Adcom GFA-565 Amplifiers

GFA-565

Mono-block amplifiers

User Reviews (19)

Showing 1-10 of 19  
Glen Carter   AudioPhile [Aug 19, 2013]

I have owned a pair of these monsters since 1990. I run them with an Adcom GFP 555II and 4 Klipsch La Scalas, I have set 1 Klipsch on fire, (wasn't used to their extreme power), rocked out dance halls and blasted my basements for many years.
Make no mistake these amps are "Monsters", very powerful, but yet sound so good. My sound is a bit more industrial, but thats how I like it especially when pumping out classic hair metal bands.
I bought mine in Europe, paid approx. 1300.oo dollars for the pair and now in 2013 I have noticed the DC Offset problem,(Check for speaker movement when you turn amps on or measure voltage at O/P terminals with a voltmeter DC volts. But hey its 23 years later so I am going to send them away for overhaul and upgrades. replace Capacitors Etc.It will cost 1000.00 dollars for the pair but I still think the investment is totally worth it as opposed to replacement. Hey if I get another 20 years out of them, I would die happy!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
unc2701   AudioPhile [May 14, 2004]
Strength:

Looks like the monolith from 2001 Stable at ONE OHM!!! cheap and musical

Weakness:

Weighs roughly 2 metric tons eats up rack space

My neighbors hate them. My cat fears them. My girlfriend doesn't understand them. My roommates love them. For pure go-screw-yourself power, they can't be beat and yet they manage to pull it off without compromising quality, musicality or transparency. You can always buy a better sounding amp, but that little extra is going to cost you more and more. The adcom 565's just about maximize the return-to-cost ratio. By the way that's $400 each or $800 a pair. Recently they've been running about $1000 a pair on Ebay.

Similar Products Used: Bryston b&K dennon
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ajedwardsjr   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 18, 2003]
Strength:

Awesome power. These things have the ability to really play. They seem to be in absolute total control. Bass is very clean and sharp. They have the ability to quickly punch out a very powerful sound. I'm not enough of an engineer to really describe this, but I think this is what is called transient response. They are super fast, and clean.

Weakness:

One definite weakness, and I really hate to say this about a product that I like, but these things are really butt ugly. I really like Adcom stuff, at least sonically, but they are just beastly looking black boxes. One reviewer called them black beauties. Yeah, well they are black. Another possible perceived weakness might be the lack of balanced inputs. If you really feel that you need this feature, however, the Adcoms can be retrofitted. They will have to go back to Adcom in New Jersey, but if you really want balanced inputs, you can have them. Neither of these factors entered in my buying decisions, nor do I include these factors in my rating.

I'm afraid that I can't do one of those reviews where I compare these amplifiers to ones costing two and three times as much, just because I haven't heard those, yet. But, I certainly can favorably comment on these amplifiers. These were a huge improvement over the amplifer they replaced, a Yamaha B-2X. That's a pretty old amplifier, and some of you may not be familiar with, but it put out 175 watts of Class A power. The output on the Adcoms is 300 watts, and they switch over to class AB somewhere around the middle of that. Don't know where. But although the power is there and it is important, the story is not the power, but the sound. So sweet. The biggest improvements are in things like clarity, transparency, and detail. There is a old window pane theory. Each component in a system is like a window pane. If you stack a bunch of dirty panes together, it becomes very difficulty to see through them. If you have a bunch of clean panes, it is very easy to see through a stack of them. The Adcom is a very clean window pane. It allows detail to come throught superbly. There are nuances of sound that I have just not heard before. For example, about two minutes into Gustav Holst's "Uranus", from The Planets, I was briefly mystified by a slight noise I heard during a relatively quick passage. It was a number of musicians in the orchestra turning pages! Never heard that before. And I have listened to this work countless times, on LP, on CD, and on SACD. Well, that's not even a great example; that's just noise. As I was listening to Erik Brann's guitar work on The Iron Butterfly's "In-a-gadda-da-vida", the realization leaped out that he was using a plastic pick. I mean, you could hear that. Listening to Diana Krall's voice on "The Look of Love", I could hear the little blonde hairs on her upper lip. I think. There is just an incredible amount of detail to be heard. The Adcoms don't mask any of it; they let it all through. If you can find a pair of these on the used market, you should grab them at once. My system: Sony SCD-1 SACD Player Pro-Ject Perspective Turntable Sumiko Blue Point Special Phono Cartridge Adcom GFP 565 Pre Amplifier B&W Nautilus 804 Speakers Adcom ACE 515 Line Enhancer Monster Cable M1000i interconnects

