Krell KSA-200S Amplifiers

KSA-200S

200 Watts

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
Jkhan   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 03, 2006]
Strength:

distortion free, turn up the volume to full and it shows you what how it can handle stuff with detail, accuracy and clearity I think iam in love with this amp and will keep it for long.

Weakness:

should have room for banana plugs in the speaker connectors since there is only connection for spades but real solid and heavy

Been reading a lot on this particular amp and after auditioning, all those thoughts became a reality with all doubts turning into belief. Appearace is like some milatary hardware but sounds so peacful and sweet with lots of accuracy. Handles highs and low so well and true. I have hooked it directly with my cd player good oehlbach german speaker cables, real heavy stuff, and canton two way Ergo 603s book shelf speakers with frequency response from 27-40kHz. currenly using rca audioquest diamondbacks interconnects but will be using balanced same brand later.
Although this amp is almost 10yr old but still running flawless. I like the auto biasing so it runs not very hot on 10-25% volumes and gets better as you pump it up for long.

Customer Service

well ! no experience so far, I think it has real finest selected durable components which may last a life time I guess.

Similar Products Used: krell ksa 200S krell ksa 200s etc ect
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jerry O   AudioPhile [Jan 24, 2003]
Strength:

Fine balance of power and finesse.

Weakness:

Overly sophisticated, complex circuitry. Concerned about long term reliability.

My dad just off-loaded this unit to me. I'm using it to drive my Martin Logan SL3's. It matches my speaker load wonderfully. It's one of the most neutral, clean, dimensional amps I've heard (tube or ss). I believe it's an excellent match for tough to drive speakers.

Similar Products Used: Threshold, Bedini, PS Audio, OCM.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
jsd52756   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 18, 2002]
Strength:

Quality components. Ease of set up. Huge heat sinks (& boy does it need them!) Nice metal machined remote that I never really use. Thick gold plating on the speaker connectors. Weighs 120 pounds so you don't have worry about it blowing away! Great looks. Nice power cord that Krell recommends you do not replace without contacting them first. Able to turn off the power meter lights.

Weakness:

Keep bandages handy when moving unit. The heat sinks are sharp. The power meter lights are too bright. Unit will heat up even a moderate sized room. (This stuff is here just to be picky.)

I recentry purchased this unit to power my Infinity Rennaisance 90's from "The Basement" in Calgary (thanks Myles!) I wanted a unit to match the max power recommendations from Infinity for these speakers (200 watts @ 4ohms). I have to say that this unit powers the Ren 90's with authority and delicacy just as I had hoped. It brought out the base in these difficult to power units while maintaining the crisp & sweet highs these speakers are known for. I was able to set up the system in a nice large room for a few days while the family was out of town & I am in awe. The sound came out with the cleanliness and depth like I have never experienced. From Jazz to Rock & Roll to the newest Techno, the definition and control is supperb. Fatique of the listener is eliminated which allows one to hang out for hours and be in musical bliss. Ease of installation and equiped with two set of outputs for bi-wiring is really nice. The amp takes some time to get fired up while it runs through the initialization process, but not annoyingly so. I can tell by the sound of the relay activating and the look of the components inside that nothing was spared in the quality department. The power supply is huge and the four capacitors are the size of soup cans. All this comes out in the final product of two channel heaven. If you have a pair of the Ren 90's I highly recommend this amp. I have not, and may never, have this amp past 1/2 volume on the pre-amp. At this setting three of the four power lamps are lit. Not yet reaching the peak power it is capable of. At peak power it would probably blow the fur off the cat! My compliments to Krell and their engineers. Now I just need to add another 1000 square feet to my house for heaven to be on earth. System; Krell 200-s amp Yamaha CX-1 pre-amp (nice three setting phono section.) Infinity Rennaisance 90 speakers Sony SCD333ES CD player Technics SL1210-MK2 with Grado Platinum cartridge Monster IR 2 interconnects Monster m2.4s bi-wire speaker cable

Similar Products Used: Ancient Sansui 8080 Yamaha MX-1
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jay Auxier   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 15, 2000]
Strength:

Class A output without the heat of earlier models

Weakness:

Heavy

I have owned this piece for several years. It has worked flawlessly and the sonic signature is very good. Good dynamics, deep sound stage, just a hint of darkness.I prefer this sound as apposed to adding too much razzel- dazzel. Highly recomended !

