NAD 214 Amplifiers

214

CONTINUOUS AVERAGE POWER OUTPUT INTO 8 ohms: 80W - Rated distortion(THD 20Hz-20kHz): 0.03%

User Reviews (18)

Showing 1-10 of 18  
Guru   AudioPhile [Jan 10, 2017]

I've been using the NAD 214's, in single stereo and bridged mono for almost 20 years now, and I must say this is one of the best sounding power amplifiers out there, and even better if you use 2 bridged. This amp has PRAT galore. Smooth and never offensive. Reminiscent if not similar to a very high priced 4-letter brand name from the UK, which is also another favorite of mine. If you need amps to move some hungry speakers, two of these will drive almost anything out there. These things just *bounce*, and I mean in a good way!


OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Shane   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 28, 2016]

Recently purchased a few components ! I had bought a nad 3020a and bower & Wilkins cm1 ! I didn't have enough power to run the speakers , so a little research come in and found myself this 216 power amp :)
As my collection is vinyl I put my 3020a into pre-amp mode ,
Hooked up my pioneer plx-1000 turntable .
My record collection is purely early 90s (idm) ambient techno , I found autechre incunabula to play and then boooooom !!! The clarity and warmth that came through my speakers were mad , also the drive of the amp to run the speakers was transformed . If you find one of these , do yourself a favour ... I will not be changing this for a while .

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Great sounding amp- very simple design   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 25, 2016]

I have just purchased one second hand, to drive two Tannoy Little Gold Monitor.
After turning it on---THUNK! Wow, such power and drive. This amp has got it all, power, attack, decay, subtelty.
Just buy one!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
netz   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 25, 2010]

NAD 214 has been already well covered on this review site, as well as its brother 317 - same amp + preamp circuitry added. I only want to add one thing - do not hesitate to buy two! :)

The way they sound in bridged mode is better than I expected. You know, bridging doubles the distortion and cuts the damping factor in half, so I actually expected them to sound worse. What I got instead when I added a 214 to 317 was a very nice expansion in soundstage, earth-shaking power and the voices got more alive.
Well, we all know NAD is not really high-end, yada yada, but for the money - it delivers.

Maybe elimination of the metal jumper preamp links contributes to this, but now I can tell you - two is better than one ;)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
stercaland   AudioPhile [Mar 27, 2006]
Strength:

Value for the dollar, superb sound for the price, long-term reliability

Weakness:

Okay, so it's not a Bryston 4B, but at one-fourth the price it can't be beat!

I've owned my NAD 214 for about 10 years now, and I can certainly say that I'm more than pleased. After 10 years it is going strong, so build quality and reliability certainly has not been an issue. Although NAD no longer makes the 214, I'd feel confident of getting a well-made product if I were in the market for one of their current products. A good used 214 often can be had on Ebay for $200 to $300, and this, of course, speaks volumes of NAD's resell value. In fact, I'm currently in the market for a second one so that I can bi-amp it with my original one.

While it may be true that there are better sounding amps out there (i.e. Bryston, Krell, Conrad-Johnson, Audio Research, etc.), the NAD comes in at only a fraction of the cost of its higher-priced proteges. Yet . . . I'd venture so far as to say that the 214 delivers 90% of the performance of the "price-no-object" amps. Audiophiles with deep pockets and a bit of the old "audiophilia nervosa" syndrome will gladly shell out a few thousand dollars more to eek out a bit more detail, a wider soundstage, or transparency, but I'll save my dollars for other essentials in life.

Adcom, Marantz, and Rotel deliver NAD some stiff competition in the same price range, but my loyalty has always been with NAD and will probably remain firm. Aside from the spartan, dull-grey facade of the amp (which I've grown to love), there's nothing "wrong" with this amp. Similarly-priced competitors offer only a prettier chassis and often for a few hundred dollars more.

Without a doubt, this amp is true to its British heritage. By this, of course, I mean the jolly old "British" sound that is best described as laid back. You know, bass extension that is tight/punchy and controlled but a bit rolled off towards the bottom end. Upper frequencies are transparent although a bit rolled off as well. The midrange----ahhhh yes, the most important midrange----this is where the NAD delivers the goods. True, a Bryston does it better, but you won't hear a more refined midrange from another amp in this price range.

Similar Products Used: B&K ST140
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Belgarchi   AudioPhile [Dec 05, 2004]
Strength:

Sound/Price ratio, clarity of midrange, build quality

Weakness:

None at the price

Excellent power amp for the price. Very well build, heavy, superb toroidal transformer. It sounds very good, especially in the midrange. Not the deepest in the bass nor the most fluid in the highs, but to have something clearly better, you must spend more than $1,000.

Similar Products Used: Rotel, Adcom, Parasound, Creek, Quad, Bryston
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
spinback   AudioPhile [Mar 03, 2003]
Strength:

Speed, detail, musical, dynamics.

Weakness:

Could be a bit more lquid on the top, but for the price it is vet very good.

I bought the NAD 214 off a on-line action ebay, it came new in the box so I let it burn in for two weeks before I would give my opinion on how it sounds. After the two week burn in I played a verity of music rock, jazz, classical, the amp played all of these with ease and with finesse, the 214 is towards the neutral side but with warmth the bass is very tight and controlled and this amp has killer dynamics for it's 80 wpc this is due to it's high current design. The NAD 214 sold new for $500 and was made from 1995 to 2000. I have listened to many NAD amps and the 214 is by far one the best amplifiers that I have heard from NAD it's that good and I have been buying and selling audio for the last twenty eighty years this amp will become a all time classic as did the 3020 intergraded. I love this amp and will be keeping this one for a long time to come, if you can find one of these go for it it's definitely a great amplifier. Claudio Martini CM Audio

Similar Products Used: Rotel.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jonas   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 21, 2003]
Strength:

Tight bass. It's got a great power supply. It is fairly cheap.

Weakness:

A slightly cold treble, but apart from that none

hello I bought this amp half a year ago, and it replaced a one year old NAD C300 integreted amp, which i thought was great. I bought it in a local hifi store. The only reason for replacing my "old" amp was that this one was so cheap that i just couldent leave it. I was surpriced over the tight bass, and the clear mid-range. Compared to my old amp, all my music sudently sounded better. I play it with a pair of B&W dm22 speakers, it sounds just lovly. A lovely amp, which i will strongly recomend to others who wants great sound, without paying a fortune.

Similar Products Used: NAD C300 2x25W integreted amplifier
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
nikko   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 21, 2002]
Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

Will make everything else from now on sound like crap.

Picked this fella up second hand and I think I'm going to buy me another one on Monday. I'm currently playing my entire CD collection one-by-one to hear what I've been missing for the last 15 years. Unbelievable. You'll be in tears.

Similar Products Used: NAD 3225, Sony DB840QS
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrew Ainslie   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 18, 1999]
Strength:

Price, clean sound

I auditioned the NAD 214 and 216THX, and finally decided on the 214. It sounds far smoother. The price is extremely reasonable. I then purchased a second one, and that's where the fun started. I use them to drive a pair of NHT 2.5i's. I first tried using them bridged, adn then used them bi-amped. The bi-amped sound is absolutely great. I think that they are stunning value for the money. I wouldn't replace them with anything less than a Bryston 4B - and that's about twice the price of the TWO amps! Clean, beautiful - and I have cash left to actually buy music!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com