ROTEL RB-1050 Amplifiers

ROTEL RB-1050 Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

70 watts x 2 into 8 ohms, daisy chain link out, input trim, 12V trigger input, signal sensing auto on, detachable power cord

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 11  
[Apr 13, 2020]
jeff89


Strength:

I have a Lexicon MC 8, Magnepan MMGs and NHT SB3 and SB2, all with modified crossover components. Front end is a modified Sony 9000ES(set to slow filter) all using 10gauge homebrew power cables with Blue Jeans cables and home brew Mogami ICs.

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Mar 31, 2017]
REI
AudioPhile

This amp is very well built for it's price range, even though it is made/assembled in China. The parts are great and overall build is better than most.

I have 2 Carver TFM 35X, Parasound 1000, 750 and Zamp V3.

This amp has been reliable but when it comes to what matters, sound, it's a disappointment with Imaging. It has the same high current ability compared to the Parasounds but sound more clinical and sterile, the reverbs and decays of instruments are truncated and affect overall ambience. The Parasounds are more organic, fleshed out.

The 1050 would be good fro bi-amping and used for the bass panels, but not the highs. It's higher damping factor is evident with bass. The highs are better relegated to smother amplifiers like the Parasounds.

There is nothing special about this amplifier and there are others for the same price that do better.

I have a Lexicon MC 8, Magnepan MMGs and NHT SB3 and SB2, all with modified crossover components. Front end is a modified Sony 9000ES(set to slow filter) all using 10gauge homebrew power cables with Blue Jeans cables and home brew Mogami ICs.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 09, 2016]
Mike Holloran
Audio Enthusiast

I use this amp to run my Zone 2 ( outdoor speakers on Deck and front room) I have all B&W speakers and it does a fine job. I'd like to add it's been doing the job for 10 years. The Rotel RB 1050 is a great value. A solid amp for the money. I highly recommend it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 05, 2010]
Crols
Audio Enthusiast

Wonderful amp for the price. Suprisingly smooth for the price; good midrange; non-harsh treble; nice powerful
bass. There is a very slight emphasis in the upper mids, but it's not to the point where it bothers me. Very little grain, and it's solidly built. So I say it's a winner.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 10, 2008]
Rick Carra
AudioPhile

Strength:

Imaging, Power, durability.

Weakness:

None!

I bought this amp after I purchased Paradigm studio 40's. The 1050 replaced a Parasound HCA 1000A. The Parsaound was to bright with the 40's for my taste and i had a rotel rb 971 that i was using and it sounded good with my new speakers so I bought the 1050 to use in a bi amp configuration with the 971 and I must say it sounds pretty good. I have always liked the rotel sound It really matches with the paradigms The highs are silky smooth and the mid range is excellent! It sounds like the instruments are right there in the room with you. You cant go wrong with this amp, For a budget system It is hard to beat!! This amp does not get hot at all.

Similar Products Used:

Rotel Adcom Parasound Yamaha

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 02, 2007]
ryandunk12345
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Plenty of power, more than I'll ever use, uncolored, detailed, a great performer. Nice and heavy - appears to be very well constructed - it has a HUGE transformer inside - heavy duty components like these in such a modestly priced amp is great.

Weakness:

None.

Excellent amplifier for the price! This amp drives my B&W DM602 S3's. They claim it it 70WX2 channels, I'd have to say this is a conservative estimate. This amplifier has all the power I'll ever need! And, even if I turn up the volume to deafening levels - this amp doesn't break a sweat! It is hardly even lukewarm to the touch - at very high playback levels - awesome! Very detailed, accurate, uncolored sound, a truly great bargain! You certainly will have a hard time doing any better than this for 400$ If you're on a budget like me - but still want a powerful but musical & accurate amp - you really can't go wrong with the RB-1050.

