AudioSource Amp Two Amplifiers

AudioSource Amp Two Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

80 watts per channel (8 ohms) 200 watts monobridged AB speaker switching Auto-On signal sensing circuit Dual analog VU meters Left and right channel level controls Toroidal power supply

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 53  
[Jan 06, 2012]
Norm Cole
Audio Enthusiast

I never appreciated the sound quality fro this amp until I replaced it with powered speakers. I bought it 3+ years ago off ebay for $250 + shipping. I've been using it since to power my JBL 4408 studio monitors. Sounded great, and have received countless compliments about the sound in my little studio. In todays world it's more typical to use powered monitors in this application. So I recently bought so KRK 8" powered monitors and took amp two and JBLs out of service. The KRKs also sound great but no better. I only stumbled on this site by researching to get some data for listing my amp two in ebay. Glad I found it. Good info. I only guessed year 2000, I purchased used and haven't a clue of actual age, maybe newer.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 09, 2005]
ratbbb2
AudioPhile

Strength:

Nutral sound with decent spacing , Nice bottom and clear detailed highs. Looks. Price

Weakness:

Mids aren't as lush as I like until you ad tubes into the mix then stand back. Meters aren't dependible (I don't have any problems with mine)as they should be.

Haven been a audio salesman in the late eighties/early ninties I came across a few things that were well worth there cost. This my freinds is one of them. At a discount price of 299 to 329 it bettered many amps from the likes of Kenwood ,JVC Sony and even one of the leaders in Mid Fi Onkyo. While most if not all of the above mentioned makers make a better amp than this, none is near this price. I Have upgraded though the years and now have all tube gear costing much more but retain my trusted Audiosourse amp 2 for use in my computer room. The capabilities of this amp are endless. To get the most I would look into a vintage (or DYI) tube pre amp or tube buffer between the source and power amp. I am currantly running it direct from my soundcard out to a pair of JBL Control 5 (PRO VIII) speakers with decent results. I would rather you try some better speakers as these are not as dynamic as , say a B+W or Quad . Yes it's that Good . Try it with tubes and decent speakers and invite some audio nut freind over to listen, I'm sure they'll be surprised. The only down side is the meters were not as dependible as the rest of the components inside. If your looking into wireing your home for sound, you can use them in a daisy chain configuration as they have line out and thus can be wired in paralell allowing you to set the appropiate volume to each room. If your looking to sell yours feel free to contact me. I would love to get a couple more for that use. Roger

Similar Products Used:

Too many to mention but the one that Made it clear for me was the Onkyo M501 and the Dynaco Stereo 70 although they're both very differant peices I think the adiosource covered more for less

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 06, 2005]
sokato
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

price, size, sound

Weakness:

Not the most powerfull. If you want something to bring the walls down, go elsewhere.

Well worth the money. I've had this amp for over a year and it has performed flawlessly. I have it in the living room in a simple 2-channel audio setup (no TV in the room). Clean, pure music. Sure you can spend more, but you'd have to spend close to a $1000 to get a better amp.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 26, 2004]
janekfr
AudioPhile

Strength:

top shelf sound reproduction

Weakness:

bright meters, no gold contacts

This is a wonderful amp for the money: an oustanding value, period. With good speakers and a music source (I use AH! Njoe Tjoeb 4000 CD player and Polk Audio RT600i speakers), this amp will perform very well, though, of course, it can be bettered, for more money (but only if it is carefully - and lavishly - spent). Staging is good, distortion negligible, transparency very good. In value, this is surely a 5 star product. In quality, the amp represents the point where audiophile reproduction of music may be said to take off. My tube CD player sounds warm, with instruments well resolved and delicate, rewarding detail showing up where it would get lost in a lesser system; there is depth and enjoyable complexity to the sound. This amp also functions somewhat as a preamp with its separate volume controls and a CD IN; if all you need to connect to your system is a CD player, then you don't need a separate preamp (but there is no remote and you have to adjust each channel's volume separately (the knobs work nice and smooth) - you may choose to adjust volume with your CD's remote in such a case). I do not agree with the previous reviewer that a CD will sound bad if directly plugged into this amp (unless there is some incompatibility between the two components) - my set up works very well, and distinctly better, cleaner that if I plug in my substandard preamp Audiosource PreAmp ONE/A (read my warning below). As stated by AudioSource, CD IN and LINE IN cannot be used simultaneously (meaning you cannot plug in two things at the same time, not just play two things at the same time) - if you try, the sound will be terrible. I do not know why there is a separate CD input, and the manual does not explain what are its advantages or its special purpose, though I might guess that some CD players may perform better if connected to this dedicated input rather than the standard LINE IN (the manual states that LINE IN is to be used with inputs from a preamp, CD, tuner, etc.). Warning: do NOT use this amp with AudioSource PreAmp ONE/A, which is a low audio quality component that only appears to go together with this amp, and may fool one into believing that it represents a similar standard and a match. This slim component looks quite elegant. I have no idea whether the meters display correct information, but they are surely too bright in the dark, which is the only minus in the appearance category. The inputs and outputs are, unfortunately, not gold plated. Even for these two reasons I will NOT take a star off the overall rating for this amp, because this unit is so unexpectedly good. Don't shy away from it if you are looking for a solid quality component while watching your budget - with this amp you'll be able to afford a better CD player and/or speakers, which is the way I went, since no matter how much you spend on an amp (or a preamp), they will not compensate for the lousy reproduction of music either at its source or, even more importantly, at the point where it actually becomes physical sound waves for our ears to enjoy.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 17, 2003]
chych
AudioPhile

Strength:

VU meters are cool; the AMP two will output to two speakers and headphones simultaneously (I think at least); balance controls; straight forward installation

Weakness:

Too dependent on the preamplifier, cannot produce good sound by itself, but only with a good preamp.

