Carver Audio A-705x Amplifiers

Carver Audio A-705x Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

125 watts - 5 Channel THX

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 45  
[Jul 19, 2019]
my3sons90


Strength:

I have owned this amazing amplifier since 2004, recently upgraded my HT preamp to a newer Marantz AV 7005. Thought my system was good before but now with the new preamp the Carver really shows it's stuff. Movies and music are detailed and dynamic. Can run for hours at movie or concert volumes and the Carver is barely warm. They are still available on Ebay from time to time.

Weakness:

None that I have found

Price Paid:
450
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1997
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Dec 10, 2012]
Don
Audio Enthusiast

Bought this amp from Ebay for $450 had one channel out when I got it in 2003. the seller agreed to pay for repair in 3 weeks I had the amp back. Since then It has performed flawlessly, it is now 2012 and I am still enjoying it. using a Rotel RTC965 pre-processor, Infinity Interlude IL50 (main) IL10 (rear) and IL 25C (center). whether playing Music or movies the power, clarity and presence of this amp is amazing. I would still recomend this amp for anyone looking to step up their HT. paired with a used Pre-Processor for under $1000 get the performance of a $3000 reciever. Can't beat a dedicated amp for truly amazing sound and Carver still offers the best Bang for the buck out there. the AV 505( 80w per channel) will still destroy any 80w AV reciever out there.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 01, 2004]
djxtasy
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sound Quality, Sound Quality, Sound Quality!!! Build Deep Heat Sink Power Steering at 200 watts per channel x 2. Delayed Start Up, thus preventing the "well known" Thump sound. Maximum Overload Indicators THX Certification

Weakness:

Out Of Business Binding Post

Let me start by saying that I am so lucky to have this amp in my possession. I bought this amp in ebay in MINT condition, with all original accessories. I've been hearing all the raving reviews about this amp from this site and others, and believe you me THEY ARE ALL TRUE! I have already passed the "break in" period for this amp, and the sound is truly AMAZING!!! What's most impressive is that the unit runs cool (even at extended hours). This is due to the deep heat sinks. Rated at a conservative 125 watts per channel x 5, and 200 watts per channel x 2, this is a powerful unit. Get one if you can, that's all I have to say.

Similar Products Used:

Parasound HCA 1205A

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 20, 2003]
Mark Anderson
AudioPhile

Strength:

Price, construction and power handling. Separate limiters for each channel.

Weakness:

Slightly harsh at upper end (just slightly), out of business. Somewhat flimsy binding posts. Not up to quality of the rest of the unit. Remember I'm being extremely critical.

I used this amp for my rear (Infinity RS-3b), Side (Infinity RS-1a) and Center (Infinity-Delta Center) speakers. It was a real workhorse and I had no complaints .........precise highs, good fill mids and good bass. I recently upgraded to the Parasound HCA-2205a and have noticed a marked improvement. Remember all these Infinity speakers ask for quite a load at 4 ohms and drop below 2 on ocasion. My highs are now poignant without being sharp (the Carver in retrospect was a bit tinny) and the bass response is way better. Beter extension and overall girth. The upgrade was well worth it but for the money paid I do not believe you can do better than the Carver for home theatre setup. System for reference (2) Threshold S-550e Amps Parasound HCA 2205a Bryston 10B Crossover Threshold T-2 PreAmp (for Analog) Lexicon DC-2 (for Digital) Wadia 830 CD Pioneer 47a DVD Tanberg 3001a FM Tuner Infinity RS-1b Towers, RS-3b Towers, RS-1a, Delta Center Speakers

Similar Products Used:

Krell, Parasound, Yamaha

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 03, 2000]
Rory
Audiophile

Strength:

Great Build, Great Looks, Awesome Performance.

Weakness:

NONE! That I have found.

I use two of these in my home theater. I have four front speakers a center, bi-polar surrounds & a Sub, all Paradigm. I am using a Meridian processor, 565 7.1 / 562V & 518. All I can say is awesome and my neighbor thinks so to!

Similar Products Used:

Sony Receivers, Carver HR-895,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 22, 2000]
Dimitri
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very powerful.

Weakness:

finnicky binding posts

I love this amp. There is something very satisfying about the appearsnce and home theater just fill thae room.

Q: Does anybody know if this unit can be hooked up to 6ohm or 4ohm speakers. My spec sheet only indicates 8ohm rating.
Thanks.

Similar Products Used:

NAD

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 09, 2000]
Jim Oxenreider
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great for home theater, good value

Weakness:

None

I have had this amp in my home theater for about a year and half. It was purchased new from Circuit city for $499.95. At that price, I consider it a true bargain. It has more more power than I have needed to enjoy movies at very satifying levels. I was using this as my music only amplifier as well until recently, and it does very well in that regard as well. Just slightly rolled off on top in my experience with my equipment, but not to any degree that was objectionable. If you are looking for a solidly built, great performing amp for a decent price, this is one to consider.

H.T. system:
Marantz AV-600 preamp processor
Marantz DP-870 DD processor
Carver AV-705x

Similar Products Used:

Harman Kardon 5800 amp, HK-AVR25 mkII receiver

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 17, 2000]
RayR
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Build quality, price, power, and sound.

Weakness:

Carver is no loner in business so parts and repair would be a problem.

This amp is one of the best 5 channel amp bargains on the market today, if you can find one. They're selling for $500-$600 and it sounds as good if not better than any other 5 channel amp I auditioned (and there were a lot of them). I haven't ever heard any audible hum from the amp.

This amp also runs super cool; it is actually a lot cooler than the Pioneer processor that I use to run it. The 705x is also super quiet. There is absolutely no hum in the power supply or the output; it sounds super clean even when run a high power.

I have no problem recommending this amp for music or home theatre use. It has performed flawlessley in both uses. The sound is warm and true.

The only problem with the amp is that Carver is no longer in business, so I hope it never needs service.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 16, 1999]
Roman
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

powerful, clean sound. no feedback/noise.

Weakness:

would be easier if had binding posts for bi-wiring

I have been enjoying it for about 4 months now. I've matched it with Denon AVP-8000 A very big difference from a denon avr2700 I was using before. Clear sound, no feedback, very cool operation. Nothing but clear enjoyment.

Similar Products Used:

had a Denon AVR2700 before. Carver is a definite improvment over it

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 16, 2000]
Chris Wenger
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clean sound, runs cool, removable handles allows this powerful amp to fit in a 17 inch cabinet

Weakness:

You may have to search to find one used.

I really thought my Kenwood was strong, and then I hooked up this humble little monster. Spouse usually rolls her eyes when a new (or used) piece of equipment comes out of the UPS truck, but she couldn't wipe the smile off her face when we cranked up a few of her CD's on this amplifier. Binding posts reportedly might have problems with spades, but bananas seat down nice and firm. This neutral amp will reveal limitations in old recordings, but well recorded tracks really sound great. Each channel has an adjustable output for balancing a system if your preamp/receiver needs help in this area. Amp mutes output to speakers first few seconds on/off so start-up "thump" is a thing of the past. My listening room is 24 X 14 with a cathedral ceiling and all sorts of rugs, sofas, and curtains, but this Carver fills it completely without any sign of strain. I can't imagine needing a stronger amp in my current setup. Highly recommended

Similar Products Used:

Kenwood KRX-1000

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 45  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com