Krell Showcase Processor Amplifiers

Krell Showcase Processor Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

The Showcase is Krell's fifth generation surround sound preamp/processor, delivering the benefits of almost a decade of experience in the development of reference-quality High End Audio Theater (HEATâ„¢) systems. With the latest in surround sound technologies, a proprietary digital room equalizer, and an exceptional preamplifier section, the Showcase processor extends the KAV Series' tradition of Krell engineering and affordability to a new generation.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[Apr 08, 2017]
Krell Showcase Processor
Audio Enthusiast

Very recently I purchased the Showcase Processor to replace my second failed B&K reference 50. When the second failed I was too frustrated to continue on with B&K in light of the fact there is no more support for the product line. I have been a B&K fan for years, owning several of their pre-amplifiers and power amplifiers, with a couple of their receivers also.

On to this Krell, I just can't believe the difference in soundstage, clarity and detail as compared to my previous pre-amps. Especially since this is the bottom of the line from Krell and I had the top of the line from B&K. There is literally no comparison. I understand this is way out of date for home theater but then so was my reference 50. They are from the same time period of production. This Krell is phenomenal in 2 channel stereo, which is 90% of what I use it for. The basic set up is very straight foward but the room EQ is very complex and I will be exploring that for a long time before I consider myself proficient at it.

In short, if you need an inexpensive upgrade that doesn't need the latest in home theater processing and something that is really great in 2 channel stereo, consider one of these. Picked mine up for less than $600 delivered to my door.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 28, 2016]
Doug
AudioPhile

I recently picked one of these up off EBay for 600,00 including shipping. The HT processing is outdated but I wanted to try it for a 2 channel preamp. This replaced a 20 year Proceed PAV. Now the PAV is severely outdated, however what most people don't know is, the PAV is basically a Mark Levinson 38 preamp with a processor added on. To this day, you'll be hard pressed to find anything under 2k that will better this in 2 channel stereo.

Comparing the PAV to the Sowcase was both a pleasure and some work changing cables back and forth. I did not compare any surround processing as the Showcase clearly in more updated. In 2 channel preamp mode, both units have very good resolution, soundstage and instrument placement. I'll give the slight edge to the PAV in soundstage width, however in terms of micro dynamics, decay and sheer speed, the Showcase has a big margin. Both units produced well extended, taught and tonally accurate bass. Upper midrange and treble were a little less forward with the PAV, however I noticed more detail and separation with the Showcase. Overall I would give the edge to the Showcase as an all around better 2 channel preamp. Imagining and presentation had more dynamics, but not harsh even at higher volumes and the bass slam was typical Krell.

Bottom line: for the money this is an excellent 2 channel preamp and a somewhat outdated 7.1 HT processor.

The 2 reviewers the compared the Showcase to the B&K Sonata must be tone deaf or of course B&K dealers, fan boys or employees. I can tell you unequivocally, the B&K is not even in the same league as the Krell. First of all the analog preamp mode on the Showcase is strictly a pass- through with a gain stage and has no sonic bearing on the signal other than increase the gain. If it sounded like crap, then that's an indication that your front end components are crap.

Sources Used:
Krell Showcase
Proceed PAV
PS Audio DirectWave DAC
Wadia 850 as a transport
Krell KSA 200s Amp
Transparent Musiclink Cabling
Kimber TDGL digital cable

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 12, 2004]
muzz777
AudioPhile

Strength:

all

Weakness:

none- no zone 2 control but can use tape monitor.

Fantasic in everyway! Pre-amp and processing exceeds everything on the market for the money. Nothing under $8k sounds even close. all the sonic benefits of the HTS2! Don't believe me, then go listen for yourself!

Similar Products Used:

b+k, proceed, parasound halo, theta, ayre, moon, lexicon, bryston, rotel, marantz and etc...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 21, 2004]
kris
AudioPhile

Strength:

Easy to use and the sound quailty awesome. Well built unit.

Weakness:

None

Just a awesome processor and a preamp! It has replaced my Proceed AVP2 and it has not missed a beat. It is very flexable and the built in EQ made a huge difference in my theater. This is one fine product by Krell...