The Amp Two is a pretty decent amplifier, that is if you have a decent preamp. The Amp Two has line level inputs, so you can plug your source directly into it. However, if you do this, be prepared for *extremely* horrible sound (perhaps the voltages or impedances do not match? I do not know). However if you have a good preamplifier (particularly some vacuum tube stage in your equipment chain – I use a MG Head DT vacuum tube headphone amplifier), then the sound out of the Amp two sounds pretty much what your preamp sounds like, which in my case is quite good (SIGNIFICANTLY better than skipping the preamp, it really is like night and day). So, I'd say the Amp two just amplifies what goes into it and does not really create much to the sound. Perhaps it really depends on how you match your system, but I believe that the preamp is vital. Oh and be sure to turn the stupid auto off thing off, if your preamp's voltages do not match properly with the Audiosource's input voltages, then it will turn off by itself too much.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 08, 2003]
audiorange
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Outstanding value, gain controls, power meters, daisychainable

Weakness:

None, but a dual-gang gain control in place of the two separate knobs would be handy.

I was reassured by how heavy this unit is when I got it out of the box. The fit and finish is perfect for this price bracket. The clicking and switching that happens when you turn it on is satisfying, in a strange way. This amp has satisfying meat to it. I was having a good time pushing it, and it did not break a sweat. I suppose you might hear some congested mids and highs if you A/B'd it against a megabuck amplifier through some B&W 801's, but I am quite satisfied.

Similar Products Used:

Carver 1.Ot power amp, an ancient Technics receiver, Monster Cable XP and Original, Polk Audio RTA 15t, Cambridge Soundworks New Ensemble II

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 03, 2003]
JJJeffries
AudioPhile

Strength:

Everything!

Weakness:

Nothing!

Five Stars AudioSource. Being in music and a broadcaster for over 30 years I have heard the best of the best and for what I paid at Sound City, Amp Two is a jewel. I am listening right now to the Mother Wurlitzer on my Klipsch Heresy 2 monitors and the sound is correct and to my way of thinking right on! When I add my Velodyne ULD15-2 the bottom will be there and I will have the best for well under what my former phile system cost me. The bells, the cymbals, the 8' stops are natural and that is what audio is all about. Oh! Someone said the meters are like headlights. Get Real! They are just right! And to think I was considering Monarchy and Krell! Save your money and enjoy the Amp 2! I am using my Creek OBH-10 for a pre and Nak OMS-7AII CD player and the Amp 2 and the Heresy 2's and I am in sound heaven. I can't wait to put my favorite style of music on JAZZ!

Similar Products Used:

McIntosh...Marantz...Proton(upgrade)...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 23, 2003]
Al
AudioPhile

wanna see a nice review of this amp???? go here: http://www.vxm.com/tone.audiosource.html

Similar Products Used:

Read plase the review!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 20, 2003]
Tristan
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Auto stanby. Price. Can be used with or w/out preamp. A+B speakers. Size. Nice dual VU meter. Button to prevent the speakers from exploding.

Weakness:

Not too loud. one input. No remote control.(?). Bad manual (all audiosource manuals which i own a couple of)

Review for Amp Two. I hate to disagree with lots of the reviewers, but this amp sounds like a $220-amp. I cannot hear anything spectacular from it so far. After the burn-in, still nothing. Don't get me wrong, this is a nice amp and fairly inexpensive for something more or less minimalist. I am waiting for my new preamp (tube preamp) to see any improvement from it. Nonetheless, amp two sounds nice, however, not as clear, crisp or warm as I would expected. ....I would recommend it to anyone.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Oct 24, 2002]
jsujo1
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Slim, strong sound throughout the freq.range and quite clean. bridgeable.

Weakness:

non that I can think of at that price

Slim for easy placement. No need really for a preamp. Sturdy. Some reviews below are quite pointless and clueless,,, read between the lines: ""The Amp 2 just kind of plays the music back for you,but it does not sound exciting. "" Now, it just me, or isnt that was a great amp is supposed to do. Some people attribute too many sonic properties to their amps. I wonder if he wanted it to make coffee also. I bet you in blind tests, this amp stands a lot closer to the amps mentioned in his review. Guys: stop being audiohillacly ( imad ethat word up) blind by biases. my other equipment is a Parasound CDP-2000 Ultra, Mission 774 speakers, MIT T2 speak cables (biwire), and a Musical Design PB-2 tubed preamp.

Similar Products Used:

ADCOM, AMC, Musical Design

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 53  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com