Onkyo M-504 Amplifiers

M-504

Integra Serier Power Amplifier - 165 Watts - Dual Mono

User Reviews (80)

Showing 1-10 of 80  
Dan   AudioPhile [Mar 21, 2017]

Onkyo M-504 These are very solid clean amps. New versions today in 2017 are over 2000.00. A used clean 504 is selling for about 500.00. I bought mine for about 700.00 new in 1996. I see a three star review??? Noticed some guy who gave it 3 stars picked one up for 350 around 2006? I don't think he has one nor a clue. Maybe the BS ratings today might give kids wrong conceptions of power. Most class D amps today lack sufficient power supplies. They offer one great peak and then run flat; blending, distorting on their quest for energy as their capacitor banks drain under continuous loads. D amps today maybe okay for individual speakers or a sub that do not require sustained loads however, there is nothing like large quantities of raw current. Today Onkyo's flagship the m 5000a has a list price of 2499.00 and,,, the specs are,,, well,,, not as good as the m-504. Closer to the m-502. Are a few of the new tricks worth giving up power and cleanliness? NO. Actually I don't want those gimmicks nor would I have them. Looking for another 504 or a 508. The used market is tight, the 20 year old 508 selling for over 800.00. Wish I picked another one up new in 96.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
SteveC   AudioPhile [Jan 22, 2015]

I Bought apprx 20 years ago used the M-504 and the M-304 preamp and the Onkyo 6 disc cd player hooked up with my Cerwin Vega DX-9s and DX-5 Speakers the Onkyo system really cranks out the sound to all 4 Cerwin Vega's.All i can say is that they are all still going strong after 20 years or so sounding Crisp & Wall Shaking & HOT!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
BryanB   AudioPhile [Apr 26, 2014]

Well, a lot has been said about these amps over the years, and rightfully so. Here is an opinion from someone who has(and in some cases still does :)) own(ed) virtually every high powered amp made. Onkyo's Integra, and Grand Integra Metered amps(M504, 506, 508, 510, 588, 5090, 5099, etc.) are, and always have been top notch. Build quality, appearance, and musicality all in. I get tremendous laughs from all of the ridiculous posts from confused audiophile wannabees, and the endless pontificating from self described aficionados on what equipment to buy, and how to match and utilize it. Folks, here is the bottom line. First, figure out your budget. Second, buy the best equipment you can afford. Third, do the best acoustic engineering you can within the space you have available, and remember that speaker positioning is critical. Fourth, ENJOY THE MUSIC!. As for the Onkyo's being discussed, consider this. A new M-5000 retails for $15,000 !. An old, well preserved M will run you between $300, and $2000 depending on model. Compare that to an Accuphase, Hi end Mac, Threshold, Krell, etc. (You cant buy one of those for $300) Does the new M out perform the old ones? Probably not. Will it outlast them? Probably not. So, what do you think. For me, its a no brainer. I could afford a new M, but would I buy one over an older one at 5-10% the price. Not a chance. If you have never owned one of these amps, jump aboard and enjoy what you have been missing. If you already have one, then Im preaching to the choir. ENJOY!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Breeze   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 05, 2013]

Well here we go. The years are around 1987 to 1989 (need to find the receipt) and I was doing a DJ gig part time when the amp I was using said see ya and died on me. I don't remember exactly how I came to Onkyo but I found in Japanese it means "High sound" Thus the truth is in the listening. I am still to this day using my M 504 which is being pre-amped through a Pioneer SX850 from 1977. These two pieces are for me a perfect match in that I have the versatility of the 850 with the jaw dropping power of the 504 and I do mean power. I have sometimes while playing some classic rock albums intentionally tried to get the 504 to shut down and although I do not abuse my system I sure as heck am not afraid to "crank it up" They don't build products for consumer of this status now days. The richness of music can only be achieved when you're plugged in and can enjoy the analog/digital experience through clean uncluttered power that the 504 delivers year after year. My overall description for the 504 "BULLETPROOF"

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mike mccauley   Audio Enthusiast [May 12, 2011]

i have the onkyo m-504 and the m-506rs and ive owned a ton of amps before but i have to say,i use a dynaco pas 3 preamp,i totally rebuilt,new boards,tubes ,power supply,uses 4 12ax7 tubes,2 in the phono board,2 in the other board.this set up with 4 cerwin vega re-30 that i changed the tweeters out with aluminum horns,it gives me goose bumps.im running the m-504 in this set up.it has very low bass if needed,the highs are so clean and crisp,if ya take the time to rebuild a pas 2 or 3,you can use a solid state onkyo m504 and get the warm,crisp tube sound you want with out breaking the bank for a high end tube amp.ive seen ads (reveiws) on the m-504 sounding muddy,im telling ya,its not the amp,its your cheesy preamp or your amp is faulty.these amplifiers if taken care of will last for yrs.i bought these 2 amps used,350 bucks for the 504 and 250 for the 506rs.i gave my son the 506rs and he loves it.theres so much head room on these amps,half throttle and the shingles on the roof are flapping,joking you get the pic.if you can get one of these amps at or below 4 bills,get it,you will love it and they are nice to look at.165 rms wpc with 0.003 thd 120db s/n ratio.its 49.5 lbs but nice built amps are heavy.people complain of a amp being heavy,well i dont carry mine every time i use it so i dont care about the stupid details of weight.i had to put this review in because of a few bad ones i read and theres must be a bad one ,im betting its their preamp.put poop in,you get poop out.amps do that.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
deputy173   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 28, 2011]