Similar Products Used:

Sony, Crown, NAD, Sherwood Newcastle, Arcam

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 25, 2006]
mdunjic
AudioPhile

Strength:

Afordable price, lots of power reserve, mostly civilised highs, good bass and good midrange not far from Quad quality for third a price :-), robust and can be daisy chained for convenience.

Weakness:

Compression at very high, head banging volumes (who cares :-). Nothing else.

I use this amplifier together with RC 1070 preamp and pair of Monitpr Audio Radious 90 monitor speakers as my second stereo / AV system (DVD, Digital Cable receiver and TV hooked up to it) in my living room.

The sound is very nice, no listenning fatigue, movie dialogue and music are crisp at normal to loud listenning volumes which is perfectlly fine with my listenning style. At louder volumes than normal for me signs of compression may pop up.

I am very satisfied with sound quality although I agree with many that RC 1070 pre-amp is the weak link although decent in its own right. I may replace it with Dolby Digital Processor one day.

My main stareo system consists of Krell KRC-3 preamp, pair of Quad 909 power amps and Neat Motive 3 floorstanding speakers. It sounds better but it costs 3 times more!

Similar Products Used:

Quad 306, Quad 909.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 14, 2005]
gbod
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Power supply, dynamics, soundstaging, components used

Weakness:

Some brightness and treble grain but possibly contributed to by the pre-amp.

I use this amplifier with the Rotel 1070 pre-amp and the 1070 line CD player. In fact I am so pleased with the performance, and the way it drives my Krix Liryx loudspeakers, I am getting a second one for bi-amping. On the unit itself, although Rotel market it as a multi-purpose amp, what you get for relatively few dollars includes strong construction, a cool running amplifier, with enough power supply stability and reserves to provide excellent dynamics, bass and an open stage. The amplifier is built around a fairly massive toroidal transformer, and is equipped with individual power circuits for each channel. The signal capacitors are WIMA (a so called audiophile brand) and the power reservoir capacitors are by BHC. The circuitry for each channel is symmetrical, with heat sinks separate for each set of transistors (like a "dual mono" set up). Interestingly, ROTEL do not adverstise the fact that the construction and components used are the same as the higher power (and more expensive) models, making this amp more of a bargain. The 70 W per channel rating is imho conservative, as it seems to peak higher than that, and provided you use efficient speakers, should be ample for rock, classical and more intimate jazz music. On the pre-amp, I think this is the weakest link, being based around mid-level op-amps, and I suspect I will get a lot more insight and detail out of the power amp if I upgrade it. Recommend you have a listen even if your budget for a pre-power combination is higher than the cost of this unit, but I would try out with other pre-amps as well. For the dollars get a lot more in componentry , construction and sound quality than any other product I've looked at, even at much higher cost.

Similar Products Used:

Arcam integrated

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 20, 2005]
AAG
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clear, crisp sound which never seems to struggle. Pretty much uncoloured.

Weakness:

Can sound just the slightest bit bright with some speakers, but it is a very minor quibble. Nothing else in the price range compares.

I bought this amplifier (purchase price is in Australian dollars) after upgrading my speakers when I found I needed greater power than my 300B monoblocks could deliver. I'm more than happy with this amp - it has clear, delicate and nimble performance which compares well to much more expensive amps - I'd describe it as a "poor man's Bryston". It is a high current design, which makes it seem to pack much more punch than its nominal 70W output would suggest. Exceptional value.

Similar Products Used:

NAD, Pioneer, earlier Rotel, Arcam, Technics, Panasonic

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 14, 2004]
Belgarchi
AudioPhile

Strength:

Price ! ; Power ; Look

Weakness:

Slightly bright, forward sound

Gorgeous look, Tunable sensitivity, Impressive toroidal transformer. Sounds as powerful as a 2x100W despite being rated at 2x70W. Sounds slightly bright (too much mid-highs).

Similar Products Used:

NAD, Quad, Adcom, Parasound, Conrad-Johnson, Rotel

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com