Threshold T200 Amplifiers

T200

Solid State Amplifier

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
theo paul   AudioPhile [Aug 17, 2016]

I bought this from an audiophile who had send my T200 to Jon Soderberg at Vintage Amp Repair. He is a former Threshold employee and repair expert. My amp was serviced and upgraded. I love this piece. I have gone to big audio shows and listened to a lot of gear and this T200 can certainly hold its own against many of today's newer and much more expensive amps. Great Sound. For the money I could not ask for better.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Volker   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 10, 2010]

Price Paid $1700

Threshold T-200 Stereo Power Amplifier. 100 watts per channel Class A . Bought second hand for $1700 australian dollars from Simply Hi Fi specialist retailer. This is my first experience with class A amplifiers. Compared to my Bel Banto ref 1000's, Bryston 4bsst and auditioned musical fidelity 250 watt amplifier, this amp is absolutely in a different leaque. Its sound is so airy and 3 dimensional that it gives you a unique realistik experience that I have not encountered before. Midrange and treble to die for and yet so unfatiquing. Lovely low end with great definition. Everything just blends and flows so amazingly real and super clean together. Total synergy as i have never experienced before. I now know what sound stage means. Love it, love it, love it.
BelCanto has greater low end than all however its definition somehat lacks, as well as somewhat recessed / inviting sound stage and lacking averall unison in its complete presentation compared to the Threshold T-200.
Used with Tannoy System 800 8" bockshelf speakers which are very unfatiquing, soft treble and normally not very revealing, the Threshold T-200 has turned them into an amazing performa. I generally only use Electrostatic Speakers, Rob Mc Kinlay Acorns and Accoustat 4+4, cant wait to try this amp on them.

Strength: Unbelivably real, cohenrent 3 dimensional sound, layering of instruments and midrange / treble / bass. An uneexpected improvement and amazing experience over previuos power amps used.

Weakness: Not as small as Bel Cantos, but then what is besides Nu Force amps. May run hotter than AB amps and requires breathing room, but none of this realyy matters with sound as amazing as this.

Equipment: Marantz SA11S2- SACD, Pass Labs X2.5-pre amp, Kimber 8tc cables and Select I.C. Bel Canto Ref 1000-amps & Bryston 4BSST. & Threshold T-200 Stereo Power Amplifier. 100 watts per channel ClassA in Balanced mode, Acorn 8 foot ESL and 6x4 Foot Acoustat 4+4 ESL speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
SonicPerfections   AudioPhile [Feb 28, 2004]
Strength:

This amp, as long as your source and pre are on par with the T200 will let you hear all details, nuances, which include the saliva sounds of the singers lips seperating, the deep and soft breaths of the singers and horn players. The amp is never lacking warmth unless other components being used are not up to par, anyone who thinks the T200 lacks warmth was either using cheap cables or source components in the chain. This amp is one of the most musical I have ever heard with a midrange that is so harmonically rich and seductive that it just draws you into the recording. This amp will reproduce the recording as is, and a terrible recording will sound terrible no color here! The bass is quick deep and the seperation of bass notes sound very real. The difference between this and a top of the line tube amp is about 8 rows With the T200 your in about the 7th row and with the tube amp the 15th row. for the price you can pick one up used 1500.00 these are a steal and should sale for much more.

Weakness:

Run hot in the summer, need to use a fan. not a bother to me, it's well worth it.

I have two of these T200's and they are as good as or equal to anything made today up to $10,000 with ease. I have compared to the newest Marantz monoblocks, Mac monoblocks, Boulders midline and many multichannels, Citation 7.1, Cal MCA 500, Cary Cinema 5, Krell audio standard, the first 3 I owned and sold due to not being in the same league for 2 channel or HT except the Cal MCA which is a killer HT amp, one of the best IMHO

Similar Products Used: Citation, Krell, Cary, cal, Mac, marantz Anthem, Air-Tight Tube
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Patrick   Audiophile [Feb 15, 2000]
Strength:

Nice bass control,wide and deep soundstage,Realistic upper frequencies.Built like a sherman tank..

Weakness:

Company no longer exists, but a group of ex employees got together and do repairs,etc..

My search is finally over. This is the first and only amp i have had in my system that gave me everything=bass control,open sound,non-fatiguing highs, plenty of power (a modest 100w rating),and the non-maintenance that tube amps require.
This amp is the perfect match in my system=

Mirage M3si
VTL 2.5 tube pre
CJ tubed output cd player
Dh labs cables and interconnects

Similar Products Used: AVA Omega III,Sunfire,Parasound,Odyssey Stratos.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave Marti   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 20, 2000]
Strength:

The sound is sweet from top to bottom. This is still
my reference amplifier. Class A biasing seems to be key
to really good sound. It is a shame to learn that Threshold
is no longer in business. Threshold and Forte were good
companies. I put this amp in the same league as anything Krell and Levinson made about the same era.

