Denon POA-5200 Amplifiers

POA-5200

THX Ultra 2 channel amplifier

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
AUDIOBUGGED   AudioPhile [May 30, 2002]
Strength:

Well thought out Construction/Design from a company whom is always considered MID-FI? - Clarity, Soundstage, Power to push any Book Shelf to Full Range speaker, without ever getting Hot.

Weakness:

At this Price NONE!!! Left room in my budget for a pair of B&W 805's

When using the POA-5200 to drive the fronts on my AVR-4800 it is pure audio nirvana. Especially with SACD using a CDP-S333ES. I actually feel for 2 channel in direct mode it tops the flagship AVR-5800, as I am in the process of auditioning one, as I type this. I was looking for a intergrated amp. for a 3rd audio only set-up (Master Bedroom). I purchased a Acurus Dia-100 MKII & was really disapointed for a Stereophile B rated component. I really liked the sound of the Denon line-up & next purchased a PMA-2000R, which is a C class rated component. It smoked the Acurus!!! This was to be paired with a Sony CDP-XA20ES, (Sweet unit a "Major Keeper", hard to believe it's a Sony, check the reviews). The PMA-2000R which Denon advertises as an Audiophile Intergrated Amp., in Direct Source mode shuts down & becomes strictly an amp. The Phono Stage on the PMA was awesome when paired with a Music Hall MMF-7, yet I wasn't interested in doing another Vinyl set-up. I just wasn't happy with the sound for digital. Next came mono block amps, Music Fidelity (Cute, Expensive), & Marantz ma-500. (the MA isn't worth capitalizing, YUCK) Ran across an older mint pair of Denon PM0-2400's. Still not happy, as I was demonstrating my H/T set-up to a Friend with the Gladiator DVD. I glanced at the POA. Gently "Ripped" the 5200 off the 4800, for kicks & ran for the bedroom. The old saying "Right under your Nose" is true!!! I am now the proud owner of 2 POA-5200's. Connecting the CDP-XA20ES to the POA-5200 via variable out with Tributaries SCA-150 1 meter interconnects, has left a smile on my face which many months latter hasn't worn off!!! This Amp is so Under-Rated & has been Pigeonholed for just Home Theater use, do to it's THX Certification. Well like Mikey say "Try It, You'll Like It".

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
7klipsch   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 03, 2002]
Strength:

Sound, Build Quality, Price, Looks cool too! Does not run warm at all, as far as amps go, now my 3801 runs cooler as well.

Weakness:

None really, but I''ll vote for pretty blue or green power indicator to show solodarity with my fellow POA-5200 brothers.

I was driving seven speakers with a 3801, I hooked mains up to this and noticed a definite improvement right away- no doubt about it. Reducing the load on the 3801 made all the other chanels improve as well. I might go insane and add two or three more of these and just use 3801 as a pre-amp(as another reviewer is doing)This is an awesome peice of gear! I have found Denon to match great with Klipsch speakers, by the way.

Similar Products Used: B&K
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
CGR   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 25, 2002]
Strength:

I was driving seven speakers with 3801, removing mains caused 3801 to run cooler and sound even better. This unit barley gets warm- I thought it would run much warmer- a nice suprise. Great Build quality, 3 year wrnty. etc...

Weakness:

Constant temptation to play music at INSANE volume levels. My Pioneer CD/DVD player has amber lights also, but I''ll vote for pretty blue or green power on light to express my solodarity with my brother POA-5200 owners.

Using with 3801. Noticed improvement right away (and the 3801 isn''t bad)when I hooked my main speakers up to this bad boy. Tighter Bass, more dynamic,better detail- no question about it. Break in time was not a factor- it sounded great right out of the box, but did not improve much over time ( at least not yet, with over 250 hours to date )

Similar Products Used: NA
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kirk Daugherty   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 13, 2001]
Strength:

Great sound stage, very little heat generation.

Weakness:

Can't think of one.

I purchased this amp. to run my main channel speakers with the Denon AVR-4800. I got a great deal as a open box sale at the Good Guys for $420. I'am impressed with the quality of the 5200 and the price is definitely right.

Denon POA-5200 runs the Front Left & Front Right speakers (Energy Connoisseur Series C-6)
Denon AVR-4800 runs the Center speaker (Energy AC-300), Surround Left & Right (Energy Connoisseur Series C-2) and Surround back Left and Right (Energy RVSS Surrounds).