Similar Products Used:

Proceed AVP2 EAD ovation plus Parasound C1

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 11, 2004]
raynhisaudio
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great surround processor. Like the input and out flexibility (XLR, RCA, etc.)

Weakness:

Terrible two-channel preamp. Krell should be embarrased. Keep wondering about a software upgrade to fix the glitches - nothing announced yet. Lots of choices at this price point - I should have auditioned more thoroughly.

The showcase is a fantastic Home Theater processor. Was a definite major upgrade from the Accurus ACT 3 that it replaced. I am currently limited to 5 channel, but will eventually upgrade to 7.1 to evaluate the full capability of this unit. Great remote and straight forward set-up once I read the manual a couple of times (it is not intuitively obvious - gotta study). But that's where the good ends. Two channel reproduction is very weak - bass in two channel mode without a sub is non-existant. Very disappointed. Musically, it is not a very engaging piece. My old B&K Pro-10 Sonata creamed it in two channel mode. It also loses its surround mode frequently when changing satelite stations with auto-detect enabled. It simply goes silent and I have to click to another source and back again so that it resets.

Similar Products Used:

Elite PD-75, Rotel RCD-991, Elite DV-C36, Michell Gyro SE w/ BPS, Audio Experience Concerto, Krell KSA-300S, Legacy Focus, Kimber Hero

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Dec 21, 2003]
Ray
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Excellent home theater system processor. Very flexible, great sound once set-up has been optimized.

Weakness:

Very poor job on music, especially traditional jazz and classical. Won't do your expensive main speakers justice - listen to it side by side with a high quality linestage if you are looking for accurate music in addition to movies before you plunk down $3K.

This is a great processor for movie playback in a HTS. Channel separation and control is excellent. It is also extremely versatile from a configurability standpoint. The manual is a bit complex - it will take you a while to learn your way around within the set-up screen. Musically, I was not very impressed. Set to the "preamp" mode, it should be as close to a traditional linestage as you can get. I was disappointed by the lack of bass signal that was being sent to the main speakers, but thought maybe it was my room. I also thought that the preamp lacked the level of audiophile musical articulation that one would expect from a Krell. A friend recently lent me his B&K Pro10 Sonata and it blew the Krell Showcase away! I was floored - more soundstage, more detail, and my missing bass was back!

Similar Products Used:

Krell KSA300S, Legacy Focus + Silver Screen + Pacemaker + Mist Speakers, ADCOM GFA 5503 (center and rear), Kimber Hero (AWSOME), Rotel RCD991 (also awsome), JA Michell Gyrodec SE with RB300 and BPS. Now using the B&K Pro10 (I bought it from my buddie) for music.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Nov 17, 2003]
Lowrider
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Dynamics, detail, highs, DPLII Matrix for TV, remote

Weakness:

Equalisation limited to thirds of octave, forward with classical music

It is incredibly dynamic compared with TAG Dual Processor, sounds very good at low volume, but it is too forward with classical music and EQ degrades a bit the sound unlike the TAG DP. I love the remote, small but sturdy, and it does everything I need, easy and comprehensive to setup, very detailed and clean sound...

Similar Products Used:

TAG AV32R old and new DP

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Nov 08, 2003]
JARED
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

CRISP CLEAN PRECISE

AWESOME JUST AWESOME. TRIED QUITE A FEW SET UPS AND THE SIMPLY PUT IS GREAT

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 19, 2003]
allan
AudioPhile

Strength:

Tight clean bass with some slam, sweet mids, clean grainfree highs. Excellent DSP options. Fantastic grain free picture. Software upgrades available.

Weakness:

The LFE setup sometimes losses its setting (it switches from Normal to Enhanced by itself). Not a major problem as the Showcase comes with a non-volatile memory! Krell hopefully addresses this in their next software upgrade.

Using the Showcase Pre/Pro with the following; Krell FPB 300cx Rotel RMB-1095 Krell SACD Luxman DVD Player ProJect RM-4 Table ProAc 3.8 Mains ProAc 125 Surrounds 12" Phase Sub Kimber BiFocal XL Mains Cable Kimber 8TC Surrounds Cable DIY Silver Balanced Interconnects

Similar Products Used:

This is my first Audiophile Setup – Jealous!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com