Adcom GFA-5400 Amplifiers

GFA-5400

125 watts continuous average power into 8 ohms: 20Hz and 20kHz with both channels driven at less than 0.18% THD

User Reviews (34)

Showing 1-10 of 34  
LRedfield   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 29, 2014]

Nice amp, can't complain. This has a version one and version two. The older version one has no speaker protect, the version two has a small board behind the right front panel to add this. Without speaker protection an amp malfunction can take out the speakers as well. This unit uses MOSFET transistors just about everywhere, which is great until spares are needed, as they are harder to find. This also uses a torroid transformer, as do most better amps. This unit seems somewhat inefficient, it does not produce the same volume levels as other amps I have used. Good solid construction, no frills.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Mike Reilly   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 16, 2014]

Drove a pair of martin logan aierius electrostatics for over 15 years....what more can i say

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Jim boyle   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 19, 2011]

The gfa 5400 is by no means outdated! Older model is more appropriate. It is one of the few amps in today's wattage game that bests it's claimed specs in every way. It is rated at all ch driven from 20 to20 (not at 20k w one ch driven) and rated at .05% distortion ( not 1%) and will drive 4ohm loads all day long. These amps are realistically putting out 140-145 wpc kind of like the rotel rb1080 rated at 200wpc but was bench tested at 235wpc. These amps will satisfy all but the most finicky loudspkrs,very controlled mid bass and bass but can be a little loose and unforgiving On top buy only at high volumes. Overall excellent performance

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
edlchiang62   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 09, 2006]
Strength:

Wonderful amp for the price

Weakness:

Is not the most up-to date amp, but soundwise it can't be beat for the price.

This Adcom 5400 amp that I purchased is a wonderful amp at a great price. It sounds great with my system. The amp neither sounds too bright nor too warm. The amp sounds just right to me. I don't know how well the amp is able to drive difficult speakers since my Paradigm Signaure S2 speakers have good sensitivity and they do not have a very low impedance from 20 HZ to 20K HZ.

I like the fact that it has distortion and thermal protection lights, but they are probably just "bells and whistles" and not that useful since I can't imagine actually driving my efficient speakers with that much power to trigger those lights. I only play my music to moderately loud levels.

This amp is an older model (i.e. first sold in 1996), but since SS amp technology has not really changed much that is o.k. with me. In fact that is good for me since hopefully it should be reliable. The only problem is that it is not the most up-to-date amp in that it does not have all the modern features such as a 12-Volt trigger, signal sensing turn-on technology, etc, but since I hook it up to my Adcom ACE-615 surge protector and use the surge protector to turn on all my components those features are not necessary for me.

In summary this amp is a wonderful unit that give you a taste of hifi without having you mortgage your house

Customer Service

One Call is good, but since they sell Adcom products at full retail price I don't like their restocking fee policy. I only bought from them because Audio Advisor and a couple of other places were out of stock of the amp and did not know when they would get more.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
  Audio Enthusiast [Nov 20, 2003]
Strength:

Superb, overall sound. Deep and wide soundstage. Smooth from top to bottom. Excellent build quality. Need I continue?

Weakness:

What's that? :-)

I just wanted to say that this amp is absolutely stunning. I've never heard a solid state amp sound this good. This thing sounds even better then my "now sold" Jolida intergrated tube amp. I don't consider myself an audiophile by any means, due to the fact that I simply can't afford $20,000 speakers, amps and other audio toys. But, I do know good sound when I hear it. I have a very small, inexspensive system. Acoustic Research Hi-Res AR9 loudspeakers, Yamaha HTR 5250 a/v receiver, Pioneer DV-563A DVD/SACD player, Monstercable HTS 2500 MKII powercenter, dirt old Teac Hi-Fi stereo VCR ( which never gets used anymore ) and an old 27" Emerson T.V. My cabling, including the speaker cable are all Stout's. Nothing top dollar here at all. But, if this amp brings the slightest hint of audiophile sound to my system, I will be a devoted Adcom fan for life. It did! I would just like to point out that despite what other reviewers of this and other Adcom amps had to say, there is absolutely no shrilly, grainy highs at all and no "invisible veil" over the midrange. Fatigue.... What's that? If anything, I find myself staying up later listening and enjoying the music that this little jem is producing. The sound is sweet from top to bottom. My speakers use titanium tweeters which are known to be quite harsh at times. I found that out with my old Mac MC2100 amp. Now, I've finally found an amp that tames them quite well. The midrange is very open yet completely smooth. The bass is extremely tight and deep. Sounstaging seemed to always be a problem with my AR's. Not anymore! :-) This amp has cured just about every little problem that I've ever run into with my speakers and other amps, including a tube amp. Adcom has brought the warmth and sweetness of a tube amp and intergrated it with the power and authority of a solid state amp to produce one heck of a power amp. Even the rated power of 125 watts per channel seems to be under rated. I've heard 200 watt per channel amps that don't even come close to comparing to the power and musicality of this amp. Bottom line is, if you are looking for a straight forward, well built, excellent sounding power amp, try Adcom. And did I mention affordable.... I've finally found an amp that I want to keep. And to all of the other reviewers that aren't particularly fond of this amp, and or Adcom amps in general, need to rethink there loudspeaker positioning. Proper speaker placement is a must, not cramming them up against walls and usage of cheap lamp cord for their cabling is highly unacceptable.

