Yaqin MC-100B Amplifiers

MC-100B

  • Output power: 30W×2 (8O) Triode (TR) connection
  • Frequency response: 5Hz~80KHz (-2dB)
  • Signal noise ratio: =90dB (A)
  • Input sensitivity:packed mode: 0.25V Pro mode: 0.6V

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
bab   AudioPhile [May 02, 2015]

yaqin mc100b (i think it is new vertion of it)
4x kt120 tungso, 0.60 bias
4x 6sn7gtb nos international service master (made in w.germany).
2x 12ax7 black plate rca.
are you ready ?
& a really nice AR-3a.
now i think about ts kt150.
whats your offer?

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Louis   AudioPhile [Jan 30, 2015]

I never doubted that the Yaqin 100B would prove its wonderful sound after the original tubes were replaced with Gold Lions and RCA NOS tubes. Today it has been a year since I purchased and installed it and it continues to please me with its workmanship, quality and beautiful sound. This from a guy who owns Mc equipment for many years.... Kodos to the Yaqin design and mfg. team in China. Sincerely, Louis A, NYC

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John Garces   AudioPhile [Jan 25, 2015]

Yaqin MC-100b (2013) with 4x Tung-Sol KT150, 4x electro-harmonix 6SN7EH gold pins and 2x JJ ecc803s gold pins.?
Use 4 digital multimeters to bias.? Remove 2 cage rod's for KT150.?
tone - atmosphere - transparency

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gonzalo   AudioPhile [May 14, 2013]

I purchased this amp online on a recommendation from a musician friend, as he is also an audiophile.
I enjoyed this amp for 4 years recently sold to another friend, very quickly (after blowing up power tubes going cherry red ) realize the right voltage to run this amp is around 94Volts bringing it down from a Variac transformer (10 Amp) it sounded absolutelty amazing.
using NOS TungSol 6550 circa 1963 to 1965 ( 3 quads in stash) it sounded amazing!!!
for 6SN7 i preferred the Ken Rads or RCA Gray Glass but I also used a pair of TungSol black glass it's just they cost more than the amp itself . . .
for the input tubes I used for best results Sylvania 5751 black plates triple mica's best sounding of the bunch including the Telefunken ECC83 and the mighty RCA's and GE's
I used it as an amp feeding ofmr front connectors direct from impedance adjusted (corner frequency to 47K input on the Yaqin) very modifierd Audible Illusions preamp. this amp really sings with this combination.
i also found better (MUCH BETTER) sounding in triode strapped mode (TR)
many things to be said about this amp, maybe quality of materials was nto as great as some of the Europe's and US's best but for the price never anything come as close to a very good amp for a very small fraction of the cost.
Well recommended,
READ THE MANUAL!!!! adjust the bias on teh power tubes regularly (every 4 to 6 months if good tubes)
it's a keeper,
the only thing with more soul is a 45 or a 300B Japanese high end amp that cost probably 10 times this one (used) . . .

Enjoy the music;

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
John195   AudioPhile [Feb 16, 2013]

Hi,
I love the sound my Yaqin MC100B, I removed all china made tubes and put in 4 Tung-Sol Kt120 (set bias with 4 cheap multimeters to 0.55mV), 4 Electro-Harmonix 6SN7EH gold pins and 2 JJ Electronic ECC803 S gold pins tubes.

I also love the sound and have Yaqin SD-30A tube fidelity output CD player, I also removed china tubes and replace with 2 JJ Electronic ECC81 gold pin tubes.

I get all my tubes from Yen Audio in USA and use tube dampers on Amp.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Franko   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 27, 2012]

Meine Meinung über Yaqin MC 100B,PRO :Preis/Leistungsverhältnis bis -450 Euro ist OK ..Trafos+Übertrager sind auch OK,ausreichend dymensioniert .
Kontra: Wer das Gerät vor dem Kauf nicht probehören kann sollte die finger davon lassen ,Weil:
Klanglich nicht wirklich überzeugend ,spielt nicht auf den Punkt .Hauptproblem ist der stark unterkühlte diffuse Mitteltonbereich ,Höhen und Tiefen sind OK-GUT ,die Mitteltonschwäche ist auf die Übertrager ,aber auch auf die Schaltung zurückzuführen .Es hilft hier auch keine Schaltungsanpassung .
Der Schaltungsbedingte geforderte hohe Ruhestrom von 65 mA je KT-88 machen das Gerät zum Endröhrengrab .
KURZUM: Die Schaltung ist nicht ausgereift ,die Übertrager (RAA ca. 2,8 KOhm )haben Ihre Stärken und Schwächen,mich konnte das Gerät nicht überzeugen,habe Glücklicherweise nur 460 Euro incl. Zoll+Co bezahlt .