Similar Products Used: Levinson
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mike kemper   Audiophile [Aug 22, 2001]
Strength:

voluptous

Weakness:

heavy

seen it at vegas 1996 show driving a pair of giant speak.
perfect for hungry speaker.wide sound stage.stereophile class a rating.managed to get one from dealer.will keep it for a long time

Similar Products Used: various tube and transistor 200 watts amplifier
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
see thong   Audiophile [Aug 22, 2001]
Strength:

one of the best amp to join the superclass

Weakness:

none

this amp is a killer.if u have the opportunity ,audition before u buy as u wont want to miss it

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
yap hock sin   Audiophile [Aug 21, 2001]
Strength:

dynamic bass,soundstage at its best,mid,high

Weakness:

too heavy,sharp fins

this amp kills. the bass is dynamic,mid n high is just pefect.matches the krell cd top player and any other high end preamplifier.its boast the dynamic bass added with sweet mid n high.rated by most listener to be a class of its own.this amplifier would be the future legendary classic amp/it would stay in my syatem for a long time

Similar Products Used: ml 23.5,mbl 8010c,krell ksa 200,ja 200
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ben zachary   Audiophile [Aug 30, 2001]
Strength:

mid,bass n transparancy

Weakness:

none

cloud nine.thia amp is strongly recommended

Similar Products Used: ml,sf,jeff rowland,mbl
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Leo Chan   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 09, 2001]
Strength:

3D imaging; quiet; wide dynamic range; fast with good damping.

Weakness:

Heavy; Ampere eater; On/Off switch is not sturdy enough for such a high current Amps; high price; remote sold separately.

Having brought it for more than a year, the On/Off relay switch burnt once and 1 op amp, several capacitors and resistors on right channel burnt shortly after dealer service of the relay switch. Bside this annoying experience, it always provided me enjoyment and satisfaction.

The mighty 200 watt class A will drive most of the floor standing speakers without any hesitation. It will provide a very quiet background. The sound stage is wide and deep. The bass is the most wonderful part of it. The bass is full of dynamic and fast.

Its transparent and calm characteristic will not tolerate any bad records. It will not smooth out any harsh high or tighten any fatigue bass. The vocal could be so sweet if the singer does. So the sound of your other components will dominance the overall result. (it lose 1 star from the overall rating here. It is because bad records are the majority!)

I will suggest it (or even a baby Krell)to anyone who have a big speaker for a trial listen.

The other gears are:
10 years old Sony CD, Pioneer DVD737 (as transport only).
Audio Alchemy DDE v1.1 (modified on power suppiy).
Tara Labs - Decade RCA
Matisse - Fantasy line amp (NOS telefunken ECC801S, Amperex Bungle boy ECC83 tubes).
Aural Symphony AS One Gen II; Audioquest - Pytho RCA
Cardas - Golden Gross Tri Wire.
Spendor SP100 signature speaker.


Similar Products Used: Quad 606; Jadis JA 200
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Lee   an Audio Enthusiast [Feb 09, 1999]

Well, I owned this amp for awhile and it sounded very good, a lot thicker then the KSA150 and lot of bass slam. Soundstage is wide and deep. It never sound grain or harsh, most important, it runs barely warm even after 3-4 hours listening due to the sustained plateau biasing. I did once use the CD player straight to KSA200S and the sound is a lot better than without the pre amp, but most of us can't live without pre amp unless you use only CD player(with vol control of course).Built quality is just like Krell, hardly be better. And I like the Krell remote to turn it on and off (cool!). The only thing I don't like it is the heatsink is sharp and does not look as attractive (aggreesive!?)like the older Krell like KSA150 or KSA 80. But sound quality is first rate.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com