Marantz MA-500 Amplifiers

MA-500

THX, 125W

User Reviews (26)

Showing 1-10 of 26  
Ben Griffin   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 04, 2015]

I own 4 of these amps paid $100 or less a piece used I use them in a 2 channel analog system for us they are amazing we are running 2 B&W CM2s & CM center speakers I know sounds a little crazy but these cheap little amps sound Great Clean & Clear

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Wardsteiner   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 01, 2010]

(don't know the exact date of manufacturing, due to second hand buying)

Bought 3 of these blocs to power my homemade 2.1 system.
Running them on home-build monitors and a cheap-ass car subwoofer (awaiting the case to be painted at a car-painter with high-gloss black) and I'm stunned...
These blocs never run out of breath and I must be honest: I like to listen to music loud..
Home-made electronic crossover devides my sub frequencies and protects the monitors that can't stand the RMS power these boys provide.

Nevertheless amazing blocs to have, and even now with a simple passive pre-amp directly from my PC they work amazing

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Craig   AudioPhile [Nov 10, 2007]
Strength:

Got a channel of audio that needs amplification? Here's the right tool for the job. It's as close to the perfect "simple answer" as anyone ever got.

Weakness:

NONE. Not a single one. If I had to put something, I'd say that they need to start producing it again.

This is s simple one, and I'll keep it so. These amps absolutely ROCK. Period. They made Stereophile's RECOMMENDED EQUIPMENT list--more than once, if I remember correctly--and there is NO questioning why. Just LISTEN to some of these, and prepare to repeatedly ask "Now HOW MUCH did you say these things cost?" Seriously, these amps cause you to re-examine spending $1,000 a channel for amps like Proceed, etc. As far as the review from "M", I did a little research into the problem that he (and James Bond) were facing with the "...No "air" to sound. Voices are muddy, sounding like the vocalist has their hand cupped over their mouth...", and I found that the problem wasn't with the amp at all, but instead, I pointed out to him that at the bottom of the grille on the front of his speakers, there was a little logo that says "BOSE". Indeed, THAT turned out to be the culprit of his problem of bad sound. In any case, I've got 5 of these that I run every day, and have done so for well over 8 years. I haven't had even the SLIGHTEST hint of a problem with them, they have lovely, open, effortless sound, and there's always plenty of reserve power/headroom. I've driven everything from American (Phase Tech Premier Class), to Swedish (Audio Pro Bravo Series), to French (JM Labs Grande Utopia), and even a DUAL-18 passive sub with these, and they have never, EVER broken a sweat. I've yet to find a task they cannot handle. Sub-bass-only applications to multiple-driver, astronomically-priced-mids-and-highs duty, and ALL accomplished with ease, panache, and INCREDIBLE sound. This amplifier can do crystalline mids and highs, and just as easily do full-range or "sub duty" down at 20 Hz, and do it WELL! Marantz, along with being able to demonstrate absolute mastery of cost-no-object sonic perfection (with models like the MA-9S2), really showed what they were capable of in the arena of price/performance amplification, and the resulting product has effectively DESTROYED other paradigms of what something at such a ridiculously low price can POSSIBLY DO. This little amp can do whatever is asked of it. Period. Full stop. End of story.

Customer Service

If I ever need it, I'll let you know.

Similar Products Used: Marantz AV9000 pre-amp
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
hbtaj2000   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 17, 2006]
Strength:

Incredibly easy to use. Flawless long term performance. Unbelieveable sound and clarity.

Weakness:

None. Absolutely none.

I have been using these amplifiers for ten years. I'm not an audiophile and I certainly can't afford extremely expensive equipment. I have never had one complaint with these amps. With a simple look, they unleash a powerful and CLEAN sound that is anything but simple. They have never given me any trouble and a flawless ten year streak is amazing for any product, let alone one that is used on average 5 hours a day. These amplifiers are worth their weight in gold. A must have for anyone looking for that extra KICK. I easily would've paid more than $600 for a pair.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Old Rusty   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 14, 2006]
Strength:

Performance without a single hiccup.

Weakness:

Haven't heard a weakness yet.

This monoblock amp is unreal! Powering my 3ohm/200-20hz/250watt passive subwoofer with the MA-500 has changed everything I thought I knew about bass response. For $102 bucks you would have to be an idiot not to buy one.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Hifiguy   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 10, 2003]
Strength:

Smoothness, dynamics, flexibility

Weakness:

No input level control

I have listened to these amplifiers extensively through several different speaker systems from Definitive, MB Quart, and Paradigm, and I have always come away impressed at the smoothness combined with solid bass. Dynamics are excellent, too. But the best thing about these amps is their incredible flexibility; as has been demonstrated by many of the reviews here, they can be used so many ways. And they built with amazing quality for the price. Typical of Marantz best products.

