Adcom GFA-555 Amplifiers

Adcom GFA-555 Amplifiers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 40  
[Oct 16, 2006]
dbrahms
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

power
attack
quiet running

Weakness:

none

Having changed my Harmon Kardan AVR series receiver for a new Yamaha 5890, I thought I was taking advantage of new technology in modern receivers. I've been happy with the Yamaha until I decided (just for kicks) to revert my music listening to my old Adcom setup (pre H/K). WOW, I'm amazed how good the Adcom GFS 555 is compared to the amplification of my Yamaha (or even the H/K). The Adcom's, regardless of their age, still seem to best the new receivers I have for music. The attack of the music is impressive...as it the queitness of the components. I am running the GFS 555 amp, the 565 Preamp and the GDA 700 DAC. All three pair nicely together. I wouldnt give up my GFA 555 for any receiver in the sub 1000USD range. Now, my receiver are used for movies/TV only.

Using: Signet SL 266 mains

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 11, 2006]
PrestigeHTS
AudioPhile

Strength:

Very powerful! Exceptional clearity, smoothness and, definition. Cannot find a better amp especially for the money. If you cannot find an Adcom GFA-555 get an Adcom GFA-5500. It just sounds like a $10,000 amp.

Weakness:

Speaker Bindings holes are not large enough for 12 AWG speaker wire.

The Adcom Gfa-555 happens to be one of the smoothest and most detailed amps I've heard and that I own 2. They compliment but, yet sound identical to my 2 Denon POA-2400A's. The GFA-555 has a little difference in sound than the newer Adcom amps like the updated model the GFA-5500. The GFA-5500 seems to be a little brighter like, the highs and midranges are kind of screaming at you. Which I have found a way to resovle that matter. I tested a GFA-5500, hooked it up directly to my Denon AVR-3806 and hooked up my Definitive Technology BP-7002's to the amp just using what the average audio listener would use to hook up. Then I changed things as soon as I heard the brightness which, my GFA-555's never had but, I also had it hooked up with the accessories I used with the GFA-555 and that everyone, including audiophiles, multi-channel listeners and, Home Theater finatics should use. I took the Adcom GFA-5500 and disconnected it to start over. This is how I test all components I might keep and want to enhance my system. I took my Denon AVR-3806 with the AL24 Processors in it which has been rated as one of the best processors used as a processor and not a receiver and I would have to agree because I have used it both ways. Believe me a good amp will make a big difference compared to the amps in your receiver for better and stronger sound and definition. Anyway I took the Denon AVR-3806 was then hooked up to my Panamax 5500 Line Conditioner(very important to have for clean non-interference sound and picture) and Audioquest Interconnects which is also a must in having non interference free sound and picture also. I then wired up the speakers from the GFA 5500 with 12 AWG speaker wire. It also helped having my Denon DVD-2930CI multi format single disc player, also equiped with the AL24 Processor like the Denon AVR-3806. After I completely hooked up the Adcom GFA-5500 that way like my Adcom GFA-555's are the 5500 sounded a lot smoother and much more toned down with much more clearity. It was still just a shade and I mean a shade different in complete clearity and warmth than the GFA-555's sound. The GFA-5500 is still a great amp and you wouldn't notice the difference like I would since I'm used to listening to the 555. In this case the older amps are a little better and do have a little better sound than the new amps. The Adcom like all of the Adcoms but, the GFA555 can run down to very low impedences. They are almost identical to my 2 Denon POA-2400A's they have the same sound, clearity, and, smoothness as the Adcom GFA-555. If you can get your hands on one grab it. I gaurantee you will be very pleased.

Customer Service

Go to Adcom's website and check out prices and they do take trade ins to knock off money for an Adcom product. They are all good components.

Similar Products Used:

Adcom GFA5500
Denon POA-2400A
Denon AVR-3806
Denon DVD-2930CI
B&K ST 1400

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 24, 2004]
ernie hanschman
AudioPhile

Strength:

great entry level to high end equipment,great power and clarity for the price,good looking well built equipment.

Weakness:

until i find what happend the weaknesses in these amps are very few to speak of as they always were great until that faithful moment.i would not personally buy adcom again due to the sudden large loss of some fine speakers.

adcom gfa-565 mono blocks were the main power of my system.they were used with a pair of klipschorns gfp 565 pre amp and adcom cd player and all m.i.t. high end wireing. the performance of these amps has always been incredible.tons of power to spare.last year the system started to get a buzz when it was turned on but played normaly.the buss got louder with time and one day the system at moderate level of output stoped producing sound.the instantainious distortion alert lights both lite bright for the first time ever.the rear speakers,a pair of klipsch forta,a rather expensive set of hardware showed a glowing in the woofers which quickly turned to flame.the mid and high components were uneffected by this.the bass section in the klipschorns blew the fuse in both speakers.highs uneffected as well. these amps disconnected from all and any components or speakers will set the lites glowing and fried a test speaker while trying to diagnose failure.these amps played flawless until that moment and happend to both at the same time.preamp tested ok with another amp.all wireing also tested ok. as for the quality and sound of these amps they are great. this misshap will be a discussion topic on other forum to see if this is an isolated case or what may have happened.

Similar Products Used:

adcom,klipsch,m.i.t,monster cable,and my new choice in electronis,krell.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Oct 10, 2004]
jamison
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

great power, bridgeable. good build quality a true workhorse. I would love to get another one of these and run it bridged on a pair of 15 inch cerwin vegas. (not quality speakers but they will make your ears bleed they get so loud).

