McIntosh MA6500 Amplifiers

McIntosh MA6500 Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

Integrated Amplifier 2 x 120/200/250 (8/4/2 ohms) Wide Power Bandwidth Width with Ultra-Low Distortion Power Output Meters

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 16  
[Jun 14, 2017]
Jeff Harper
AudioPhile

I have my MA6500 pushing absolutely beautiful sound to a pair of 37 year old Klipsch LaScalas and a pair of 5 year old Klipsch Corner Horns. ..sound is is crisp, not harsh, high end is clean, low end is firm. I run both pair of Klipsch simultaneously and at 2 watts things move in the house and I seem to be knocking the paint of the exterior. A superb amp....especially when attached to the world's finest hand made speakers with a 70 year history......

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 07, 2017]
Hybrid
Audio Enthusiast

Great amp that I've paired with Focal 1028Be II speakers. Takes the edge off the top end and allowes me to listen to whatever I want for as long as I want with no sign of fatigue.

4 and 8 ohm compatable is nice if I ever end up switching. 2 sets of terminals allows for hooking up 2 sets of speakers. Great if you like to switch or compare 2 sets of speakers.

RCA out allows the amp to be used as a pre or to connect to a sub, and the pre can be bypassed in favor of a different one. And make no mistake, changing the pre will alter the sound. I run my Oppo straight to the amp for theatre mode, and use Macs pre for 2 channel listening.

Sound wise, I find the integrated to have a mellow, laid back sound, which is what I've been after for a while. It stays in the background if I want it too, which is great when company is over. For more critical listening, it fairs wonderfully with vocals and stringed instruments. I find that the built in pre does not command the bass as well as the pre out on the Oppo, but it's of no consequence because I have the option of using either.

As far as looks...well...it's a McIntosh. You like it or you don't. I like it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 13, 2011]
henrygerken
Audio Enthusiast

greatsound

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 26, 2010]
boniccie
Audio Enthusiast

This is an awesome mcintosh intg amp.It replaced PS audio trio a100 and i have to admit that the difference was like night and day to me..I recommended to anyone who really want to hear what an audiophile product sounds like...A+++++++++++++++++++++++

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 03, 2009]
athkarag
Audio Enthusiast

I'll be very short, 'cause all previous reviewers have covered the subject to a very good point. That's the best integrated I have ever had, in tems of flexibility, sound character and drive. Please go & check my system in my review of the Harbeth SHL5s which partner the Mac. And keep in mind that I belong to the fans of integrateds, not separates. After all, I'm listening to music, not machines, and I want to own something of exceptional endurance in time, with very stable characteristics. So, what else except a Mac?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 12, 2008]
trumpetbri
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Depth, imaging, soundstaging, tonality and power. Plenty of oomph and punch for my hungry 4 ohm Magnepan MG 12 speakers.

Weakness:

None sonically or build wise. Just wish the connectors were of slightly higher quality, like WBT for speakers and Vampire for RCA's. But if the $$ went into technology and overall sound instead on the inside, who am I to complain? It sounds handsome and powerful without those upper end connectors anyway.

Most gorgeous multi layered and accurate amp I've owned. This is my first Mac, and I must say I'm in love. It looks gorgeous too with the meters. Wife even loves its sound and looks! Yay!
The tonality and timbre of instruments and voices are the most lifelike I've heard. Very black backgrounds and natural lifelike delivery.
Expensive product, but if I am paying for research, development and longevity I can't complain. I think I'm getting a taste of the best available at any price.

Customer Service

Hopefully good should I need it. I've heard buying form a dealer new is the way to go for best product support.

Similar Products Used:

Bryston, Audio Research from the 90's through 2000 decades.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 12, 2008]
Brian
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Instrumental timbre very accurate, backgrounds very quiet or "black" as reviewers like to say. Plenty of power for my Maggie MG-12 speakers. (200 W a side for 4ohm imp.)

Weakness:

None sonically, just wish the connectors on back for speakers and RCA inputs were of a higher grade like WBT or something comparable. Not quite in the catagory of Bryston or Audio Research's connectors, but then again, maybe they put the money into the sound, which to my ears is better than the above mentioned.

A wonderful product that is still opening up with the more hours put on it. So far instruments and voices have a realism unparalleled in my previous products owned. (Bryston, Audio Research etc.) I am right in love with the sound of this gorgeous integrated. Yeah, it's beutiful to look at too, and I love the meters. The layering is incredibly lifelike, and tonality is so real it's delicious. This is my first Mac, and I will most likely keep it for a long time. Very pleased.

Customer Service

Have heard it's good. Lets hope so should a problem come up.

