Arcam A32 Integrated Amplifier Integrated Amplifiers

A32 Integrated Amplifier

100 watts per channel

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
Henry Oliver   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 19, 2009]

The Arcam A32 is a superb Integrated Amplifier and I would have no hesitation in recommending it.
I use ot with Arcams Power Amp (the P35) and Arcams CD player, CD 36.
My speakers are the Epos ES11 which handle anything the A32/P35 throw at it.
I use Nordost Valhalla speaker and interconnects.
I am more than happy with my present system which produces fantastic imagery, clean precise bass and more than adequate volume when required.
Thanks Arcam, you have done it again !

Henry Oliver

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
superhiend   AudioPhile [Nov 19, 2008]
Strength:

Details, natural sound , modern design , higly flexibly LCD display.

Weakness:

None

Ho sostiuito il mio vecchio Nad C370 con questo ottimo lettore Arcam FMJ CD 36.

La differenza è abissale sotto tutti gli aspetti.

La timbrica è perfettamete bilanciata e francamente con la mia sperienza non ho notato nessun difetto.

Gli alti sono regalarmente estesi senza alcuna colarazione, i medi sono bilanciati al punto giusto ed i bassi sono potenti e completi.

Mi sento di consigliare di consigliare questo lettore a patto di avere un impianto all' altezza in modo da sfruttarne il massimo delle potenzialità

Similar Products Used: Nad C370
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
williesoon   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 08, 2003]
Strength:

sound quality flexibility of upgrade easy to drive any speaker features...loads!

Weakness:

think they should do sometthing about the remote. i need it to glow...and for the price and quality i think the remote should be a little better.

I got the unit at a bargain price new. I was actually deciding between the Musical Fidelity A3.2 and the Arcam FMJ but after some casual listening, i chose the Arcam. Its not that the MF has its shortcomings but the Arcam is slightly smoother and more forgiving compared to the MFs. The MFs are very honest, analytical and clinical it its delivery and to some this might be a strength. But to my ears, the Arcam is smoother and sounds a million dollars. Would get the P35 poweramp too as it made alot of difference. The future upgradibililty potential of the Arcam further gets the nod over the MF. Sheer class. To top it off, i got the matching FMJ CD23T Cd player too. Its a stunner.

Similar Products Used: Musical Fidelity X-P100, X-AS100, A3.2, Marantz, Arcam Alpha 9
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
wenrhuang   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 19, 2003]
Strength:

Clarity, low level resolution, big soundstage. When combined with FMJ CD23 CD player, the system provides great sound quality, pleasing esthetic design, and a very user freindly control with one remote.

Weakness:

Does not feel much more powerful than A85

I ran into a very good deal on A32, so I purchased one to replace my A85. Before I did it, I had my doubts about if it would be a worthwhile upgrade, as I read so many good reviews on A85, while not as many on A32. Now that I did it, I would say that the answer is yes. I was told before that A32 and A85 sound similar. It is true according to my experience. However, only after about 80 hours of use, in my opinion the A32 exhibits two important superiorities over A85: 1. A32 sounds more neutral than A85; With A85, my system—which includes Nordost cables and B&W N805, both could be already on the bright side—sounds very clear but a bit too much on the bright side. With A32, the overall sound is more pleasing without loss of clarity. 2. A32 gives a bigger sound stage; deeper and wider than A85. I am sure there are more improvements in other areas, but the above two are the most noticeable for me. Now for example, A32 generates beautiful piano sound, with better tonal balance, air, and soundstage than those produced by A85. It just sound more like a real piano playing in front of me. I could not tell very much difference between A32 and A85 in regards to volume level, bass weight, resolution, etc.. However, I definitely do not think A32 is in any area less capable than A85. Regarding upgrade, I may get a more dramatic result if I added a power amplifier like P85 to my original A85 than what I did now. But I am very happy with the simple set up of A32 with the rest of my system, and the resulting quality of sound. My system: Arcam FMJ A32 Integrated Arcam FMJ CD23 B&W Nautilus 805 Speakers Nordost Red Dawn II Interconnects Nordost Blue Heaven II Speaker Cables

Similar Products Used: Arcam A85
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John99   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 24, 2003]
Strength:

Detail and clarity. Much punchier than my previous amp - a much 'bigger' sound without being too much.