Similar Products Used: Marantz MA700, Parasound HCA-1000
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
M   AudioPhile [May 19, 2003]
Strength:

Good power for the price (on the used market). Monobloc flexibility, and these are a cheap way to get into monoblocs.

Weakness:

No "air" to sound. Voices are muddy, sounding like the vocalist has their hand cupped over their mouth.

While it's a good amp for the price, the sound from this amp isn't spectacular, certainly not something that rivals the best regardless of price. The detail is lacking, especially in the vocal ranges, leading to a voice that sounds a little muddy. I don't even think the detail holds up to mid-level receivers. It's a particular problem for me because I was looking for an amp to power my center channel (B&W HTM2) for DVDs and SACD. The punch is pretty good. Power rating is realistic, but don't expect much for headroom. The higher frequencies are subdued, leading to a sound that is a little smooth, yet lacking in air. Matter of preference, I guess. In the end, it's not a bad amp. There are good things about it, but every single one of those good things must be followed by the statement "for the price."

Similar Products Used: No monoblocs, but other amps include Musical Fidelity A3cr, Rotel, Onkyo receiver.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
analoglover   AudioPhile [Oct 07, 2002]
Strength:

Very smooth yet detailed, alots of power, will drive any speaker, sound is really engaging specially in bridge mode.

Weakness:

None.

This is a great mono power amp. It is right up there with the best regardless of price. I have four of these, I am using these in bridge configuration and it puts out 450 watts per channel into 8 ohms. The sound is truly amazing, the images are big, and life-like, the overall sound is very smooth, non-fatigue and very engaging and musical. Get these if you can find them in used market, you will be suprised and I do not believe you will want Krell or Levinson, cuz again, interms of sound quality, these Marantz mono blocks are pretty close to these expensive power amps. The rest of my system is Audio Research SP-7 preamp, Micromega Stage 1 CD player, Nakamich LX-5 cassette deck, Totem Mite speakers and MIT terminator interconnect and some European made speaker cable. I have listened to the newer version of these the MA 6100, found them to be a little on the bright side, and after reading the reviews of MA700's, I get the impression that they are slightly bright too, but not these MA 500's, these are truly great little mono amps with alots alots of power, if you can find them, give these babies a listen, you will be surprised how good these amps are and will not want to spend more on more expensive amps.

Similar Products Used: I have used, Macormack DNA 0.5, Adcom GFA 555 Mark II, GFA 535, and a Creek Power amp, non of these amp come even close to these Marantz mono blocks sound quality.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
James W   AudioPhile [Feb 09, 2002]
Strength:

Great value and quality for Home Theater Application. Beats all 5 channel amps twice its'' price. Looks cool

Weakness:

Not good enough for my mains in 2 chnl. stereo

I own 5 MA 500''s. I use 2 for my rears, one for my center, and 2 bridged for my passive sub. I love these amps in this application. I don''t use them for my mains because they don''t give the bass extension and soundstaage and imaging is above aaverage. However, in a HT, they work great with my mains but not with two channel (music) My system: -McIntosh C39 pre-amp w/Mac 3 Proscessor -McIntosh LD 7020 (use for cd transport) -Marantz DV 18II -Marantz MA 24 (2x for mains) -Marantz MA 500 (5x) -Klipsch Cornwalls -Klipsch Hereseys -Klipsch Legend Series Center -McIntosh HT2 Passive subwoofer

Similar Products Used: Many
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
James W   AudioPhile [Feb 09, 2002]
Strength:

Great value and quality for Home Theater Application. Beats all 5 channel amps twice its'' price. Looks cool

Weakness:

Not good enough for my mains in 2 chnl. stereo

I own 5 MA 500''s. I use 2 for my rears, one for my center, and 2 bridged for my passive sub. I love these amps in this application. I don''t use them for my mains because they don''t give the bass extension and soundstaage and imaging is above aaverage. However, in a HT, they work great with my mains but not with two channel (music) My system: -McIntosh C39 pre-amp w/Mac 3 Proscessor -McIntosh LD 7020 (use for cd transport) -Marantz DV 18II -Marantz MA 24 (2x for mains) -Marantz MA 500 (5x) -Klipsch Cornwalls -Klipsch Hereseys -Klipsch Legend Series Center -McIntosh HT2 Passive subwoofer

Similar Products Used: Many
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 26  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com