Anthem Integrated 2 Integrated Amplifiers

Integrated 2

User Reviews (20)

Showing 1-10 of 20  
ARJohn   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 17, 2014]

Well picked this up 2 weeks ago , and I am a happy man . I got rid of Sunfire Classic tube pre amp to downsize to a 1 box solution . But much to my surprise I like it better , swapped in a set of Tungsram NOS tubes and am really liking it . Even with the Sovtecs that where in it I thought it sound pretty good . The amp seems to have no issues driving my Maggie SMGA's . The thing is well built and might send it to parts connection for the SE upgrade at some point down the road as I am in Canada so not a big deal for me . As this was a used unit the value was 5 stars , I have 2 digital sources and 2 phono so all the inputs I need . I use outboard phono pre's anyway so no big deal for me that it does not come with a phono pre . There are better options out there I am sure but works for me . Parts Connection sells them for $699 us refurbed so not a lot of money for something that is built like this puppy .

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Ket   AudioPhile [Oct 23, 2002]
Strength:

Musical and engaging. Good looks and build quality. Remote control for volume.

Weakness:

None yet.

I bought this amp used for my brother and ended up keeping it for myself for a while at least. Performance is better than expected. With not a whole lot of experience with tube amps, the Anthem, I feel, definitely gives you that tube sound. The sound is open and warm with a soundstage thats wide and relatively deep. I didn't expect the SS to be as deep as it is. The amp is also very musical and non-fatiguing making it easy to listen to for extended sessions. In fact I now like it more than my Acurus DIA100. Even though its not as accurate as the Acurus esp at the frequency extremes, it more than makes up for it by giving the listener an engaging sound. On the power side of things, the Anthem appears to be able to drive most speaker loads effortlessly. Although not as good as my Bryston 3B-ST, I had it driving the Magnepan 1.5s with never any hint of strain. Currently, I have it paired with the NHT2.5i's which I think is a great match-up. The more I use this amp, the more I like it. I highly highly recommend the Anthem Integrated 2.

Similar Products Used: Acurus DIA100, Bryston-60B, Musical Fidelity, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
JJM   AudioPhile [Aug 27, 2002]
Strength:

Can change sound w/tube swapping. Sweet, detailed sound. Overall build quality. Great warranty.

Weakness:

Cheapo cover screws are out of character with rest of build quality.

A musical & revealing amp. Very well built, heavy as a tank with quality components used throughout & a great warranty (5 years) The only minor fault is that Sonic Frontiers (the parent company) cheaped out on the screws that hold the cover on. They're flimsy & easy to snap the heads off. Not a big point, but a pain since most people are going to tube swapping. At its list price of $1799 there are a lot of choices & it's not a clear cut winner over other integrateds in the same price range. But who pays list now a days? The reality is that this is a discontinued model & they are going out the door for less than $1000. I paid $895 (barnd new) from Jeff's Sound Values in CA & that makes it a steal. You are in Japanese mass market terriority at that price with there being nothing even remotely close that matches its sound quality. Grab one, you won't be disappointed. The best sounding integrated I auditioned was a Classe CAP151, but the Anthem is real close in sound quality. However, the Classe costs substantially more ($2000 best discount I could get) & with the Anthem once you throw in the right tube you're in triode heaven. A few if the previous reviews mentioned a veiled sound. That's the stock Sovteks at work. As Horace Greenley once said (ok, he didn't but he could have if there was tube equipment in his time)"swap those tubes young man". This is one fine sounding unit, but you need to lose the Sovteks for it to reach full potential. The Anthem replaced a Musical Fidelity A300, which went on the fritz. At first I thought there might be a problem driving my speakers (PSB Stratus Gold i's) since the Anthem had 100 less watts into 4 ohms (145 w/ch vs 250), but suprise, suprise. Not only was it not a problem but the Anthem had deeper bass. Both are fine sounding amps & they really let the details shine through as well as throwing a nice wide soundstage. The Anthem provides a little more in the way of low level resolution and ambient cues with this becoming even more apparent when I switched from the Sovteks to NOS Sylvanias. The Sylvanias are cheap (around $10 ea), easy to find & improve the dynamics. Eventually a pair of NOS GE's (made in England ,not the USA ones)were tried with monster results. The GE's made this unit boogie. It's tap your feet & enjoy the smooth, life-like sound pouring forth. The Anthem is not sterile sounding,it makes music!

