AMC 3050a Integrated Amplifiers

AMC 3050a Integrated Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

50W x 2

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Jan 11, 2019]
aplanistos


Strength:

Bought it new many years ago, still delivers the good. Meanwhile over the years I have changed and constructed more than a dozen amps but this is still my favorite one especially for midnight listening. Gave it a recap 5 years ago. Amc send me both manuals for free also they have a full parts stock!

Weakness:

nothing at this price.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Oct 23, 2005]
know nothing
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sweet and natural sound, strong bass, quiest background, great for head phones, looks cool, easy to live with.

Weakness:

Takes a while to run in and sound its best, left right signal becomes unbalanced at very low volumes.

About two years ago, I bought a used AMC 3050a along with an AMC T7a tuner to replace my old Kenwood KA-3500 integrated amp that had provided years of faithful service. The Kenwood has a pretty good phono section, but it is a little bright for CDs played on my old Yamaha CDC-715 through the AUX channels. Since I don't currently own a working TT, my focus was on getting a system that does a good job with CD and broadcast sources, but has the ability to handle phono inputs in the future. The 3050a seemed like a good candidate, and the price was lower than the similarly-powered new rigs available in my local hifi shops. The 3050a looks good and appears to be very well built. After auditioning several used amps including an NAD, I took home the AMC on a strong recommendation by the shops salesperson. At first I was disappointed. The 3050a was plenty loud, but the sound was somewhat closed, and I would say that instead of sounding natural as some have stated, it sounded dull and slow to me. I was playing it through new speakers (homemade boxes with Morel drivers and decent crossovers), and thought that maybe the drivers needed to loosen up. I switched to some older Wharfdale Diamond 8.1s from my HT system and it didn't make much difference. The 24 year old Kenwood sounded a little better. After a while (6 mos. or so), everything started to change. The sound opened up, and the staging and dynamics improved considerably. This was the case when played through both the "new" speakers and the older Wharfdales. Now the AMC sounds considerably better than the Kenwood in every respect. The unit looked brand new when I picked it up, and I think it had never been used more than a few hours before ending up on the used rack. Running in seems to have made a big difference in the performance of this amp, and it just continues to get better all the time. I am now a big fan of this little amp. The last chapter in this story is that I was poking around magazine reviews of other AMC products and I found a reference to replacing the factory pre to power amp jumpers on the back of an AMC 3020. I had the guys at Speakerlab here in Seattle build me some braided silver jumpers to replace the std metal bars and it made a huge difference in sound - not necessarily better. At first the sound was very bright and harsh, and the bass moved way back. Over time the bass came up and was actually quite clean and well-defined, but female vocals and cymbols were still too harsh, almost raspy. I switched over to some Audioquest standard preamp jumpers with high quality solid copper conductors ($25/pr. U.S.) and the highs backed off, becoming much smoother and the bass is back with a vengence. I definitely prefer the sound of both aftermarket jumpers to the little metal bars that came stock with the system, a worthy and relatively cheap upgrade. If you wanted the best sound, solid silver conductors would probably be the ticket if you could find them. kn

Similar Products Used:

NAD, Kenwood

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 12, 2003]
Biggsuthingus
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

lovely sound, classy looks, ease of use, nice phono stage

Weakness:

pathetic excuse for a remote

I got the AMC 3050a to replace my clapped out 20 year old Sansui au999 integrated and boy was i surprised. I'd been looking for quite a while and i can say that i have gone through a lot of brands for something that appealed to me, looking around the $1000 mark i got a real jump start when the guy at Tomas told me that it was $400 less than the bloody Yamaha. What a sucker i could have been.(BTW if you didnt already know, AMC was founded by the same group of engineers as NAD so expect quality as well as plain and simple design.) so down to business.... This AMC is quite honestly the most amazing amplifier in its price range. The bass is strong but clear and smooth The mids are transparent as any ive heard in its price bracket. (not a scratch on tube quality but hey, what do you expect?) The highs are crisp and clear, not sharp like the yamaha. Using records, i am quite happy with the phono preamp, though if your realy picky you'd reckon the mm mode is a little quiet. but im not too finnicky. I run my Sound dynamics RTS7s off it, and i must say, it sounds a little more powerful than 50wpc. the high current output must be the ticket. Overall the AMC is a beautiful amplifier with great sound and user friendliness. if your looking for a new amp around this price range you cant go past it. I must have a gripe though. What the hell do you do with the remote. I reckon the functions are easier to manipulare manually without the bloody thing. I wouldnt be complaining if they could have added a muting function on it, then i wouldnt be geting up and sitting down so often when someone enters my study (im being very picky here). I'm just going to shut up now and let you get out and hear this amp for yourself. you wont be dissappointed.