Similar Products Used: Yamaha A1020 Integrated Amplifier Yamaha B-2X Power Amplifier Adcom GFA 535 Power Amplifier
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
gmood1   AudioPhile [Oct 17, 2003]
Strength:

Highs are smooth and life like Bass is as tight as it's going to get Midrange is open and airy with the proper preamp.Highs are no fatiguing and clean.

Weakness:

Because of the high current the 585 is an open door to ac noise in the house.So a power conditioner is a must to really hear how well these amps are designed.

This is a review of the 585 limtied edition.Basically the equal to a pair of 565 monoblocks.My first experience with some Adcom 5000 series weren't that great.They were grainy and sounded harsh.But the 500 series Adcoms have changed the way I look at these amps.These are true jems when mated to the right pair of speakers.Because of the high current I do not recommend using these with sensitive speakers.They do better with medium to low impedance speakers. I'am using it with a pair of Maggies and a Dared SL-2000a tube preamp. This amp runs at idle with these speakers.It never gets any warmer whether I'am playing music or not.My first impressions are smooth ,detailed and grain free.The 585 has so much control and freq bandwith it lets every nuances come thru. For example while listening to Eric Claptons unplugged cd.I can hear the depth of the hall and the echoes off the walls as people shout and scream.I 've had more expensive amps that were all great in one way or another.The 585LE is no exception.The price these amps go for on the used market are a steal.I can't think of any amp under $2000.00 used that has the control and current of one of these. But because of the Adcom name some audiophiles over look these amplifiers.Not knowing just how high quality they really are.I've figured to replace this amps performance with another amp it would cost me multi thousands of dollars.And I'am not about to pay that for a name! Bass is tight and well balanced.Thanks to the tube preamp on the front .I can get the air on the cymbals and the bloom of the midrange without giving up control in other areas!If you see one snatch it up..I guarantee you want find a better high current amplifier for the money!

Similar Products Used: Adcom 5500,5503,Mcintosh 7106,Music Reference RM9 mk2,Monarchy,Dynaco,Berning
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
s_gil   AudioPhile [Apr 18, 2003]
Strength:

Tremendous current capacity and power reserve. Even near its limit, sounds like there's lots left.

Weakness:

Very large.

I've been using a single 565 as my subwoofer amplifier now for almost a year. I'm running an Alón sw1 passive subwoofer--plays as deep as Bag End, as fast as REL. With those qualities stemming from its twin isobaric-mount 12" bass drivers, it's a bear to drive; it shows the amp a 2 ohm load, and requires massive amounts of power to reach its true potential. I'd been using my old RBH SAM-200 as my sub amplifier. It puts out almost 300 watts to 2 ohms, and is suitable for all but the most demanding high-volume, bass-intensive passages. Very hard to clip it listening to movies at normal, wake-up-the-neighbors volume levels. But I wanted heart-attack levels, so I went looking for a monoblock that could be a cool customer driving a 2-ohm speaker to high levels. I looked at products from Aragon, Krell, etc. and found that you have to spend yourself into the poor house to get 700 watts at 2 ohms. That's when I found this single Adcom for sale on ebay. $225 later, I was in bass heaven. If you've been contemplating a passive sub, I can tell you this: amp upgradability is one of the most pleasing aspects of passive subs. I've used three different amps with this subwoofer, and have noticed a quantum leap in performance with each upgrade--and haven't had to replace the sub. If you get the best passive subwoofer you can find, then you can upgrade your amplification as you can afford it and not have to worry about replacing the speaker. I'm now driving my sub to its full capacity with clean, clear power. When you've got a more capable speaker than 99% of all the subs out there, and upgrade to a more capable amp than 99% of all the subs out there have, well... I'd say I won't be upgrading this amp. I'm happy. If it breaks, I'll go on the prowl for another Adcom 565. For the price of a single in the used market, I simply cannot find anything better. By the way, I paid $480 for the speaker, so the combined price of this subwoofer combination is a hair over $700, plus the price of having no independent gain, phase and crossover adjustment. I find that the sub out on my theater processor works just fine as a preamp, with plenty of volume control from the remote.

