Electrocompaniet AW-250 Amplifiers

AW-250

2500 Watt Dual Mono/Balanced Power Amplifier (1987-1991)

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
alan   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 21, 2013]

nice sounding amp, driving my b&w 802 matrix speakers, with nice control of the base; however weight is a hernia strain to move it. & a mechnical noise is present with this amp. thinking something was wrong, i phone a dealer who put his amp on. and confirmed they have a noise with them, if you hide it away,somewhere its not so bad but in the listening room, it sounds like a valve amp, with transformer hum. for the price,this amp when new,it should not be present,, i changed it for a chord, and ..silent.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
JOSE MARIA   AudioPhile [Sep 08, 2011]

La versión AW250 DM me convenció desde el primer día. Sonaba al auténtico sonido "Electrocompaniet", suave y musical, con un tratamiento de los medios muy real. La versión moderna, la AW 250 R es muy inferior y adolece de falta de profundidad y de cuerpo orquestal en relación con la versión DM. Los agudos son algo estridentes y desenfocados, dando a las cuerdas una luminosidad y protagonismo excesivo. Escuchar a Vivaldi, por ejemplo, se convierte en un suplicio exento de placer.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Joachim Klein   Casual Listener [Jul 29, 2000]
Strength:

absolutely stable amplification - even on delicate loads (like The Quest from Martin Logan)
Absolutely sturdy built

Weakness:

There is a small humming sound which is noticeable in quite passages - no idea whether it is coming from the pre-amplifier Electrocompaniet EC3 or the AW 250
&
This is a very heavy item - rearrangements of system are hard work

Music is coming without any signs of being stressed at even very delicate and loud signals, has punch and delicacy in same moment, absolutely balanced sound - I do not feel fatigue after hours of listening to music.

I noticed an improvement when connecting pre-amp and AW 250 with XLR Interconnects. Cables for speakers are MIT, by the way.

Would recommend a purchase of used system - no longer available, follow up model (AW 250R) is equipped with even better power supply - will have chance to compare them and to try bi-amping in two month's time.

Similar Products Used: T & A R 2000 and T & A A 2000 in Bi-Amping on a.m speakers
but the Electrocompaniet was btter on it's own compared to bi-amping, testwise I had an Accuphase for a while but I liked the Electrocompaniet more
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
K Dahl   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 21, 2001]
Strength:

It plays music extremely well!

Weakness:

None!

System: Doxa 014 preamp, sony dvp-s7700, b&w dm 604-s2, cabels from tara labs.


I love my Electrocompaniet AW-250.

Similar Products Used: audiolab 8000 ,Nad 216, 218. But you cant really compare them with Ec aw-250 it is som much better in every way!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
MATS PETTER THUNES   [Apr 30, 2001]

I LOVE THIS AMP

Similar Products Used: AW250,EC4,7,EMC1,SNELL C/V
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jon Bertheussen   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 20, 2001]
Strength:

Powerfull deep bass. Delicate mid-tones and treble. Will drive almost every speaker. Tube with "balls"? Extremely good on acoustic music and vocals. It also plays the BLUES!

Weakness:

None particular

My first entry into high-end, and the EC AW-250R fits my ideals like a hand in the glove. Used with Sony XA-7ES CD-player. EC 4,5 pre-amp, Martin Logan ReQuest and MIT-cables. This setup plays music as you would hear it live. The AW-250R drives the ML like a charm, and is o good match. The bass goes deep and with a very strong authority. The mid-tones are the most delicate and lifelike I have ever heard, and the high-notes are just simply there. The soundstage is HUGE. All this also helped by ML which reveals this magic like no other speakers. Sorry...got to go, Stevie Ray Vaughan is just about to play "Little Wing" just for me. Press PLAY. My strongest recommendations.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Aris   Audiophile [Jan 06, 2001]
Strength:

analytical,musical,powerfull

Weakness:

none to my attention yet

before buying this one i owned the smaller one power amp 120DMB (i 've posted a review). This amp is the revised model from the original AW-250R. I needed all the virtues that the smaller amp AW-120DMB had plus more power and this amp does it all. It is exeptionally musical ,analytical, and powerfull.

Similar Products Used: too many
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Patrick Mattucci   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 01, 2001]
Strength:

Dynamics. Dead quiet operation. Powerful enough to drive any speaker in my budget. Smooth and musical.

Weakness:

None. And I mean NONE!

I fell in love with the EC sound at the HIFI Chicago show 99'. Once again at the THE SHOW recently in New York.
This amp is everything I was looking for from a power source to drive my Talon Peregrines. Detail, delicacy and the ability to lift info from the music I love that I had been missing. Vocals are beautiful when recorded so. Acoustic guitar is really a treat. Steel strings resonate wonderfully and naturally with a decay that is near perfect. Nylon strings when plucked parially muted are breathtaking to behold. Drums are really dynamic and cymbals not only shine and again decay naturally, but their placement in the soundstage is dead-on. The power and delicacy are absolutley first rate. This amp does not sound like it's dying to explode like some of the behemoths do when playing softer music, but allow all the micro-dynamics to emerge naturally in their own time and place.
Of course- it can rock and roll when called upon. "The End" on The Beatles "Abbey Road" Original Masters vinyl was unbelievable. Ringo's drum solo pounded like never before and the rhythm guitar literally crunches while Paul, George and John perform their now famous searing call and response solos. Acoustic piano now sounds like a real acoustic piano. In other words, there is a presense when that instrument is reproduced that I had never experienced before.
Kids, in a nutshell, this amp has taught me some valuable lessons about assembling a High End system. You cannot underestimate the value of amplification. Dare I say......it may be the most crucial and important component of all. Your speakers may be great. The preamplification invisible. The playback sources totally accurate. But if your amp is not up to or beyond the level of the rest of your components, there is simply no compensating for it. No interconnect, nor tweak or any upgrade of any kind is going to help you get where you want to be if your amplification is average. I don't know how Electrocompaniet does it, but they build the best amplification I have heard. It is my experience that every speaker I have heard with EC amps and someone elses in comparison have always sounded much better with the EC in the mix.
Nuff said!

Similar Products Used: B&K ST202+/ Muse Model 160/ Monarchy SE100 Delux mono blocks
Bryston 4BST
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com