NAD S 200 Amplifiers

NAD S 200 Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

Stereo Power Amplifier

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 22  
[Jan 18, 2010]
biggdee23hd
Audio Enthusiast

hi i've had the nad s200 for under a month,i bought it to run my b&w 801 series 80 and comeing from a rotel rmb 985 its a big jump and my speakers sound great now looking to purchase another on to use as monoblocks as my speakers love power by purchaseing this amp you really cant go wrong i would never sell

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 09, 2009]
Blobb
Audio Enthusiast

SuperAmp for a superprice! Ive tried many amps in my system and this one beats everything up to 3000. Very dynamic, powerful and musical. I will never sell it. A superbargain.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 14, 2005]
cartman
AudioPhile

Strength:

Very good 3D sound, non obtrusive, but emphatic with very good dynamic! The distorsion is very low... Airy and nice music-stage. Everything OK!

Weakness:

TOO BIG CHASSIS :-)) finally NONE!!! GREAT!

So, this is a very, very GREAT amp. The building is professional like a HIGH-END.

Similar Products Used:

ML, CLASSÉ, ROTEL, KENWOOD, PIONEER...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 21, 2005]
Bill Monaco
AudioPhile

Strength:

Super build, Quite, balanced inputs, Excellent value.

Weakness:

Dual mono design (one more xformer and Power supply)would have been nice. But would have push list price to $2500-3000 instead of $1800-2000.

Purchased along with NAD S500/S400/S100 products. This is the best bluebook NAD product in the Silver Series Line. Monster construction and built. Very quiet. Great detail and soundstage. You can pick one up on Audiogon for $800-$1000. Worth every penny. Matched to S100, it's a hard combination to beat for the price. Don't purchase a 218THX if you can get an S200 unit. Using Signal cable Power cord instead of factory standard. WBT 5-way speaker connectors a nice feature. Using balanced inputs from S100 adds gain and openess in sound. Drives my Dynaudio Contour 1.3MK2 without any problems. Highly recommended

Similar Products Used:

Rotel,ARCAM, ADCOM 2-channel power amps. Not even close to the NAD S200.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 28, 2005]
Liquid99
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

personally cant see an amp around its price giving it a tough time. amazing resolution.

Weakness:

brilliant amp that was not given the appriciation it deserves. out of production

the price paid includes the pre amp(s100), was a bundle offer. alot has been said about this wonderful amp , all i can say is there are better amps which will be much more expensive than this, comparing it with other ss amps roughly the same price to 1.5 times. find it to sound very nautural, not tubey or ss but inbetween. i use it along with the s100, connect them with balanced cables, since they are designed that way and so sound better than unbalanced. requires good power cords, company supplied are not good.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 26, 2003]
elbereth
AudioPhile

Strength:

Dual mono mirror amp output stage, Sanken. Heaps of power and headroom, clean presentation. Great for all kinds of music -classical to hardrock, industrial. Amazing bass depth and control. Great articualtion of soundfield. Sounds like a live band is in my living room.

Weakness:

Perhaps not the deepest soundstage I would prefer, which comes at a higher price in better equipment, but my pocketbook isn't going there, nor does it need to. Found the power button popped off and don't know how to fix it properly so had to rig some cloth tape to stick it on.

Fabulously balanced and cleeeeeeannn power! Lovely delivery of entire audio spectrum with a nice natural hint of warmth too. Smooth transitioning yet a clear distinction between instrumentation. Very similar to an Arcam sound but with more grace and detail, perhaps not as "sweet" sounding as Arcam, and a more laid back vocal field. Arcam has a beautiful vocal presentation but sometimes seems to over accentuate the singers presence in the soundstage. Very quiet and dark background. Upgraded from the Anthem MCA20, wich was a great power amp but after adding Kimber 8TC I could hear more treble then I'd prefer so thus became the hunt for a very balanced amp. To upgrade from the Anthem I certainly had to start spending alot of money, and the Nad as a great bargain for amazing sound for a decent price.

Similar Products Used:

Anthem mca 20, Arcam FMJ P25, Arcam avr 200,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 05, 2003]
Marc
AudioPhile

Strength:

Build, power, sound, price and looks.

Weakness:

None! Really...I cannot find one negative thing to say about this piece of equipment!

NAD S-500 IMHO combines the best build quality, design, power and sound of any power made today! It is a very smooth and natural sounding amp with limitless power and dynamic headroom! Not a hint of hardness...very neutral! And...it is gorgeous looking!!! Entire piece is silver color with a sapphire blasted finish. All aluminium construction. Very thick faceplate and heatsinks. Cardas RCA's (single-ended), Cardas binding posts as well as true balanced (XLR) operation. IEC cord receptacle. An all-around best bang for the buck...you will not be disappointed. BTW: The entire NAD Silver Series is just as magnificent...I own the CD Player S-500.

Similar Products Used:

Chord, BAT, Rogue, Krell, Legend, BelCanto

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 17, 2003]
audio-phil
AudioPhile

Strength:

Good bang for the bucks.A good try to wrest itself from the "good MidFi" moniker.

Weakness:

In this class, none . NAD is getting closer to HiFi.

Yes this amp is really good. Especially considering it's price. But I have a hard time to beleive that it beats a MARK LEVINSON.Or a KRELL.Or a PASS LABS, or even the new LINAR 250...

Similar Products Used:

Rarasound HCA 200 ATI 200 Rotel Adcom

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 10, 2002]
fagunawan
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Open, transparant, warm, natural and powerfull.

This is my second review for this amp. Early this year, I just bought a very good old Acoustat Spectra 66 (the best Acoustat in the market together with Acoustat Spectra 6600). I thought that my NAD S 200 (225 Watt power)do not have enough power to drive those big electrostatic loudspeakers, so I planned to change it with Mac Levinson 336, a 350 watt dual-mono power amp. When I compared the two power amp one by one directly, I realised that I should keep the NAD, because NAD is more open, transparant and warm than ML 336 with the same depth image. ML 336 is more focus and higher quality craftmanship, but I like open, transparant & warn sound. So,before you buy, you should try the components directly on your system and decide to buy according to your preference to the sound/ music. Do not buy based on review only. You should try it. Now I am still looking for a pair of monoblok which is better than my NAD. I hope NAD will produce Silver series monoblok with 300 or 350 Watt power. I use all Cardas Golden Reference interconnects, power cords and cables.

Similar Products Used:

ML 336 and Audio Research VT 100 MKII

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 26, 2000]
michel ed
Audiophile

Strength:

Un medium fabuleux.tres defini .dymamique et transparant

Weakness:

en cherchant bien peut etre que les ecarts de
dynamiques sont marque

Voila un amplificateur de puissance qui est tres defini tres transparant et surtout pas grossier.il fait meme mieux
en finesse que beaucoup d autres integres

son point fort outre sa puissance c est sont fabuleux medium
toujours plein d emotions est d humanite
il sonne juste
autre atout c est sa neutralite et le relief qu il donne

Similar Products Used:

NAD 214.216THX.AMC 2100

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 22  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com