Weakness:

small power cord for the size of the capacitors. don't know if this is a weakness but the unit will play for 15-20 seconds after powering it off

I picked this up on a trash pile.the lady that owned it said it did not work and that her son had shorted it out. well, i asked if i could have it and she said yes. well to make a long story short i took the cover off and replaced all the fuses and low and behold it worked and worked amazingly well. this amp has great power and was in near mint conditon when i got it. i took the unit apart before replacing the fuses and cleaned it very well. for all intents and purposes i have a 200 watt per channel amp and all it cost me was 4 bucks worth of fuses.

Similar Products Used:

Onkyo, Pioneer, Klipsch

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 06, 2003]
HyTekCat
AudioPhile

Strength:

A very nice, well-built amp. A real bargain.

Weakness:

Emphasis of mid-bass

As a mid-fi amp, this thing is awesome. I've owned it since 1989-90? I feel this is a fairly neutral sounding amp with sufficient power reserve and an overall nice sound. Bass is not as tight and clean as the higher-end amps and it seems to emphasize mid-bass. Soundstage and dynamics are right on par or better for its pricerange. I've used this amp at full capacity for extened periods of time. I'm giving it an extra star for its no hastle, no repair longevity and value for the money.

Similar Products Used:

Parasound HCA-1000, Sunfire 300

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 27, 2003]
dyanetti
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Price Power Reliability Austere Styling

Weakness:

Its heavy - buy something smaller if you plan to move alot, or if you DJ.

A Very Decent Amp. I would buy another. I've owned this since new in ~1990. The only "problem" that I have ever had was, I sent it in for repair as I thought that the power switch was broken. It wasn't, but the Capacitors in this thing are so big that the music would keep going and the LED stayed on, so I thought it was broken. (The power switch doesn't discharge the caps and the LED is powered after the switch, not b4 - me idiot). It takes about a minute to drain the caps at moderate listening levels. Mine is a Mk-I. I never turn it off. It has never been protected. It has no noticably audible characterisics to my ear. I do run a dedicated AC line to it however, and I don't live out in the boonies. The build quality is good. I've moved it several times, and the anodizing/ powdercoating and paint on the case have stood up to a few bumps and jolts. It looks better than all of the other mid-fi stuff that I've had around. It's bridgeable, which was handy when I was into building car subs. I have the Adcom speaker selector (was on sale) and I have run several speakers in parallel with no problems - probably approaching a 2 ohm load. Oh - it has 2 LEDs on the front that are ordinarily (yellow I think) and which will blink (red I think) when you start to push it. I think that this is a good thing, as I have run small speakers on it before and it helps me keep the volume down when I've had too much to drink...

Similar Products Used:

Used with a GTP500 Compared to lots of other Mid-Fi Amps. Used with Rotel, AMC, Paradigm, Monitor Audio, JBL components and peripherals.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 06, 2003]
edpadden
AudioPhile

Strength:

Tons of bass, limitless power.

Weakness:

Highs forward but not extended. Midrange okay. Very Fatiguing to listen to. Hurts my ears.

This is a good amp for the money. I have seen them as low as $275. If you need power and arrent concerned with quality, this is a good amp.

Similar Products Used:

Adcom GFA-535II Counterpoint SA-100 McCormack 225

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Nov 18, 2002]
Brad smith
AudioPhile

Strength:

Strong even into low ohms.Clip indicators. Bridgeable

Weakness:

Bright and shallow.Just like a girl I use to date.

The World doesn't need another review of the triple nickel but, here it go's. I have owned GFA-1,GFA555,GFA555 MK2,GFA5400.I think they all sound alike and that's the good and bad news.As you have read strong and powerful.Speakers have all been panels.Magnepan,Accoustat and now martin logan.I had to use a conrad johnson tube preamp just to keep from being beaten up.Bright man bright! I think these amps are a wonderful step up from harmon kardon,nad,denon and carver.I now use a Forte by Threshold ( PURE CLASS A).I also use a cary amp. The adcom obviously is not in the same world of sound.I know neither is the price.I don't buy new,I buy used.So a used triple nickel for $300 passed up for a Bryston for example for $600 is worth it in my opinion.

Similar Products Used:

B&K,

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Nov 16, 2002]
Audio Review
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

"Blow Your Hat Off" - POWER! Incredible Value Reliability

Weakness:

Only 1 set of speaker connections and the holes are annoyingly small.

There are enough reviews here that another opinion isn't particularly necessary, however, I wanted to comment on the remarks of a few reviewers regarding warm-up time and turning the unit on and off. My advice is to leave the amp on at all times. I have now had mine for 16 years and the only time it's been off is when I'm out of town or moving. The one time it needed service was when the on/off switch broke, so I repeat - leave it on. I can't fairly comment on the sound, as this is the only separate amplifier I've used but I can vouch for the power. I've run four power-hungry speakers for extended periods with no complaint from the adcom. I think an earlier reviewer had some excellent advice - save some bucks buying the Adcom and spend every penny you can buying the best speakers you can afford.

Similar Products Used:

Denon integrated amp Using the Adcom with several sets of B&W's and Klipshe's - NAD pre-amp and Denon CD

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 16, 2002]
edpadden
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Awesome value

Weakness:

Careful which front end you use with it

I think the amp is very resolving. You have to be careful of which preamp you use. Maybe a tube pre would be best. Great bass, good mids and highes. Running with B&W CDM-9NT''''s. Thinking of buying another for a bi-amped system.

Similar Products Used:

Adcom GFA-535II and Rotel RB-1080

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 40  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com