I purchased the Onkyo M504 approximately 20 years ago at a store called CRAZY EDDIE'S. I paid full retail $840.oo , which was a small fortune at the time for a college student.. I also got the preamp p-304 and the quartz tuner t-9090..total cost approximately $2000.00. I saved for this set up and i am proud to say i never looked back. I complimented my system with KLIPSCH bookshelf speakers and today i still own the set which is in "Mint", condition. I love my amp and the power it cranks out. The amp has never given me a problem and the sound it produces when i'm cranking the volume does not sound distorted or muzzled like other amps. I will cherish this amp forever. Its a classic

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
schmitzdonald68   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 07, 2010]

I can not say enough good things about this amp. Only thing that I wish is that it was an M-508....wihich is on its way....WOOOO HOOOO!!!!
Before I get started though, let me say that these amps are designed for musical performance. I would recommend them to anyone looking for a power source for their vinyl or cd's in the $1500-$2000 range. If you are looking for a home theater system, I would recommend looking for an amp that is bridgable (these are not).
I have dreampt of owning this amp (either one) since I was in highschool. Without giving away my age, lets just say that was decades ago.
These monster amps are absolutely BEUTIFUL!!! The clean lines and lack of flashy lights and over bearing lettering schemes combined with the flat black textured case, brushed aluminum front panel and wood side panels, make these amps a piece of art.
The meters are very large. However, I find that this does not take away from the prescense of these amps but actually ads to it!! They are analog instead of lighted bars or LED's. There sensitivity is right on the money.
The power of the 504 is rated at 165/channel into 8 ohms. I have mine being controlled by a P-304 and at half throttle, Diana Krall's angelic voice and dancing fingers on the ebony and ivory barely breaks the half way mark of 5 watts, but boy does it fill the room with sound. To those of you that are not knowledgable and think that you need 500 watts to hear everything, I will tell you that you are wrong. This amp is among the most efficient I have heard at low levels and every little detail comes out as if you were right there and she was singing in your living room.
I paid just over $400 USD for my M-504 off of eBay and just recently won the M-508 for just over $500 USD. Both a steal!!! If you have the opportunity to find either of these fabulous units, BUY IT!!!

Other components in this dedicated audio system:
Monster HTS 3600 MK II Power Conditioner
Onkyo Integra M-504 (soon to be the FABULOUS Grand Integra M-508) power amp
Onkyo Integra P-304 control amp
Onkyo CS5VL SACD/CD player
Onkyo T4500 tuner
Music Hall MMF 7.1 (INCREDIBLE) turntable
Bose 901 Series VI (with active equalizer)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
neonbeersigns911   AudioPhile [Jul 04, 2010]

I got this M504 off Ebay for $250.00 and I can tell you that it's the best sounding Amp I have ever heard! Pick one up if you come have a chance to buy one!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bachman   Audio Enthusiast [May 09, 2006]
Strength:

Clean, neutral, and detailed power output. Good looks. Good Sound staging.

Weakness:

heavy and big.

I got this amplifier with matching preamplifier P-304 from a well funded foreign student who finished his Ph.D. program and went back to his country of origin. I consider myself as a music aficionado, not a snobby audiophile and I listen to all kinds of music depends on my mood. I have been using 10 year old Yamaha integrated amplifier which sounded natural yet somewhat lacked detail and sounded overly warm. My speakers are PSB 6T which are relatively good full range speakers and my listening/hobby room is medium sized with high ceilings.
After I got the M-504, I was surprised how heavy it was and I could see two massive transformers through the top vent slits. I was mesmerized by the beauty of the amplifier. The lighted dual meters looked really charming and professional.
After initial hook up, I played some rock music, mainly Led Zeppelin and Metallica stuff. They sounded very clean, holographic, and smoothly powerful. The base was tight and well controlled.
The voices were clean and natural and highs were crisp and sweet. My old Yamaha amp sounded lack luster and inferiorly detailed.
I listened to Nadja Salerno Sonnenberg's violin stuff. It sounded just sweet, detailed and airy vibration of strings just gave me terrible goose bumps. Full orchestra sounded just magnificent.
I do not know exact benefit of dual mono design, but engineers put two independent transformers to achieve something otherwise no cost efficient Japanese engineers put in two energy guzzling transformers. Segovia's Bach suite on guitar sounded more defined, detailed, and sweet. I could smell (?) sweet aroma of Segovia's Ramirez guitar through my PSB 6T.
Finally, I listened to liquid child's "diving faces", which is a heavy electric techno club piece. The bass output was awesome as my woofers moved back and forth and my house was shaking.
The M-504's dual meter danced harmoniously with PSB's woofers. The amp never lost its composure and remained neutral supplying clean, controllable power. M-504 played music quite well and it would be a killer amp for main home theater setups. I am glad and lucky to acquire this amplifier and it woke up my old PSB 6Ts as if they took some Viagra (?).

Similar Products Used: Yamaha, Rotel, Marantz
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
kfr01   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 13, 2006]
Strength:

+Dual Mono Design
+Value
+Watts for the Money
+Warm smooth sound

Weakness:

- Less refined than more expensive amplifiers

This is a quality amplifier for the money. For the $350 you can find this amplifier for on the used market, you'd be very hard pressed to find a similar amplifier value.

Dual mono design. 160w rms.

The sound itself isn't as refined as more expensive amplifiers. Thus, my 3 star overall rating.

However, this amplifier provides an excellent value. It would be an excellent amplification upgrade for someone with a mid-fi receiver or preamp.

The overall character of the sound is a bit on the warm side. Also, unlike more expensive monster amplifiers, this amplifier won't be comfortable with under a 4ohm load. Don't try.

Oh, and the wattmeters are neat.

Fantastic value.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 80  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com