McIntosh MC2100 Amplifiers

MC2100

One Of The Last McIntosh Chrome Chassis Amplifiers - Solid State 105 Watts/Channel or 210 Watts Mono (1969-1977)

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
Thom Bryant   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 16, 2017]

I have the original MC2100 Amp and C26 PreAmp my Step Dad bought when I was a Freshman in HighSchool. It's a long story how I came into ownership of this equipment but it still works well and has that warm, clear sound that McIntisch is known for with their audio formers. This Equipment is Old, is still in great shape but needs serviced. The C26 and app the POTS need cleaned as well as the amp. It has developed a shut down "THUMP" most likely the power supply caps that are the size of soda cans, 39000Uf-10+75% , 50 Vdc. I have spent over 20 of my 55 years installing car stereo and aside from a 1 farad stiffening capacitor I have Never seen a CAP that is that big .. I'm not that good of a Technition anymore and I would like to fine someone that can bring the equipment back up to spec. Is Anyone Outthere ..????

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
J M N   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 16, 2012]

Purchased this Mcintosh 2100 in 1972 at Norwood's Audio, Savannah GA. Absolutely no problems. Years ago compared it to 100+watt Audio Research SS amp with Magneplaner IV triple panel as speakers. With this comparison, no difference. Also compared to Hafler SS amp, no difference. Reliability 4+... No reason to change after all these years!
No hum, no noise, never too warm either even when left on for days.
Music is the reason.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
cuzzym   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 04, 2010]

I've owned my two MC2100's, my MC-C28 preamp and my set of Bozak 410 concert grand speakers since 1975 and that's all I've needed since. Sure, I've heard other systems with fine deep lows response and crisp piercing highs, but the soothing deep bass response and the crisp crystal clear highs and mids that my Macs reproduce (coupled with my Bozak concert grands) does it in a manner less offensive to the ear. I should also mention that I have my concert bi-amped - using one 2100 to power the lows L&R and the other 2100 to power the highs and mids L&R (obviously setting both Macs in stereo mode). I've had only one minor problem with one of my Macs in 1979 -- the fuse kept blowing. It was ultimately sent to MacIntosh's factory for repair (the service tech did his best but was unable to pinpoint the problem0 and I had it back in about 10 days. The problem turned out to be a loose solder joint. I have had no problems since. New or used, MacIntosh are well worth the money -- for sound reproduction second to none and rivaled by others. They are all I've needed for 35 years -- you won't regret owing one (or two) either -- they will be all you'll need too!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
BJay   AudioPhile [Jun 01, 2009]

Bought my first 2100 Amp new in 1972. Performed flawlessly with heavy use until one of the llarge power supply capacitors shorted. Replaced both capacitors about four years ago and it continues to meet original specs. Just bought another 2100 from Audio Classics. Has a few light scratches but meets original performance specs. I intend to use the pair as 210 Amp monoblocks for my 2-channel system in which they drive my ML-1C speakers which I also bought new in 1972. These four-ways are totally smooth top to bottom. I just upgraded the cross-over capacitors with film capacitors. My system is so smooth yet detailed, I often play LPs and CDs till the wee hours of the morning . This is one of the best amps I have ever heard, anywhere. I am convinced it is not the limiting component in my system. Each time I upgrade a source component or interconnect, the sound improves. Not sure what I will have to do to reach to limitations of the 2100. Don't hesitate to get one if you have the chance. There are several shops around the country fully capable of keeping these antiques in perfect working order if you find one which has been abused. I have been using mine continuously for 37 years.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
trygve   AudioPhile [Mar 18, 2009]

i have two 2100s running mono for a total power output of 420 watts. i have to say this is a great amp you can run it all day and it will barely get warm. the sound quality is great for the price. the only downside is the amp makes a buzzing sound but you can't hear it when music is playing.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
wjack   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 04, 2008]
Strength:

Durability. The sound can be amazing from a good recording. Only gets warm at high volume.

Weakness:

It's too damn heavy. I need a crane to move it.

