McIntosh MC162 Amplifiers

MC162

160w x2 Channels

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
Hot Donkey Butter   AudioPhile [Sep 02, 2015]

I farted in a bucket. My phone was in the bucket. I recorded the fart on my phone. I played the fart back with this amplifier and it sounded so natural. You could hear the hollow sound of the bucket and everything. So I am very happy with this amplifier other then that now my phone smells bad.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ehsaanul Haq   AudioPhile [Jan 10, 2015]

I bought McIntosh Mc 162 from a friend few days ago. Its really awesome. I am desperately desire to buy another one. If anyone is interested please contact me. My email id is. Ehsaanul_haq@hotmail.com.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Efort   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 12, 2004]
Strength:

Build quality, (never gets hot!) Those blue meters. Excellent resale value in the after market, Even a classic piece looks new.

Weakness:

None that come to mind. HEAVY

I bought this as a demo, and was used to using Rotel gear. I was a little skeptical at going from a 200w per channel amp to a 100w@8ohms, I felt I was stepping back, boy was I wrong. I lugged this home and set it up with my Rotel preamp, right off the bat I noticed a difference. The amp just seemed alot smoother over the Rotel, more laid back. After about a week, I said to myself, there must be somthing more I'm missing. So I went back to the dealer and bought a McIntosh C-41 preamp. Amazing, that's the only way to describe it. The Rotel gear was great, but the McIntosh gear just takes it to another level. I'm currently hunting down another MC-162 (there discontinued) so I can have a pair and bridge them. Can't wait. My System McIntosh MC162 amp McIntosh C41 preamp Music Hall mmf-25 (with upgrades) Music Hall mmf-9 turntable B&W 604s3 All MIT cables

Similar Products Used: Denon,Rotel,B&W, MIT
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Skyhawk   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 27, 2003]
Strength:

Laid back Mac Sound. Clean all the way to top of power band

Weakness:

Ran out of steam. Could not power Veritas 2.4s to reference volume.

I listened to this product for about 2 hours. Connect to Energy Veritas 2.4 and Bryston SP 1.7 Pre/processor. If I had to pick a word it would be liquid. The amp had terrific soundstage, and good overall tonal balance. The sound of this amp is very "laid back" to say the least. The bass is not intrussive, but punchy. The highs seemed to roll off, and the mids were accurate. BUT This fine amp ran out of steam long before a satisfactory reference volume.

Similar Products Used: Bryston SP 1.7 Processor Bryston 4B SST Sony 777ES SACD Rega P3 Turntable Monster M Class Interconnects Monster HTS 5100 Power Stabilizer
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
naveedafridi   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 29, 2002]
Strength:

Build quality. A Tank of an amp. Sound quality. When playing, you forget it's there. Musical and detailed. Non fatigue factor.

Weakness:

I cant think of any.....

Excellent amp. It is a heavy, durable looking component. Simple and elegant. The sound is secure, solid, detailed and musical. Thsi is the first amp, that moments after starting, I forget the amp, and my system, and find myself immersed in the music. No harshness or fatigue. There is no grain in the upper registers. Bass is strong and detailed. And you have to like those VU meters. McIntosh blue....wow.

Similar Products Used: Auditioned other Macs Dyna 70 B&K Various run of teh mill Pioneer/sony/yamaha receivers.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Dan Crosby   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 20, 2001]
Strength:

This will be an unusual review. I have bridged 2 MC162's and have used them for the bottom's of Paradigm 100's on a total of two sets! The upper halfs of the speaker's are powered by 105 watt Tube monoblocks!

Weakness:

None

This is a review of taking two MC-162 amplifiers and bridging them and then using them to provide the power to not one set of Paradigm Sudio 100 v2, but to two sets of them as them are my front speakers for my home theatre and stereo. This is a little extreme, and it works great. For the upper half I am using two 105 watt monoblock Antique Sound Lab amps. Very Sweet. The thing I love about the McIntosh is that they have a huge reserve and can truly put out the bass.

It use have the funds or the speakers, try taking two of them and bridging them, and by suprised!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
George   Audiophile [May 09, 2001]
Strength:

Silky smooth, open, detailed sound; aesthetics and styling with those gorgeous blue output meters (whose lights can be easily switched off, by the way if they bother you); build quality; runs only cool to warm at most, never hot; excellent reserves.

Weakness:

Absolutely none that I can discern.

I finally ended my 2 month long search for my main music system amplifier by choosing the McIntosh MC162. This amp is highly musical in every regard! It presents a very accurate, open, airy, believable soundstage with seemingly no coloration or signature of it's own. The music is just there, pure and simple, and the overall sound is unfatiguing and typical 'Mac like'. Timbral accuracy and detail is stunning in accordance with 'better' electronics in one's system. All in all, I liked it's sound better than the others mentioned above that I also auditioned in my quest for the best amp money can buy for up to 2K. The MC162 presents the music in such a way that makes you feel 'you are there'. All the R&D that goes into a 'Mac' product is very evident in listening to this wonderful amplifier, given it's musicality and accuracy. Do yourself a big favor, and give this one a listen before you plunk down your moolah on others! It's that good!

My equipment:

McIntosh MC162
Parasound P/HP-850
Denon DCM-370 HDCD decoding player
Magnepan MMG's
Velodyne CT100 subwoofer
Straightwire Encore II and Sonata interconnects
DH Labs T-14 speaker cabling

Similar Products Used: I auditioned Bryston, McCormack, and Odyssey Stratos. The MC162 is a MUST audition if you are looking for a high-end amp in the 1 to 2K price range.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Roger   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 03, 2000]
Strength:

Excellent sound, power guard circuitry, McIntosh quality

Weakness:

None, except I could not get a MC352

Well, this is the first high quality amplifier and I'm very inpressed with the sound. It can drive my speakers to any reasonable volume without loosing clarity. Also, the instruments sound very musical and accurate. You can buy more power for less money, but you will not get the best sound. Next year I will buy another unit and go to mono to get 320 into 8 ohms. By the way, this receiver it is rated 160W into 4 ohms, and 100W into 8 ohms. Anyway, it has good power to drive my speakers. There is a big difference from my Japanese receiver, and I should not say wich one because it is not a fair comparison.

First saw this unit at Bjorn audio in San Antonio, but I got a better deal in Laredo. Buy one and enjoy your music!

Similar Products Used: McIntosh integrated amp
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com