Similar Products Used:

yamaha AX596, Denon pma655R, NAD c300bee c340 c350, harman kardon, cambridge audio, marantz, sony, sansui au999

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 26, 2002]
erwadley
AudioPhile

Strength:

Accuracy, neutrality, warmth(via phono playback). Acceptable power for loud playback. Good Options and auxiliary inputs and pre-outs etc. Remote. Value!

Weakness:

MM setting on phono stage could use a little more juice. -

Overall this is a very solid amp-with like previously stated lots of value. I've used it mainly for stereo only-home theater and especially for phono playback. Giving this amp playing time has really sweetened up the sound. I listed about 1 hour per day. It drives speakers well but if I had the money I'd buy some more wattage for home theater purposes. Still 90% of my listening is on vinyl and I find the phone stage and preamp section to be capable and relatively quiet. At times it even sounds warm and rich-(although I attribute most of this to my stylus Clearaudio Aurum Beta) All functions work great, remote useful and handy, auxiliaries and flexibility of this amp make it a top contender for the price. I have really no complaints, sound is accurate, lively, neutral. Only concern is I have a sub-woofer connected and the phono stage on board seems to pick up a little vibration through the chassis of the amp itself, a problem which was easily rectified by adding weight onto the amp itself-thus reducing any slight acoustic feedback. Amp has high quality inputs and speaker binding posts-has a touch of class. Tone controls are inoffensive and pleasant when employed. Otherwise I really enjoy it-I feel very satisfied with my purchase.

Similar Products Used:

Sony integrated. Sansui Quadrophonic Receiver/Amp. Pioneer sa-6700.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 23, 2001]
Steve
Audiophile

Strength:

Price, remote control, tone control bypass, phono section

Weakness:

Brand lacks big-time reputation...

Bought this unit because the spouse wanted a remote control on our second system which is primarily used for background listening. This unit replaced a B&K Sonata preamp and ST140 power amp. At first power-on, this thing was a pleasant surprise. Even after a month, I am still enjoying it. The detail and resolution is better than the B&K pair from top to bottom. Midrange is not as sweet as some tube rigs I have used in this system, but what you get for this price, it is great. I am tempted to try this baby in my big system (tubed from begining to end), but I am enjoying it too much right where it is.

Similar Products Used:

NAD, HK.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 11, 2001]
Bart
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

fabulous phono stage (combined with a Pro-Ject Debut turntable), warm 'clean crisp' sound, basic design, with a remotecontrol, really straight!

Weakness:

can sound a little bit 'careful' sometimes (but 'this staying in control' is also a major strength)

Very much recommended. I use the AMC with Mission 701 speakers (have good depth; combined with the AMC good wide touch> results in a fine musical atmosphere). Before I bought it I spent several listening hours at several dealers (I like smaller ones, not always easy to find) listened Marantz PM4000, 6010OSE, 7000, Denon 755, 1450, NAD 320, 340 (no phono stage; I prefer vinyl), Sony's, Kenwood KAF3030R, Rotel 931 (without remote; what I wanted to adjust volume) and more, but the all couldn't match the AMC on his strenghts mentioned above. My first impression was "what's this, AMC? never heart of? do I like this design?" Now I've listened three months, it has gaint my satisfaction. Give your ears a try. By the way I listen from Art Blakey to Bach or Beastie Boys, from the Velvet Underground to Verdi.

Similar Products Used:

eighties Marantz amp

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 02, 2001]
Salik
Casual Listener

Strength:

good sound, price

Weakness:

remote lacks features

I'm updating my review below.

The problems I was having with the audio, was not the amp but the Y-cable I was using. It was a crummy AMX cable which was replaced gratis by my audio shop with a ultralink unit. problem gone.

I also upgraded my speaker to some decent Monitor Audio Silver 4i's - which are spectacular.

Overall I have to give five and five. A great starter unit.
Great sound overall.