Weakness:

None, it plays plenty loud with my Thiels.

Built like a tank. Large power supply capacitance.
Warm with a treble that is non-fatiguing.
I just wish I had 2 more of these units to complete
my home theater setup.

I wouldn't describe the sound as tubey though.
It is very much a solid-state amp. After adding
this amp, I thought the bottom end of my Thiel
CS 1.2's sounded more authoratative.

Similar Products Used: Nothing I have tried sub-$1000 from Sony, Yamaha, Denon can touch this. If you find one of these for say $1000 grab it.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Billm   Audiophile [Sep 15, 2000]
Strength:

Natural warmth, detail, treble/bass extension, bass slam.

Weakness:

Runs hot

The Threshold T200 is a wonderful amplifier, very smooth yet detailed and extended at the frequency extremes. When mated with an appropriate preamplifier, or perhaps no preamplifier at all, this amplifier can really sing! The amp in this particular system ehibits exellent depth, smooth yet crystaline treble extension, with exellent bass control and slam. The Stereophile review was very accurate, the amp considered a class 'A' component. It almost never looses its nerve when driven hard, but may run out of juice when driven with an inefficient load, but still drives about anything to satisfying levels. The output devices are no longer available, but service can be had by ex Threshold employees, as mentioned by another review. I do not think you can find better solid state sound for under 2K (used price), but it does run hot! The amp is fully biased into class A, the entire amplifier acting as a heat sink! I use the amp on its own dedicated 20 amp circuit, with 2 AudioPrism Quetlines plugged into audio grade outlets, and an Audio Power PE-1 Power Enhancer plugged in also. Interconnects to amplifier have been the HT Pro-Silway MKII, and currently the Silver Audio Appasionatta Pure silver SE, speaker cables are the XLO Signurature 5.1s. Speakers used recently with the amp are/were the Von Schweikert VR4 Gen IIs, B&W N805, Revel F20, Monitor Audio Studio 6, and Acoustic Energy.

Similar Products Used: Monarchy Audio Class-A Deluxe monoblocks, Highly modified Counterpoint NP220 w/NOS.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jerry O   an Audiophile [Aug 30, 1999]

For the last few years I've gone through several solid state and tube amps trying to find the best of both worlds. Well, I believe I finally found it. This amp has the dynamics, control and speed of the best in solid state, combined with the finesse, soundstage, and 3-D quality of tubes. The only down-side, being pure class "A", is that the amp gets almost as hot as a tube design. Now I think I can stop searching and start listening.
Associated equipment: SAE 8000 tuner, McIntosh C22 (reissue) preamp, Threshold T200 amp, Thorens TD-125 turntable w/SME 3009 MkII arm and Grado 8MZ Signature phono cartg., Pioneer PD65 Elite Series CD player, Denon DRM-740 cass deck, Martin Logan Aerius i speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Jerry O.   Audiophile [Mar 19, 2001]
Strength:

Dynamics, sparkle, body, balance

Weakness:

Speaker load dependent, runs quite hot

I owned an early model run of this unit about 1 1/2 years ago. The unit was mated with the ML Aerius i. It had sparkle and dynamics, but lacked a bit of warmth. I then spent the next 1 1/2 years experimenting with various tube amps. Such amps added some warmth but lacked ultimate dynamics and bass. Eventually, I upgraded from the ML Aerius to the MS SL3. The SL3 is quite a bit tougher to drive. The tube amps suffered. So, I just recently foung a tweaked, calibrated NIB T200 from a former Threshold dealer. I mated it to the ML SL3's, and the match was wonderful. The key seems to be matching the electronics to speaker load to get optimum performance. Tubes and ss can both sound wonderful if they are properly matched to a given speaker load. For my speakers, the T200 is a GREAT match. The sound has body, life, and balance; just natural.

Similar Products Used: OCM 500, PS Audio Delta 250, DBX BX1, Threshold S/300II
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
bill franks   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 18, 2000]
Strength:

build quality

Weakness:

sound

this amp is not what it is cracked up to be,overall good sound but not on the level of the class a new,actually reminds me of the cheaper british sounding amps,very weak in slam etc. do i have a bad one or what?

Similar Products Used: new dca 66 amp
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com