Similar Products Used: RBH SAM-200
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Steve Mask   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 26, 2003]
Strength:

Excellent amp for the money, clean 300 watts plus of power into 8 ohms.

Weakness:

SIZE, even after twelve years, my wife still wants to know why they have to be so grand placed in the living room, of course the Mirage's don't help either!

Have been using these amps for twelve years plus driving a pair of Mirage M3-Si's, through Adcom GFP-565 preamp and Audio Quest Sapphire interconnects and clear Hyperlitz speaker cable. Had a failure of the woofer in one cabinet the other day and the amp just continued to burn the winding out of the speaker,till it caught fire. Amp got very warm and had noticed some popping and hissing through speakers,prior to his episode. Returned the amps to Affiliated in Jersey for service.

Similar Products Used: Phase Linear 400 Phase Linear 700
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
MoeJr   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 02, 2002]

Just as an ammendment to the review below of the GFA-585 that amp is rated at 250 WPC and not 300.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jack Taylor   Audiophile [Mar 20, 2000]
Strength:

Simple Design, Clean Sound, Physical Beauty

Weakness:

None

The styling and sound of these monsterous amps make them a must have for any super audio system. These mono blocks will run for days at at a hard pace and barely get warm to the touch. I use two of these mono blocks to power the Dhalquist DQ12's in my Audio / Home Theatre system and the front channel stage prescense is so amazingly real sounding. All my friends and family always state that this is the best system they have ever heard. I always hear comments about how horns sound so real, or they hear so much more music than they ever hear on there systems. I'm very proud of the system I have put together, and the Adcom Mono block amps are a big part of the system. I can turn the volume up to a point that is loud but not distracting and listen for hours without becoming fatigued. The adcom mono blocks match up real well with my Phase linear 400 to make a superb full bodied sound that I just love to listen to. If you can find these for the price I did, $450.00 each, you can't go wrong.

Similar Products Used: Phase Linear 400
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrews   [Mar 30, 2001]
Strength:

Everything..power, detail, dinamic what else you need ?

Weakness:

they cost not enough money to be considered hi end !

Well what i can say, after many years i found with these amps the right balance from bass extention and high definition. Muscles with respect for musical scene. I owned many power amps before these but never the terrific dinamic of 565. Maybe if they would cost $10,000 many should think to them as hi end amps. And i don't talk about Adcom customers service, i ordered rack mounts for them and i got they after 3 days. Great.

Similar Products Used: Nikko, Hafler, Sae, Brystol, Audiolab, Mission, Nad, Rotel..
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike M   Audiophile [Jun 15, 2001]
Strength:

Dual posts, power, simple warnings

Weakness:

positioning of posts between fins

Upon receiving these amps I was reserved about dropping from two 1,000 watt amps to two 300 watt amps. Fears quickly disipated when I started listening. These amps have a lot of reserve power on tap. That and they have clean delivery. The amps are silent and add no noticable signature to music. It's like they aren't even in the signal path. They are big, and heavy...but who cares? Are you buying the amp to perform sonicly, or to look good? I think the big prominant black hulks look nice holding down my floor.
Contrary to most folks prior experience with Adcoms who felt them to be harsh or grainy in the upper midrange to high end, these bipolar transistor based amps are as smooth and laid back as any amp could be. (don't forget, Adcom amps with 4 digit model no's are MOSFET, models with 3 digits are bipolar designs) They don't get fatiguing at all. I have run them hard for several tracks and they never get warm enough to worry about either. The bass is deep and controlled, very present. They are so pleasant and powerful I think they are probably the last amps I will ever buy. They are that good.

Similar Products Used: Hafler, Carver, Denon
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 19  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com