Similar Products Used: Musical Fidelity A300, Vintage Fisher Tube amp, Classe CAP 151, NAD
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sail   Audiophile [Mar 08, 2000]
Strength:

Best Integrated Value

I'm submitting this to the owner's of Integrated-2 to get maximum value out of it.
1) Use good quality interconnects to connect pre-out and ssp-in and push ssp button. You will get much better sound. I've reported this to SF and they were very surprised by the effect of one extra coil internally.
2) Get yourself a pare of NOS mullard 6922. Now we are talking “magic”.
3) If you have 24db gain tube amp, use it to bi-amp. 20 to 30 watt tube amp is enough to drive mid and high. Now we are in the high side of high-end. This combination will beat the system cost many time more.

Enjoy it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bob Roles   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 30, 2000]
Strength:

none that I noted

Weakness:

Sure hefty frame but poor quality cover it didn't fit right and had to have the factory screws removed by my machine shop the tops were stripped

A hybrid is just a marketing gadget for those who don't want the trouble of having a tube amplifier. Very veiled soundstage; great bass if I was into heavy metal. All the amps tht I ahd would kick it's behind. If I could I would give it a 0.

Similar Products Used: Golden Tube audio; Jolida 502; Rogue 88
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Dave Nolan   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 07, 1999]
Strength:

See review below.

Weakness:

See review below.

After posting the review below, I had some second thoughts.... mainly concerning the "value" side of the equation. The Anthem Integrated 2 is a very fine amp indeed, but there are a lot of very fine intregrated amps out there for $1,000-$1,500, so you really can't give the Int-2 five stars for value at its list price of $1,799 ... especially given its lack of a phono stage. It full list price, it's only a 3-star value. If you can get one for $1,500 or less, it's a 4-star value. And at $1,200 or less, a five-star value.

Similar Products Used: See review below.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
John   Audiophile [Aug 14, 2000]

Looks like Bob from Illinois is trying to tip the charts with two negative entries...shame on you. Seems like you received a bad unit - your complaint may be better suited for the dealer.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nelson Elmore   Casual Listener [Mar 16, 2001]
Strength:

Exceptional clarity and dynamic range; natural sound and good looks

Weakness:

no phone stage - put at that price who's counting

This is an outstanding interated amp for a 1000 bucks. It drive my M7si effortlessly and brings out the best in my CD player (a CD-1)I'm only a two channel guy... So far this amp has made the difference in the quality of the music I am now listening to, it far exceeds the sound produced by my old amp (Advent 300 -needless to say I've been away from HiFi for some time.)There is so much more resolution without an accompanying increased brightness. The tube pre-amp transforms the sterile sound associated with most CDs, taking the sound a closer to warmth of vinyl. I have recording that I've isten to for years, swearing that I'm hearing them for the first time... On many occasion, I am often taken back, thinking I'm experiencing something live...
I won't bore you any more and go on and on, all I can say, this amp does it all very nicely at a great price...

Similar Products Used: none of this caliber
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Steve   Audio Enthusiast [May 09, 2001]
Strength:

Nice Bass. Musical.

Weakness:

Still alittle bright on some recording. But, Still beats any fully solid state interated amp.

I had a chance to get a Jolida 1501RC w/ upgraded tubes for 600.00. The list is around 800.00 w/ the upgraded tubes. Then I found a used Anthem int.2 for 850.00 including shipping. I ran out to listen to one at a dealer. And I loved it. I still got alittle brightness on some recording. But, most things sounded very smooth.I never got a chance to listen to the Jolida. But since they were the same money and the anthem listed for 1799.99 and the jo listed for 750.00 w/the stock tubes. I just had to get the Anthem.I feel I made the right decsion.

Similar Products Used: Krell 300I, Jolida 1501rc
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Les   Audio Enthusiast [May 05, 2001]
Strength:

Smooth highs, Great bass

Weakness:

Volume control alittle loose

Frist of all. Anyone that says this sounds like crap .Has got some of that in there ears.I'm Talking about you down there Bob!!!Even w/ the Stock Russian Tubes this unit still has that warm tube sound. But Remember. It dosen't have that last Degree of Bloom in the mid's that all tube products have.But for this money in the used market .It can't be beat. I guess the reason for the price drop is they've been discontinued.The Bipolar amp section has get bass.Better then a Mosfet design. If you can find this for 800.00 don't think just buy it.

Similar Products Used: Classe CAP-80,100,150
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 20  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com