Krell KSA-100S Amplifiers

Krell KSA-100S Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

100 Watts

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 13  
[Oct 06, 2006]
jun seok, bae
AudioPhile

Strength:

musicality and accuracy and misurement

Weakness:

different transformer of 100s' along with it's manufactured year.

i'm a chief of lui digital (makes handmade tube audio/digital system)

i bought this amp about 20 times.....hmmm...

there's two kind of 100s' transformer

one is troidal shape, another is r-core (square type)

the former is better in every sound factor.

i like this amp because of it's hiend standard sound, especially no-sharp-and-transparent-mid range and so forth..

i like krell 50s, 100s, 250, 300s, fpb 300c, 400cx

frankly speaking...

the mesurement of audio is not importent.

but if misurement is suitable with it's sound quility, the amplifier can moremusically impact most listner..

not many tr-amp can plays well the 'cantata or missa'

100s is rare amp to classicphile

Customer Service

i can manage

Similar Products Used:

hundreds

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 20, 2006]
Anthony
Audio Enthusiast

I was once told that once you have experienced the warmth and detail that only a Krell can produce then you will never use anything else, so far so good, for me it is still to what all others are judged, I am still using my beloved KSA100 and it has never let me down, today there are I'm sure better amps out there but when played side by side could you honestly say one is better than another at this level how much more would you pay to convince yourself what you are hearing is actually better, eg Audio Note 7watt power amp some years back priced at £60K was it better??? if so... it was not £55K better, stick to the classics they are affordable and were all state of the art at one time,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 21, 2003]
0461
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Stamina, power, ambiance, built like a sub...

Weakness:

May lack a little body compared with the best of tube amps.

Nice..... simply nice. It drives my Snell A3i with ease, and I have not yet lacked power. Detailed but still laid back in nature. I simply love my new amp. Go buy one !

Similar Products Used:

Audio Research d-110, Zapsolute Mk2 mono blocks, Electro Companiet 180W mono bloks ( can´t remember the type! ) EAR 509 and 519 mono´s, Holfi Power NB2

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 16, 2002]
philippe b
AudioPhile

Strength:

Clarity, openness, lack of coloration. Transparency, detail, rock solid imaging, very quiet

Weakness:

(qualified), could use more power

I've found the KSA100s to be a perfect complement for my Boston Lynnfield 500L (upper/mid arrays). The KSA100s is exceptional in accurate rendition of the human voice, and all instruments - natural or synthesized - which I have been able to find. I'm currently using a Sony SCD-777es CD player (with SACD) and find that the SACD material is very, very detailed and subtle on this system

Similar Products Used:

Adcom, Threshold, SAE,Bel Canto,Plinius

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 18, 2002]
Chris K
AudioPhile

Strength:

Clean, transparent, Well built

Weakness:

Heavy

Excellent amplifier. I could not imagine needing much more power. It runs the Nautilus 804's perfect.

Similar Products Used:

Levinson No 331, Krell kav250, Krell KSA200s, Parasound

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 11, 2002]
M123
AudioPhile

Strength:

Great mid transparency. Neutral sounding.

Weakness:

None

A not to be be missed 100 Watts amp.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 19, 1999]
David
Audiophile

Strength:

AMAZING!

Weakness:

NOTHING!

BUY IT!

Similar Products Used:

ONE OF A KIND!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 25, 2001]
Sunny Wong
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Good performance at hi, mid and lo frequencies. Very smooth and silky sound. Outstanding driving ability.

Weakness:

None.

I had bought it for over 6 years. It's another lengendary power amp from Krell. I learnt the KSA-S series created a sales record.

It can drive the famous low sensitivity and hungry speakers like ATC. No doubt Krell has lots of innovations like sustained pletaeu bias.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 16, 2001]
chong lye
Audiophile

Strength:

sweet,well balance,good focusing,airy

this amp has good character to drive most speakers.it should not be classified on the border line class a by stereophile gurus.go for the second hand you will not sell it.it is one of the 100 watts transitor amp that should not be missed

Similar Products Used:

classe,ml,plinius sa100mkii,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 17, 1999]
Ariston Malolos
Audiophile

Strength:

Sense of ease of delivery; bass tautness/slam authority; transparency

Weakness:

I haven't compared it to its closest competitor, so I can't comment on it.

Other than great bass tautness, slam, pitch definition, midrange transparency, the thing that comes to mind when I upgraded from my old(but decent)B&K ST-140 driving a Totem Model One, to the Krell KSA-100S driving the same speaker is the difference in acceleration & power between driving a 1.6 liter 4 cylinder car to a 5.0 liter V8.
I love this amp. It's most likely be bettered by Krell's top of the line FPB series or Mark Levinsons, but this is an amp that I could live forever with. It's got a battleship caliber of construction.
The only thing that I could wish for is a standby feature.
I'm only giving it a 4 star because of the new Krells & Mark Levinsons. But without considering the other amps, then it's definitely a five star amp.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com