I just got the Mcintosh 2100 amp about a week ago. I don't know how old it is, but it's got to be at least 31 years old. It looks to be in very good shape for being so old. I was using an Adcom 555 mkII amp. There is a definate difference in the sound. I've listened to about every cd and album I have thru the mac 2100, and it is very sensitive to the quality of a recording. A bad recording can sound very bad, but a very good recording can be breathtaking. It's especially impressive with music that was recorded with alot of tracks with different sounds. Listen to a cd by Jean Michel Jarre called Zoolook with this amp and tell me this thing isn't amazing. I'm going to sell my Adcom and keep the Mac. I'm listening to a cd of Ennio Morricone music thru the mac 2100 as I type, and it sounds beautiful.

Similar Products Used: Mcintosh MX113 Tuner/Preamp
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Papillon   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 28, 2005]
Strength:

Built like a tank, increadible realistic sound. It's a Mcintosh!

Weakness:

Make dependence, you wants to hear more and more...

I'm a very happy owner of an legend, this amplifier can reproduces the sound as so really, so great. If you had a choice to buy it used, don't horry! It's very best than a "budget" amplifier made in china, to beat this old "tank" you'll need to put a lot off $$$ over.

Similar Products Used: Rotel, Adcom, a/d/s, marantz
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
June   AudioPhile [May 02, 2003]
Strength:

Performance,price,it's a Mcintosh.

Weakness:

It's heavy to move. But if it's racked, you'll never need to move it. Furthermore, typically with electronics HEAVY = GOOD.

I have two of these along with an MC-2105 being fed by a C-39(surround)Preamp. Absolutely TONS of horsepower coupled with crystal clear performance. When comparing similar sound quality to newer high-end amps, as well as ultimate value in the long run, these 30 year old amps will give an audio enthusiast the most bang for the buck. Buy the MC-2100. You won't be disapointed. Couple this amp with a C-28 and you'll have a "good" basic system. Throw in some vintage JBL L-series speakers, and you'll have a "great" basic system that will only go up in value and will blow the doors off anything sold at a typical electronics store (all for around $1,500!).

Similar Products Used: MC-2105, MC-2300, MC-7106.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
moosemoose   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 09, 2002]
Strength:

Rock solid construction and performance.

Weakness:

Not the prettiest looking amp on the block.

I purchased this equipment new and have been the orignal owner since 1973. It has done nothing but perform perfectly. Even when hooked up to a light buld just to see what would happen. (My wild days) A fine amp just continues to delight.

Similar Products Used: SAE 3000, Mac C-28
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeff   Audio Enthusiast [May 01, 2000]
Strength:

Rock solid basic amplifier. No frills. Excellent fidelity. Low cost on used market.

Weakness:

Shipping weight (& expense) if you buy one.

This is one of the first solid state amplifiers that followed the McIntosh tube amplifier era. As such, it is designed much like a tube amplifier that uses transistors. An example is the use of (single-winding type) output transformers which give the unit a set of output impedance characteristics similar to tube equipment in many respects. Can deliver full power into selectible 4, 8, or 16 ohm winding taps.

While I don't claim to be an audiophile, I think the MC2100 has some of the "tube flavor" that the MC75/275 fans are so in love with. Yet, MC2100's can be purchased for much less. For many years, I used it as an "afterburner" for a Fisher 500C tube receiver. Aside from the higher power level, I could not hear the difference between the Fisher directly to the speakers or through the MC2100.

I first got the 2100 on the used market over 25 years ago. It has been in almost daily use since then. Total maintenance has been wiping off the dust from time to time. Typical conservative McIntosh engineering resulted in massive heat sinks, transformers, open cage ventilation, etc. Even when you push it, it doesn't get very warm.

Its appearance is Spartan. A simple metal chassis with a chrome finish. No fancy backlit glass or meters. After you use it a while, you begin to appreciate its real beauty.

In the 25+ years I've owned it, everything around it has been replaced. Speakers, preamp, tuners, sources have all come and gone. The MC2100 remains with no intention for replacement. Today, it is fed by a C28 and drives a set of KEF 104/2's.

Similar Products Used: Fisher 500C
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com