Great power and detail with music and movie soundtracks.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 31, 2001]
Strength:

Very Dynamic, Powerful, Clean Sound

Weakness:

I agree with Carl, green or blue LED would have been nicer(Amber=Caution? Would be OK if you had Yamaha Products I guess)

I am using 2 of these with:
Denon AVR-3801
Polk Monitor 10B (2, Fronts)
Polk CS 1000p (1, Center)
Polk f/x 1000 (2, Rear)
Hope to buy a third for the rear channels.
Noticed a big difference when I hooked up the external amps. My brother said he noticed a difference as soon as I popped in a DVD. Well worth the price if you can find them on sale.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Carl   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 07, 2001]
Strength:

can't blame the amp for anything

Weakness:

the power light should not be amber. I've never liked that color. I think a light green would be nicer. It's a stupid thing to complain about but I'm tired of ill colored LEDs.

got this as an open box buy to run my infinity il50s. I was using a yamaha reciever before. I immediately noticed a difference. Much more detail and alot more control on the bass. Then I got a parasound 1500a for 300.00 so I returned the Denon. It might just be my imagination but I think the Denon sounds a little better. I guess I'll find out if there's anything to this break in stuff with the parasound. I don't know how these compare to most other amps but I liked it alot.

Similar Products Used: parasound
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
aaron   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 07, 2001]
Strength:

Perfect match

Weakness:

No significant faults

I use it to drive my ML Aerius spkrs in a home theater with a Denon 4800. Perfect match with the 4800 and a nice upgrade from the receiver alone when driving all sprkrs. Good upgrade if you use Denon receiver and less than easy to drive spkrs.

Similar Products Used: B&K
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris Zephro   Audiophile [May 02, 2001]
Strength:

Clean power, which provides and wonderful sound for both theater and music. Perfect match for the Denon 4800. THX Ultra Certified

Weakness:

None

I purchased this amp to run my front speakers, while using my Denon 4800 to run the center, surrounds and back speakers in a 7.1 configuation, as well as to power my front speakers for the Direct Mode while listening to music. Well, the POA 5200 does an excellent job at both. The sound that comes from this amp tight and very detailed. Highs, mids and lows fequencies sound fantastic in music and in theater modes, which is very to me because I like to run my 950 full range. It matches perfectly to the Denon POA 5200 and setup is easy. It is also worth mentioning that it generates very little heat.

At first it seemed a little expensive, but if you compare what most amps cost with THX Ultra certification and listen to its preformance, it becomes a bargin real quick. Great buy, I'm very happy with it!

Similar Products Used: Denon 4800
Boston Acoustics VR 950's
Boston Acoustics VR 10
Boston Acoustics VRS Pro Surrounds
Boston Acoustics CR 7's
Boston Acoustics PV 800
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Marcus G.   Audio Enthusiast [May 04, 2001]
Strength:

Dynamic reproduction. Very low distortion. Beautifull piece of equipment. Well built. Just plain awesome.

Weakness:

None

I use this piece to power my home theatre system for the LF and RF. I am also using the DENON AVR-2801 as the preamp. The sound is very clean and seems to flourish even more now that the POA-5200 has been installed.
Music sounds real (like sitting in front of an grand orchestra) with even the most miniscule sounds being heard, not muffled. DYNAMIC sound best describes the POA-5200
with no backing down what-so-ever. Rather you listen to
Bach, LL Cool J, Shania Twain or Jerry Seinfeld LIVE, the output
of this amplifier is beautiful to behold. I would recommend
this amp to anyone. It may sound a little pricey but once
you hear it's versatility you will once again better understand the saying that "YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR".

Similar Products Used: NAD
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark Lamb   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 01, 2000]
Strength:

Super Powerful with EXTREME Detail!

I purchased this amp to run my main channel speakers with the Denon AVR-4800 using the THX Surround EX setup. There is plenty of power for explosive home theater action and the ability to reproduce clean dynamic music is simply unbelievable. Here is my setup for reference as to what works well with this Amp.

Equipment includes:

TV:Pioneer ELITE PRO-610 HD

Receiver: Denon AVR-4800 (for center channel, surround right/left, and surround back right/left)

Power Amp: Denon POA-5200 (for main right/left channels)

Speakers: Klipsch Reference (RC-3 center, RF-3 mains, and (4) RS-3's for surround left/right and surround back left/right)

Subwoofer: Velodyne CT-120

DVD: Toshiba SD-5109

LD/DVD: Pioneer DVL-919 (Kenwood RF-Demodulator)

CD: Denon DCM-370

Remote: Control: Philips Pronto TS-1000

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com