Weakness:

The remote control is too small and fidly... but thats about all I can come up with!

I have been seriously impressed by this amp... the sound it produces compared to my previous amp (a Nad C370) is much, much better. I know the Nad is alot less money and I'm not perhaps being that fair comparing them but even allowing for the price difference it's still managed to impress! I tried the Nad and FMJ back to back and the FMJ gave a much punchier and more detailed presentation than the Nad which sounded lean by comparison. Until I tried the Arcam FMJ I would never have thought the Nad could sound 'cheap' - short of spending alot more on an amp than the FMJ. I have used an Arcam A85 but found it far too bright with my speakers. I also tried a Roksan Caspian which was much nicer but still didn't make me want to go out and change the Nad 370. The FMJ amp and cd was, however, a different story - the sound produced for all types of music was far superior to the Nad setup. Nothing sounds forced at all. You can just sit back and enjoy. My current system is Arcam FMJ A32 Amp Arcam FMJ CD23T cd player Audioquest 'Slate' speaker cable LAT IC-100 Mk2 Interconnect. Previous system Nad 370 amp Nad 540 CD player Cables and interconnect as above.

Similar Products Used: Nad 319, Nad 370, Arcam A85, Roksan Caspian.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tonya21a   AudioPhile [Jan 10, 2003]
Strength:

Matches the Arcam CDP?

Weakness:

Only average sound quality

I have demed this unit and felt that whilst it is great on music with bass heavy/ electronic music with more natural music it sounded artificial. I did like the styling however and especially the small display.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
gustavog   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 26, 2002]
Strength:

Sounds as good as some higher priced gear. Lots of features.

Weakness:

Minor at this price: If power fails it does not return to standby.

Superb sound for the price. It is subtle and detailed. The dynamic range is very wide and at high volumes does not sound "just loud". It has many useful features, like trimmers for all inputs, individual tone adjustments for each input, balance, etc. I am using it with: B&W N805 speakers Musical Fidelity A324 DAC harman Kardon FL3380 cd changer Audioquest Slate speaker cables Nordost Blue heaven interconnects

Similar Products Used: Musical Fidelity A300, Arcam A85, NAD C370
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Thomas   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 15, 2002]

The FMJ A32 as all arcam products, deliver quality far in excess of their price points. This is an integrated I plan to live with for a while. Forget the minimalist approach...Arcam gives you everything. The ability to run 2 pairs of speakers which when switched from the remote is a very nice feature when doing side by side real time comparisons of speakers. Headphone jack, phono input and as many buttons and bells as the user wants to access from the onboard menus. I am currently using it with a Arcam cd92 which lets me utilize the same remote (convenient), Dynaudio contour 1.1s and a small earthquake sub (volume and crossover set responsibly) and I couldn't be more content.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nikpearson   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 16, 2002]
Strength:

Very smooth, yet still manages to extract huge amounts of detail. This is an extremely refined amp that really lets you hear what's going on in a recording. Build quality is high with a solid 8mm front panel and a well damped chassis - just try tapping the case. You can adjust a number of settings such as source input levels, volume resolution, etc. This amp doesn't sound very hifi at all. High frequencies are well extended but never overly bright, bass is full but lacking in artificial bloom.

Weakness:

The amp doesn't seem to go as loud as my old Audiolab 8000A despite being more powerful on paper. This is probably more to do with increased refinement - the Arcam is certainly less forward sounding. I guess £1150 is a lot of money for an integrated amp, even one this good.

Extremely refined, detailed, and transparent integrated amp. Build quality and facilities are also very good. Works brilliantly with Arcam's CD23 player and Castle Harlech S2 speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com