Roksan Caspian Amplifiers

Roksan Caspian Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

  • Line Inputs 5 plus Tape
  • Input Impedance 47 kO
  • Input Sensitivity (70W) Line 240mV
  • Line Outputs Tape, Preamplifier (x2)
  • Output Voltage 240mV (Tape Out) 700mV (Pre Out)
  • Power Outputs Loudspeaker, L & R
  • Output Power >85 Watts, into 8O both channels driven>120 Watts, into 4O both channels driven
  • Power Supply 350VA Ultra Low Noise Toroidal Transformer 4 Regulated Supply Rails
  • Current Output 50 Amps Peak to Peak
  • Damping Factor >140 (8O)
  • Frequency Response -3dB, <1Hz – 90kHz
  • Gain 40dB Overall (Pre & Power)
  • 9.3dB Preamplifier
  • 30.7dB Power Amplifier
  • Harmonic Distortion 0.002% 1kHz, 0.015% 20kHz 10W - 8O 0.0025% 1kHz, 0.03% 20kHz 50W - 8O
  • Signal to Noise Ratio Line 108dBa (ref. 500mV) 85dBa (ref. 1W, 8O)
  • Power Source 100V – 120V 50Hz / 60Hz 220V – 240V 50Hz / 60Hz (via Mains inlet filter)
  • Power Consumption < 230 W
  • Dimension 432 x 330 x 70 (W x D x H) mm 432 x 330 x 80 (including feet)
  • Weight 12 Kg

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 27  
[Jun 22, 2019]
alois


Strength:

None over cheap 200€ Onkyo 9010.

Weakness:

Cheap looking remote control. Goes into protection mode on moderate volume. Definitely not worth it's price. Wonder why all the fuss about it in reviews. Speakers: Tannoy XT8F, DAC: Apogee Groove.

Price Paid:
2000
OVERALL
RATING
2
[Jan 30, 2018]
Dman2k17


Strength:

Purchased the original Caspian here in the States and find may years later and several system upgrades, i.e. Virtual Dynamics - David Interconnects and power cords, DAC upgrades, Tyler Acoustics Speakers (these are a real hidden gem and Ty the owner, "answers the phone himself" - A great guy who loves to talk audio and will answer all your question regarding his products), SACD and FLAC as source files. Through it all over these past 10 years the Caspian has improved, excelling with each enhancement added. If you haven't already noticed everything was replace except the Caspian Int Amp and Caspian CD, although the CD player gets little play time with my SACD source and FLAC files via my laptop. I haven't had any problems save one, the volume pot needed cleaning as a scratching sound appeared a few years back (I live in a very dusty area), just a bit of electrical cleaning spray did the trick. Today the sound stage is wide with great transparency, treble extension and space between instruments. Additionally, the unit remains very smooth with an extremely low noise floor due to the sum of all the parts of the system. As is with all systems, tweaking a little here and a little continue to reveal the abilities of this fine product. So much so that I purchased a backup unit knowing they are becoming very scarce these days. Would I make the purchase again... You bet!!! A great investment anchored as the base of my system... Enjoy the music

Weakness:

The only negative, which is really a negative, but a limitation; one has to really crank up the volume to get the Caspian Amp to open up and breath. Kinda like a sports car, it must go fast to really appreciate all the engineering and handling that went into the design. When the power is applied, it's like being at a live event.

Price Paid:
$1500 USD
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2001
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Apr 04, 2013]
bart
AudioPhile

this is realy value for your money this is one of the best amps you get for your money
very very musical very fast and sparkling treble
when you have a good match with your speakers you have realy holographic sound stage
realy 3d !! wow !
the only importend thing is to match it with the right speakers!!
its is better then the roksan caspian m2

the only good thing about the roksan m2 is that it have more bass but the roksan m2 is so analitical that i sell it a week later
and buy the good old roksan caspian back

it is one of the best amps i had !!

wehn you see one buy it this is a realy value for money !!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 29, 2011]
yahya
Casual Listener

thx.for made this model! good sound and good detail.and....!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 18, 2008]
neveragain
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Good sound quality

Weakness:

poor product quality. Many defects.