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 18, 2001]
Christophe
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Value, clean amplification with simple controls

Weakness:

goofy useless remote

The AMC 3050a is a fantastic bargain amp. I upgraded to this amp from a 12 year old Kenwood I purchased back in high school, so of course the differences are remarkable. Having built a pair of nice MTM type speakers using 6.5” Vifa/Speak drivers I needed something better to power them than the old Kenwood. The AMC is much better than I could have hoped for given the $300 price tag. In particular the low-mids are much stronger and warmer and the bass really seems to extend down farther and is stronger than it was the Kenwood. The difference in the clarity and separation of voices is astounding.
Power: The amp has more than enough power for my small (12’x15’) listening room. Despite the meager listing of 45x2 watts into 8 ohms, it seems to have far more useable clean power than its 100-wattx2 predecessor.
Controls, features, and looks: The controls are simple and consist of a well laid out series of plain black knobs, and the overall look of the amp is simple and clean. If you like gauges and flashing lights this amp will not make you happy, but I think the clean modern look is just fine. The remote seems a bit useless for all the energy they put into designing the elegant motor driven volume and source selector knobs. The Remote has six buttons, 4 for source selection and two for volume, there is no power button on the remote (and no standby on the amp). The back is well done and has 4 nice heavy 5 way binding posts for the speaker wire and switches for both TT cartridge type as well as for speaker resistance (4 or 8 ohm). It has a thin profile but is heavy for its size. It also has preamp outs and would probably do very well if used just as a preamp for a larger set of amps. In particular this might be a good way for the TT aficionado to get more power and still take advantage of the superb phonograph preamp included in this unit.
Sound: This is the real test, and I don’t think anything in this price range will come close. With a price comparable to the low-end superstore model Yamaha or Kenwood you get a real piece of “audio-enthusiast” quality equipment (I can’t call it “audiophile” equipment because the low price would make “audiophiles” snigger in disbelief). The sound is warm and accurate, just like it should be. For purists there is a tone defeat knob, but switching back and forth between that and normal with the tone knobs at 12 o’clock made no discernable difference and the tone knobs themselves have a very subtle and natural effect when adjusted. In particular the bass control just kind of creeps in and never gets suddenly “boomy”. In selecting this amp I also auditioned an NAD and a Rotel, both in the $600-$1000 price range. I won’t say the AMC blew them away, but it sounded every bit as good at less than half the cost. The sound of the NAD was nearly exactly the same. I am sure that this amp will not work for some of you who require the sound of pure tube amplification through $1000 cables into your B&W 801s and Martin Logans, but for the rest of us this amp should make us happy and content.

Similar Products Used:

Kenwood, Yamaha, NAD, Rotel

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 16, 2001]
Henry
Audiophile

Strength:

Detail top to bottom, neutral, nice phono stage for MM (haven't tried MC), above all, Value.

Weakness:

nitpicking...remote switches inputs but not muting.

Firstly, this little integrated was purchased, primarily, because it had a well reviewed phono stage, had remote control, and, had pre-outs and main-ins. This latter point was necessary because I bought the 3050a as a pre-amp (so I then could order the Parasound HCA-1500A power amp...audiophile reasoning at its best!)
But, until the power amp arrives, I hooked up the AMC into the system. I was not expecting a whole lot since my speakers are Maggies and, well, the amplifier is advertised at 60wpc at 4 ohms, not enough "oomph" to make the Maggies really sing.
My first surprise was build quality. Very good. My second was the sound. Quite good. Very neutral, detailed and spacious. I carefully cranked up the volume past background levels and was very surprised.
While not exactly "live performance" levels, this little amp marched right on at what I would consider average listening levels. No sign of strain! Hmmm....then I checked the Owners Manual. The specs there say 80wpc at 4 ohms!
Classic Records re-release of Carol King's "Tapestry" was awesome! The vocals were outstanding. I highly recommend this LP as well. The phono stage is quiet.
When John's baby arrives next week, the jumpers will be pulled and the 3050a will be a pre-amp only, but it is certainly good enough to serve as a full integrated!

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 22, 2001]
Salik
Casual Listener

Strength:

Price, Phono stage, good overall sound

Weakness:

Quality, remote lack features

I bought this from a pal as I was moving up from a low-end receiver. I wanted to get into proper audio gear. I
chose to go with AMC as the price was excellent for the
power.

After a burn in period I found the 3050 to be excellent, providing good overall sound. Maybe a little mushy on the low-end in the direct mode. A little tweaking
of the tone controls helps that out. In general though I
use the direct mode. It definitly does a great job with
the DVD player. Plugging in the stereo outputs produced a quality of sound well above that of my receiver.

I have, however, had quality issues. The knobs don't point
straight up in their neutral position. I am on my third amp since the previous two have had problems with channels either not powering up, or only kicking in after a warmup period.

I can give it 5 for value but only 3 for overall, due to these quality problems. The units are manufactured in Taiwan and I'm not sure if that has anything to do with the quality.

Equipment:
Yamaha CD player
AMC 3050a
Monitor ASW100 sub
Tannoy Mercury m2 speakers
AMX interconnects
XLO er-11 speaker cable

Similar Products Used:

AMC 3025a

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com