Mark Levinson ML 29 Amplifiers

ML 29

50 Watt class A

User Reviews (15)

Showing 1-10 of 15  
Audiophile   AudioPhile [Feb 25, 2011]

This amp has been in my system since I bought it 15 years ago. It is the one thing that I have not wanted to replace. Tried a Jeff Rowland Concentra, but the difference was minimal in favor of the Concentra. The combination of Conrad Johnson PFR, Levinson, and Martin Logan SL3's gives me a combination that can only be beat by spending thousands more. The Levinson No. 29 mates extremely well with quality tube pre's particularly Ming Da. The Ming Da and No. 29 gave me the best sound overall through the SL3's. This is definitely one of the best amplifiers out there.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Audiocraze   AudioPhile [Jun 22, 2010]

Overall this is a great sounding amplifier. The highs are silky smooth, the mids lush, liquid, and palatable, and the lows are taut and controlled. It also soundages like a champ owing to its dual mono design. The instruments and vocals are easy to locate. Tonality wise it sounds ever so slightly dark in absolute terms. Nevertheless, this little amplifer delivers music that is a joy to listen to.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jehle   Audio Enthusiast [May 17, 2008]

I'm surprised by the sound of the mark Levinson Nr 29!
There are details in the musik that I have never heard bevor!
Especially in the base!
I use the ML 29 together with a B&W 801 Matrix Serie II with a special tuning from B&W.
Listen one time with this amplifier some sound from Marcus Miller or Stanley Clarke and you'll see the different in the base!
I use it together with a Accuphase C-265 preamplifier and a Accuphase DP-65 cd player.
Before I had a Accuphase P-600 amplifier - more power but the details in the base I never heard!

Similar Products Used: Accuphase P-600 but the details in the sound are bether with the ML No 29
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
fets   AudioPhile [Apr 28, 2008]
Strength:

Details,soundstage, verry musical
When leaving the amp on all the time,the sound really opens up.

Weakness:

none

This ml no.29 is the best i've heard.
Hearing details never heard before.
Very open soundstage and voices sounded very realistic.
leaving this amp on all the time makes the sound way smoother.
this is really one killeramp!!

Similar Products Used: Denon 2400, denon poa4400a monos, avm m4 class a monos
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tinbui   AudioPhile [Jan 01, 2008]
Strength:

Everything.

Weakness:

n/c

You will not be disappointed with this amplifier mark levinson 29 , very warm tube like, very musical & detail. This is the best solid state amp I ever heard. The 29 has great bass for a smaller amp.

Similar Products Used: ml 331 , ml 27 , Accuphase A-20V , Krell KSA-100S
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tinbui   AudioPhile [Jan 01, 2008]
Strength:

Everything.

Weakness:

n/c

You will not be disappointed with this amplifier mark levinson 29 , very warm tube like, very musical & detail. This is the best solid state amp I ever heard. The 29 has great bass for a smaller amp.

Similar Products Used: ml 331 , ml 27 , Accuphase A-20V , Krell KSA-100S
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
nordwest   AudioPhile [May 26, 2006]
Strength:

All audiophile's parameters, but not dinamic.

Weakness:

It lack the bass dinamic.
It sounds as a monitor.
Not for rock and jazzrock music listeners.

The best amp you could buy at this price, if you aren't interested in dinamic bass.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha mx1000, Am audio mos250m, Threshold s200 and T50, Monrio cento hp, Electrocompaniet aw100, ARC classic60 (d70 and d115), Nad 214, Spectral dma50, Antique Sound Lab 845, ML 29, Krell ksa50s, Yba ampli 1. Always in "crescendo".
I listen rock and jazzrock music...
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Yuri   Audio Enthusiast [May 03, 2006]
Strength:

You can listen for days strait!
Very clean window into music!
Very involving!
Pure joy !

Weakness:

None

Best thing i've spend money on!
No regrets!
Better then my SE mono blocks! What else can I say, .
I can go on and on with compements about it but I won't.
Some complayning about lack of really deep base, not me, after Adcom 555II, Threshold Ta-300, this "little" Levinson kills them in all arias including base!
Love it!

Similar Products Used: Adcom 555II, Threshold Ta-300, AES se-811.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
terryml29   AudioPhile [Oct 21, 2002]
Strength:

Very good power supply, and wonderful capacitors.

Weakness:

It's damn heavy and there is no warranty after you take it out of the country. But thank God I no longer live in the country of purchase.

I purchased this item at an audio store in Saudi Arabia. It is a wonderful product that was actually the store demo model. It came with a plexiglass cover, so when you listen to the music you can look at the transformer and the high quality military-spec capacitor and remark at how wonderful the electricity rushes through the circuit to produce the wonderful music. Of course, when I was in the Kingdom I did not listen to recorded music. I only used the amplifier to amplify the sound of the ambient environment, and occasionally I used it as a guitar amplifier. I never listen to CDs since digital sound is forbidden in my household.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Lawrence   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 14, 2000]
Strength:

Build qualtiy, refined sound, class A design

Weakness:

only 50 watts, discontinued product can only be purchased used.

I purchased this product used so far I have not been disappointed with the quality of sound. I had the opportunity to buy a new Bryston, Classe, YBA or Sim amp. Admittedly the products above have a list price less than the Mark Levinson 29 - however, in terms of used vs new they had the same sticker price. The sound/quality was a no brainer Mark Levinson no 29!!

The only draw back is I will probably not be able attach this amp to my home theatre system because to add additional channels will require me to find other used ML 29s!! ( Not really that much of a draw back but I like my equipment to be flexible. )

Similar Products Used: auditioned Bryston, YBA, Classe and SIM
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 15  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com