Yamaha MX-1 Amplifiers

Yamaha MX-1 Amplifiers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 18  
[Feb 20, 2015]
Indunil Krishantha Mello
Audio Enthusiast

I have listened to the music with the other audio
Brands but I never find amplifier like MX 1 that
Gives the best clarity sound same cuppeled
With CX 1 pre amp and cerwin vega speaker s
And similar amplifier can play outdoor too

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 27, 2014]
Bill Tuffs
AudioPhile

Simply an outstanding value. The MX-1 is rated by Yamaha itself as one of it's best all-time amps (google: 'Yamaha history of amps' and you will see it along side 4 of yamaha's all-time greatest signature amps). The MX-1 is overlooked as the exceptional amp that it is only because it was released at a time when demand for traditional two channel stereo was transitioning to digital surround entertainment systems and it's simple, sleek, presentation is not considered 'classic' by vintage enthusiasts. The MX-1 is an effortless preformer with a very natural and balanced musical presentation, never fatiguing. As with all great ams the MX-1 has it's own signature sound and is extremely well position for those who enjoy listening to high quality music throughout the day and love the convenience of volume control provided by using the remote. I currently own both tube and classic Vfet amps that are capable of greater transparency, broader sound stages etc. but on balance, reliability, ease of use, operating temperature and price you will be very hard pressed to best a MX-1 period! For a few hundred dollars a MX-1 can easily be recapped by your local stereo technician and you will experience a huge jump in its performance. Despite the presence of other prestigious amps in my home the Yamaha MX-1 will continue to anchor my daily sound system for years to come. The reasons are obvious to anyone who owns a Yamaha MX-1 amp, it plays beautiful music!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 11, 2014]
Mark Levis
AudioPhile

This amplifier is the best in the sub 2000$ range. Very clean and powerful sound!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 06, 2011]
AudioArntsen
Audio Enthusiast

Definitely one of the best amps I've heard in the price range <2000€

I paid ~370€ (2010) and I'm very satisfied with my MX-1. It's married to an old-school NAD 1300 preamplifier and the sound is warm, crispy and very detailed. There is virtually NO noise or distortion. The MX-1 just needs to warm up to working temperature, half an hour or so, and the sound is really hi-end, no less. No matter how hard you push it, it never gets warmer. Due to bad crossovers and poor speaker placement I'm not in position to comment on the sound stage imaging capabilities, but I think it sounds very focused.

The MX-1 is a very powerful dual-mono amplifier capable of delivering more than 1200W for a short period, being stable below 2 ohm. It's capable of driving very large speakers. I would recommend it to anyone looking for less then av Electrocompaniet NEMO. I agree with people calling it a "rare whale". Anyone already owning one should hesitate buying a second one if they can.

Not sure about

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 29, 2010]
Simranjit singh
Audio Enthusiast

its very powerful bike and its pickup is so more

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 13, 2010]
marty
Audio Enthusiast

I love this amp Its driveing a set of MTX tower speakers with Dual 12in woofer per speaker. The sound quality id AWESOME and is very loud and clean. I want to get a few more as for my surround sound. Over kill I know but you cant go wrong with then. Very hard to find for sale because they are so awesome.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 26, 2009]
skiskort
Audio Enthusiast

I have 2 of these in a bi amped configuraton and could not be happier! For the money you cannot beat the MX-1, it is by far better than any other solid state amp I have heard in same price range.....heck it may well be better than others costing 2-3 times as much! I could not be happier with the warm sounding/running (never hot) power of this amp from the slab cracking bass to the stellar highs!...never harsh, just musical, I will never get rid of them! Please don't drop them as they'll go through your floor! about 55 lbs. Solid build.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 23, 2005]
SoundsPro
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Amazing value. Effortless power. Solid build. Clean understated appearance. Neutral sound.

Weakness:

Very heavy.

After reading about the Yamaha MX-1 amps, I bought two to use as "monoblocks" to run with B&W 802's. By bi-amping the two channels of each amp to the bi-wired connection of each speaker I figured that there would be ample power. I was not dissappointed! In fact I was delighted at the power/performance of these wonderfully built units. Tireless, neutral and beautifully understated. I now also use a Yamaha RX-V2500 as a pre-amp for these (in Direct mode) and as a HT systems for the other channels for movies. Best of both worlds. I recently saw and heard the new Yamaha MDX-1 and was also very impressed, but at $A8,000, I guess I should have been. The older MX-1's are one of the best value amps on the market - if you see one for sale Buy It!

Similar Products Used:

MX-1000 M-80 RX-V 2500

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 05, 2004]
rotelfan
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Power, power, and power. Non fatiguing, neutral.

Weakness:

At this price, are you kidding me? Perhaps the weight is one issue. I never expected it to be this heavy. Then again, I like my audio gear to have weight, a sign of quality and power.

Purchased this amp used from ebay. Can't believe how happy I am with this amp. In fact I am in the market for a second one! Used to have an Accuphase integrated, used it to drive large full range speakers. Though the sound was extremely accurate, I always felt something was missing. When I switched to the MX-1, I finally found it, the bass. The lower end Accuphase integrated simply doesn't have the power or the current to properly drive full range speakers. I have always used many Krell and Rotel amps in the past. After my first Rotel, RB-1080, I'll never purchase another Rotel again. Bloated bottom end, rolled off high end. The Yamaha MX-1 is totally neutral compared to the Rotel with more power to spare. Compared to the Krell, the Krell does have a better bottom end. Then again, we are talking about spending thousands of dollars more. For the price, you just can't get better than this.

Similar Products Used:

Various Accuphase, Krell, Rotel amps.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 27, 2003]
John
AudioPhile

Strength:

Everything! Outstanding equipment for 13 years and going strong.

Weakness:

Absolutely nothing.

I have been a proud owner of a Yamaha MX600/U since 1991. It is essentially the same as the MX-1 but has the LED output levels, something I kind of like. I was going to sell it (the wife wanted me too!)and went to a lot of effort to prepare online documentation for ebay. I don't think I have the heart to get rid of it. To this day it is best audio equipment I have ever owned. Even after 13 years of age the sound continues to be smooth and powerful...made in Japan!. I've got Paradigm Reference Studio/60's hooked up to it and the sound quality is phenominal. Distortion on this baby is nill. I also have a 1991 Yamaha TX-530 Tuner hooked up. It continues to be an excellent tuner. Even the original remote control still works! Screw the wife, I'm keeping all of it! Maybe I'll get rid of her. Anyway, if you have a chance to buy the CX,MX600/U or the TX-530, don't hesitate. I'm curious if the CX-1 and MX-1 are still manufactured in Japan.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com