Similar Products Used:

Bryston, Audio Research of older 90's/2000 vintage.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 31, 2006]
Jay
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Superior engineering
Aesthetics
Build quality
Power to spare
Sound performance (to my ears)

Weakness:

Mini headphone jack (wish it were standard 1/4")

I know I'm probably not supposed to do this but I have to question the last reviewer's motives and reliability. He states that his MA6500 does not have gold plated input and output jacks. The fact is that there has never been one MA6500 produced WITHOUT gold plated input and output jacks. Wonder if he really knows what he bought. He also complains that the amp's remote is made in Japan. Well, I challenge him to name one product's remote that isn't made in Japan or China. My advice to all integrated amp shoppers is to audition this amp for yourself at home in your system, if possible. Some dealers will provide demo units. Otherwise, ask the dealer to allow you to bring your speakers into his store to audition with a MA6500. That's the best way to fairly evaluate the sound of an amplifier. Every component in your system has it's own sound and McIntosh is different from all other makes. Some people prefer it and some don't. Let me make another thing clear that should not be disputed. McIntosh build quality is second to none.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 06, 2006]
j909
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Fair re-sale value

Weakness:

need i go on....

muddy bass.

way too much plastic for reatil price.

paying for the name. not for quality

Remote is made in Japan.

no gold inputs.

plays well with only some styles of music.

poor build quality.

Since i last checked the MA - 6500 has sold for as much as 3,500. I'm gratefull that my purchase was way below the average retail price. I'm not familiar with the build quality of other McIntosh components, but to me this integrated amp seems like a well built Sony or Marantz from the early to mid 70's...

For 3,000. 6 inputs are included with a phono stage. Though none of the inputs are gold plated. The inputs are identical to what one would find on an integrated amp from best buy or circuit city. In addition ALL knobs are PLASTIC. The remote is made in Japan. This coming from a company that proudly claims their products are handbuilt in U.S.A.

After a year of use the blue lighting fails to display the McIntosh name in the center of the unit with full illumination. The designated section for speaker connections was a poor choice. The unit accepts all various connections for speaker cables, though poorly placed and designed. More PLASTIC as usual with barely a visible trace of gold plating for the cables.

The units looks are deceiving. Weighing in at approximately 40 pounds one would asssume superior sound quality especially when paying full retail. As mentioned in other reviews bass is muddy, upper highs are satisfying and imaging is a little bit above average. i found this amp excells in acoustic guitar, classical, and some jazz recordings. This amp should be able to play all styles of music which it clearly cannot perform. There are so many other audio companies who for half the price will out perform this integrated amp. I was also dissapointed with customer service. After registering with McIntosh I thought I would recieve a letter welcoming (thanking) me to the McIntosh family. No such thing.... I decided to call them and bring this matter to their attention. The call was futile.

So what did I get from this unit.????? Pretty lights, an overhyped companies reputation, a remote made in Japan. No gold plated inputs. Fair sound quality at best. I am counting the days when i sell or trade this unit for an amp that i will find pleasing. For $3,500. shouldn't one have gold plated inputs, an all metal unit. A remote that is made in U.S.A. along with the most important factor. DYNAMIC sound quality????

In all fairness i would like to claim that i do not suffer from audio nervosa (the constant need to upgrade). The Ma - 6500 clearly does not justify the price. Perhaps other products in the McIntosh family are worth the money. This unit does not fit into that category. If you feel that I have been hyper critical in this review ask your retailer if you can audition this integerated amp for a couple of days before purchase. If they are hesitant find a dealership that will accomidate your needs. Everyone views a product differently. I only ask that you take this amp home for a couple of days to see if it's right for you. For $3000. there are many competitors out there that will put this amp to shame. Had i only researched more...

Customer Service

haven't dealt with them yet.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Apr 13, 2003]
tarun kapoor
Casual Listener

Strength:

low volume clarity. 'beautiful' sound nice bass looks good

Weakness:

rock & roll sounds mushy

I play MA6500 off Spendor S8 speakers & a Sphinx Myth 9 CD player. I enjoy the amp's looks & simplicity (without sacrificing functionality). It plays impressively at all volume levels (esp. low volume with the "loud" button pressed). That said, I am a little disappointed w/ clarity of rock music and harder "Drum & Bass" music: Electric guitars sound mushed & drum clarity doesn't come out enough. But it does play most music very beautifuly - electronic rock, electronic music in general, the human voice, jazz (w/electric guitars!), south american, country, hip-hop, indian classical, western classical, etc. Overall, I'm glad I can hear music through it - & my wife likes it to.

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com