I bought the Caspian integrated Amp M-1 in 2005 for 1400 Euro. The sound quality was great considering it's size.
For about 1.5 years it played fine but suddenly there was no more sound coming out of the left speaker. Since I was well within the warranty I took the amp back to the store where it was sent to B&T HiFivertrieb (which is Roksans importer in Germany). After 4 weeks I had it back. To keep it short: now, 10 months later the amp is back in repair for the FORTH time. Always with the same problem. They keep repairing it, it works for 4-8 weeks and the problem shows up again. I have exchanged my speakers in the meantime and the cables but it keeps breaking.

So: do yourself a favour and buy another brand but Roksan. The amplifier I owned before ran for more than 10 years with one single failure. This one I use only in my livingroom and don't use it on partys and it keeps breaking.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 11, 2008]
Prune_Phace
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very good all round the spectrum

Weakness:

No real weaknesses

This is for the Caspian Integrated(Original Model)

A very good all round amplifier.Has a particularly nice bass quality which is strong and tuneful.Midrange and treble both smooth,with good dynamics and detail too.
Will drive low impedences well due to it's massive 50 amp output,which is more than many power amps can deliver.
It's neither bright or dull,so it can be matched well with pretty much any components

Similar Products Used:

Naim,Linn,Exposure,Cyrus

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 15, 2004]
bbolival
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Punchy. Exciting. Detailed. Transparent. Music is enjoyable to listen to (No Fatigue!).

Weakness:

Not as Airy as Arcam. Midrange may sound a tad richer.

This review is for the Roksan Caspian Power Amplifier and not the Integrated Version. My system is composed of the following: Arcam FMJ CD23 cd player (with original factory installed feet removed and replace by 4 size 2 viprapods), Mission 783 speakers (spikes removed), Arcam AVR100 as a preamp, Roksan Caspian Power Amplifier, DH Labs Air Matrix Interconnects w/ Ultimate RCA plugs, DH Labs Q10 speaker cables (internal biwire), and Absolute Power Cords. I listen to different genres of music: electronica, rock, pop, classical, and jazz. For two years, ive been driving my fronts from my Arcam AVR100. Then came the opportunity to buy a Roksan Power Amplifier over at Agon. Using my AVR100 as a preamp and the Roksan Caspian as the stereo amp to drive my fronts, I noticed a punchy, energetic, and detailed improvement. The increase in transparency was noticeable. Vocals had more detail and definition. Separation of second voices from the main voice was more obvious. Bass was cleaner and clearer. Violins (and the midrange) however were a tad richer (probably because of increase in bass). On the other hand, this very same quality gave guitars more life and vigor. The presentation wasnt as airy as the Arcam AVR100. Nevertheless, listening to the Roksan Caspian was more enjoyable than the Arcam AVR100. There was no experience of fatigue at all. As a footnote, I tried placing vibrapods under the Roksan Caspian but decided to remove them since i felt the Caspian sounded more exciting without the pods. For the price, I got this amp ($500) I am rating it as a Bargain, Giant Killer. For its performance, Im giving it a rating of 4 stars.

Similar Products Used:

Arcam, Naim, Onkyo

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 02, 2003]
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Bass, treble and highs, with dignity and authority

Weakness:

It shuts down when I get crazy

Jeepers creepers, I was the winner on this amp on e-bay for 400. It just seemed good for me at the time. I feel sorry for the guy that sold it to me for that price. I feel that it is the finest thing that I own. This amp brought me into truely HI-FI. I base all my preamps and speakers around this amp. With proper preamp this is as fine of quality and sonic discourse that can be had. I have a new Rotel preamp coming for my two channel syst. this weekand we will see.(literally) My favorite amp.

Similar Products Used:

NEC Adcom Carver NAD BGW Dynaco Audiosource Soundcraftsmen Crown

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 03, 2002]
serg
AudioPhile

Strength:

un Brit-fi sound

Weakness:

none

Hit the ground running, sensationally natural and musical, hummable and tuneful without any damping dawn of the frequency extremes. Very believable performance, sound tactile, focused and sharpy etched. Separation, detail, cruising ability all took a notch up. Wormed up about 1 month everyday listeninig. Try it. Very audible not for ordinary music AVR fans. All the best!

Similar Products Used:

just about a week to write

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 16, 2002]
ritual
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

None

The best budget allrounder out there. excellent sweetness and an overall very good sound. it doesnt have any weeknesses. you can find amps that sound better in any way. but at this price, nothing beats it!

Similar Products Used:

none =)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 27  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com