you may want to put it on spikes...:)Curious, but sounds the best on its own feet, no cones or other stuff.Looks great and well finished. On vocal music is audiophile heaven.

Similar Products Used: many
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Paul Basinski   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 02, 2000]
Strength:

See Below

Weakness:

See Below

I want to chime in about the Puccini. I've owned mine for around three months. This is a very good amp. Build quality is impeccable, inside and out. The feel of the controls, the thick fascia, sure they don't make the sound any better but they speak quality. And the sound? Let's just say it's extremely UNdigital. This integrated loves CDs; it's very kind to their sound without being excessively euphonic. Also, I don't think I've ever heard an amp that does better justice to the midrange. Vocals are natural, not etched, not holographic, just human sounding. The Puccini is great with male vocals for some reason, an odd phenomemon. But other solid states I've had seemed to do better with female vocals, yet the P nails the other sex as well. The amp has great detail but never sounds hyped or bright. It will play loud, with good bass, but it has its limits. Try and run the P beyond its limits and it clips in a very nasty way and then shuts down and powers back up. In a word this amp is musical; it sounds like music and not musical artifacts being played through a machine. If you like REAL LOUD rock, forget it. This baby will pump it out, but not at party hard levels. But if you simply enjoy music, sweet, rich, harmonies, this one deserves a listen. Drawbacks? It's not a master at the rhythm thing--this amp takes it's time. But I wonder if all the speedy solid-state amps are kind of a coloration in thier own right. Hyped in detail as well as speed and punch, I mean. The Puccini is neither, just balanced. Gets you closer to the mystery of music. ENJOY! Great price, too. These go used for around $800.

Similar Products Used: Various integrated and power amps, both solid state and tube.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tommy   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 14, 2000]
Strength:

More punch than the original SE. Details. Imaging. Vocals.

Weakness:

A fine interconnect can make quite a difference (Tara Labs RSC Prime is my choice)

So the new Puccine SE 'Remote' comes with a weighty remote, pre-out sockets and a tape on/off switch, but is that all there is to it? No, not at all. Designer Paoletti left and in came Manunto and Rampino and with these two designers an all new and beefier power supply - and a new sound.

They new SE is not valve-like or "tubey", but neutral. Details in abundance, superb imaging, a much better grip on your loudspeakers and a tighter bass. At an input sensivity of a full 1 Vrms you also have a volume control that you can enjoy, not the silly "fraction of an inch and the windows are gone" type. In short, for my classy classical records it's next to perfect - yes Sir!

Similar Products Used: Too many...
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 30  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com