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
grayfair0   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 22, 2012]

i bought this amplifier last november secondhand. the tubes needed replacing. after a vast amount of tube rolling on all tubes i came to this selection that works amazingly well together.....

shuguang black treasure kt88-z x 4
brimar 6sn7gty brown base x 2 in v2 and v3
rca grey glass vt231 x 2 in v1 and v4
golden dragon 12ax7-t x 2

the sound from this amplifier is nothing short of stunning. the rest of my system is....

musical fidelity nuvista 3d cd player
quad 21L2 speakers
chord company anthem 2 interconnects
chord company epic twn speaker cables x 4

the whole system works as a synergy and i`d gladly put it up against any high end hifi out there. the soundstage in front of me is totally holographic and as real as things get. deep and wide too! bass is gloriously deep. textured and warm. the mids are to die for making both male and female singers voices textured and clear. voices sounds like it`s coming from their throats rather from their mouths. the highs go high! not bright at all just sooooo open! the big plus too which i feel is the icing on a very good cake is the ability to play anything you throw at it. i`ve played everything from nirvana to holst planets and no one or nothing can wipe the smile off my face. for me it gives a sense of euphoria everytime i listen and always feel satisfied.

i heard this amplifier with it`s standard chinese tubes and although they needed replacing (noisy) the amp still sounded very good although i do agree a touch on the shrill side. tube rolling certainly has put this amplifier into a very different league and i definately agree, the well established big boy amplifiers of the world have a cheaper, prettier, very well built and flexible, upgradable problem to deal with!!!

i hate to think how much i`d have to pay out to better the sound of this amazing amplifier

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Charlie Brown   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 22, 2012]


Simply put, a stunning amplifier for the price, period!

It must give 'high end' valve amplifier manufacturers, nightmares.. Beware the likes of Audio Research, Mc Intosh and Pima Luna.. There's a new kid in town..

It's quite amazing how the Chinese makers of this beautiful machine, offer it at this price! The quality of both, the workmanship and the sound are exemplary and the attention to detail is excellent.

I have been in audio for many years and, quite honestly, I cannot remember a product of such quality, ANYWHERE NEAR near this price.

Well done Yaqin! Thanks for making an audiophile quality amplifier accessible to people that, in the past, could only dream of such quality.

Unconditionally recommended!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
David Greenwood   AudioPhile [Jan 19, 2012]

Purchased from tabnaac (Song) in Canada, best garuntee, easy to deal with and offers insight on his products . Researched on the net for this amp. Liked I can adjust the bias easily from top of amp, amp is dual mono, dual power supply (110-120v), sweet looking (got gold/bronze model). Keep Shuguang KT88's. Start tube rolling 12ax7, I liked EH 12AX7, and any ECC83 tubes....biggest bang for buck in performance. 6SN7, stay away from costly VT231 military spec tubes...RCA, Sylvanias, and Ken Rad work well...many variants of each brand to choose from. next found out these amps were NOT designed for USA 110-120v, more like 105v, so I got a Variac set at 104V, and upgraded the power cord (not necessary). Break in is usually 100hrs for some tubes and the amp itself...I used a HD timer, CD player on REPEAT...cycle on for 2-3 hrs, power OFF for same time. Once burnt in, sound DRAMATICALLY improves....next upgrade is Yaqin MS-12B preamplifier to get phono stage for turntable ...this amp and preamp combo sings when vinyl is played.Amp is integrated amp, so its internal preamp is fine for CD player or cassette player as sources. This is a heavy hernia beast. Can also try two pairs of 6SN7 with some NOS Russian 6N8S or even some chinese equivalent tubes....blends some brightness of string instruments to full clarity, and mellows sound with USA brand RCA 6sN7 pair...nice combo. This after the changes above, is a one and done tube amp...why bother with McIntosh or expensive high end tube amps costing 3-4 times the cost of this amp. I suggest higher efficiency speakers >89db, so not to drive tubes so hard...volume at 10 o'clock setting will blow u away like Maxell tape dude !! Recommend 10awg speaker cables, and decent interconnects...each small tweak brings you closer to audio nirvanna...LOL...seriously, this amp gives vocals a live feeling...almost 3 dimensional, music notes are slow decay, more lifelike than solid state amps. This amp is designed for multiple music genres....maybe not Heavy Metal...I play that too, still sounds great....usually Female vocals, orchestra, classic, New Age, rock, folk, country, jazz and blues....soundstage is live....dynamic...hear instruments I never heard before on same music I played for years....especially background vocals. Recommend HIGHLY !!! Price paid $629

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 24, 2011]

Got this amp march 2011 from Ebay, Hongkong. It´s heavy and pretty well made. The sound with stock chinese tubes was not bad but little too shril or tubey.
First I got some EH 12ax7, Tungsol 12ax7 and Mullars 12ax7 and the sound inproved a lot.
That experience threw me right in to the tube rolling madness. Now I'm a poor but happy owner of several fine tubes.
All of the tubes makes their own sound and the best tubes are old NOS. Don´t waste your money to start to collect new russian or chinese tubes. They are all better than stock but harsch, tubey and soulless. All except Shuguang Treasure.
Now my 100B is running on EI 12xt7 or Siemens 12at7, Sylvania 6sn7GTA and Shuguang Treasure KT-88-Z and the sound is just stunning. No solid-state amp can compete with this when it comes to the nuance, soul and tune.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com