Adcom GFA-5500 Amplifiers

Adcom GFA-5500 Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

·· 200 Watts continuous average power into 8 ohms at any frequency between 20Hz and 20kHz with both channels driven at less than 0.18% THD.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 71  
[Dec 02, 2020]
gabrielahammond4


Strength:

A slightly warmer sound than the Nelson Pass designed GFA-5xx series yet retains those amps' strong foundation and bass control. Tree Trimming & Pruning

Weakness:

No Complains at all

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Nov 29, 2020]
MusicFreak


Strength:

I bought this amp for $950 from an audiophile friend of mine who owns equipment easily over $100k. HR refuses to quote what's he's actually invested because it upsets his wife. He spends hours teaching me about this amp, about Nelson Pass, and alot of other stuff. I'm glad I bought it. He stressed that I start my audiophile journey by introspectively looking at the type of music I like, examining the frequencies, and then speakers that would cover those, then an amp that would drive those. For me, this amp has power, clarity and holds its own against amps that cost way way more money! In some cases, it sounds BETTER than amps costing way more. Really, the drawback and only negative I experienced was the heat! This baby gets hot hot hot! Don't stack anything on it! And font put it into a rack or other enclosure without a few on it. In fact, I'd say that a fan is needed for best long term performance.

Weakness:

Heat. Power consumption. Not efficient, but it packs a punch. Seems to sound better as you turn it up louder. Thus is NOT for small confined listening spaces/stages.

Price Paid:
950
Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Nov 09, 2020]
Jikester69


Strength:

Smooth and sweet tube-like sound except with more authority in the lower registers. Sounds wonderful with the Magneplanar 20.7 but also sings with the 800 D3. A slightly warmer sound than the Nelson Pass designed GFA-5xx series yet retains those amps' strong foundation and bass control. Being voltage-driven devices (like valves), MOSFETS tend to be more tube-sounding and the 5500 exemplifies this. Bias (like other Adcom amplifiers) is toward class A, so it runs warm but not overly so. They won't heat the room like my old Krell monoblocks. But it's also smoother sounding and less transistor sounding than my Krells. I'd say the sound is smoother yet less veiled, more like a Threshold (which I ran it compared it to in my system). Highly recommended.

Weakness:

Runs warm, nothing else.

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Aug 23, 2020]
TubeDude7


Strength:

Clean detailed tube like sound (and have VTL MB 450s to compare to) can’t fault this amp at all its a classic Nelson Pass design!

Weakness:

Gets nice and warm otherwise perfect SS Amp

Price Paid:
700
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1990
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jun 01, 2020]
panamawest


Strength:

Warm , non fatiguing , very good low end . Very good power supply , difficult to overwork .

Weakness:

Sound stage and upper registry could be more detailed , but never harsh .

Price Paid:
400
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1998
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Mar 12, 2020]
audiodrummer


Strength:

The GFA - 5500 is a 200 watt per channel version of the larger 5802 power amplifier. Both are based on a Nelson Pass 3 stage amplifier design that leverage MosFet (HexFet) outputs. These amplifiers are excellent. I had the prior versions (GFA555 series 2 and the 565 mono blocks, both bipolar). The MosFet amps render a smoother sound with more detail and a better soundstage with less listening fatigue than the bipolar based prior models. The MosFet series amplifiers have excellent low level detail as well as a smooth wide frequency response that is not fatiguing. These amps run class AB1 and run class A for the first watts out of the amp. The result is excellent sound reproduction.

Weakness:

These amps produce a lot of heat because of their bias running partially class A.

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 13, 2018]
dimedrol


Strength:

GFA-5500 is a very analog, smooth sounding amp with great dynamics. It might not be super resolving or studio grade accurate, but it just sounds pleasing especially in the bass area. After a couple of years of using it I am completely in love and I realized, it's the kind of sound I have always been looking for. It turned out to be a very good match with my Dynaudio Contour speakers too. For the money it's an absolute steal. And even for 4x the price it's still a very competitive amplifier, based on my personal experience. As to the maintenance, I only had to replace a few small capacitors, the big ones were like new, even after 20 years of use.

Weakness:

Runs hot, weights a ton, the military grade power switch, no power saving mode, no remote control

Price Paid:
600
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1996
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Nov 06, 2014]
Keith Blacks
AudioPhile

I paid $1000 for this amplifier a number of years ago. It's worth every penny of that $1000 today. I've owned countless amplifiers over the years and this one sounds as good as any of the best. The specs are first rate and the sound is accurate and powerful. Pair this amplifier with nice speakers and an ADCOM preamp I run the legendary ADCOM GFP-555II and the sound is unreal. I have had friends over to listen that cannot believe the sound this pair creates. You tell folks the price these go for on the used market and they are floored! ADCOM gear is truly and Audiophiles best friend.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 08, 2013]
Shaftish
Audio Enthusiast

I bought this amp new back in 1995 I guess, I realy cant remember exactly.
It have been hooked to a pair of Mirage speakers who is tough to make them "sing"
I tried out a number of amps but all of them were to weak not being able to make the umphf I was looking for. When I tried the Adcom amp I knew I was home, this was it, never ran out of power, to my neighburgs complaint, bas steady as a rock.
If any, there could be a touch of more resolution i in the highend, well well.
My preamp, a Edisone one, tube RIAA and a passive line preamp I used for quite a while.
When playing LP´s it sounded exellent! When playing CD´s it needed something else.
When I stoped buying LP´s I bought a Rotel preamp & a Rotel CD.

I still have it & I wont sell it

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 03, 2011]
Bangnovice
Casual Listener

I just got older Adcom GFA 5500 amplifier (and switch for shifting sound to other rooms) and Bang and Olufsen active Penta III speakers. What is best way to hook up iPod or iPad to 5500? If I wanted to add other audio inputs or TV sound, what is best solution?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 71  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com