Similar Products Used: McIntosh, Jolida, Aragon.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Wayne Kyle   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 02, 2003]
Strength:

Power. Delivery of good sound.

Weakness:

Runs hot. Grainy and hazy sound for some vocals.

This amp has plenty of power and for the most part delivers good sound at all levels. It can be bright and also very deep. Sometimes I feel there is a haze over sound, and voice are grainy. It runs hot, but is a trooper. Overall, a good amp for those considering separates. Good sound, but I often have felt the sound from my Adcom 2535 was more open and clearer, although lacking the tight base of the 5400.

Similar Products Used: Adcom 2535
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
ninohernes   AudioPhile [Aug 19, 2003]
Strength:

Combines the best of tube sound with the best of solid state Detailed natural sound Very revealing, will bring out the best in good recordings, and the worst in bad ones Great power supply Built like a tank Great looks simplicity

Weakness:

No balenced inputs (not really an issue though) The cord is permanent and not removable (again, not a real big deal)

I am a recording and mastering engineer, and also an audiophile. The Adcom GFA-5400 is a wonderful sounding solid state amp. It combines the warmth and detail of tubes with the tight fast bass of transistors. It beats the pants off amps three times its price. I use it to drive my vintage Acoustic Research loudspeakers which are difficult to drive, but the Adcom powers them well, and never distorts. Listen to this amp today, you will be glad you did!

Similar Products Used: Bryston, Mcintosh, NAD, Onkyo, Sony
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rjp1228   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 08, 2002]
Strength:

Great price, excellent power. Well built.

Weakness:

Does get warm when on for a long time.

A solidly built, excellent piece of audio equipment. Comparable to many higher priced amps I looked at. Delivers as promised. I've run it continuously for 12 hours or more on many occasions with no drop in performance.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ideaman7   AudioPhile [May 25, 2002]
Strength:

Superior to classic old tube amps I've heard both in lows and highs Extremely musical (to my ears) Excellent soundstage and depth Very tight deep bass Very smooth and liquid Outstanding inner detail without any edginess Phenomenal resolution of detail when the music gets very complex (where many, if not most amps, fall on their faces) On it, I hear musical textures and details which none of my previous amps ever revealed! All with no harshness or sacrifice in musicality.

Weakness:

None that I am aware of No big turn-on or turn-off transients No fan to generate any distracting noise

I listen mainly to small group cool jazz, showtunes, and classical music primarily on a JVC CD player (with its errorless D-to-A converter). My speakers are Fulton. I have owned and used quite a few power amps over the years including ones from Dynaco, NAD, Hafler, Harman-Kardon, and Mitsubishi. For years, I loved Hafler amps best including the DH-200, XL-600, 9180, and 9270. (Exception: I disliked the TransMos 9300 which I thought couldn't hold a candle musically to and was quite edgy compared to the older 9180 and 9270.) Recently, I bought a Moscode 600 and (driving it with a Tandberg 3002A) thought that it was significantly more detailed and musical than the Hafler 9180. (I still respect the Moscode but prefer the greater resolution of the Adcom.) Recently, I got the Adcom GFA-5400, and it seems to have the best qualities of tube and solid-state amplifiers. It really is one of the finest amplifiers I have ever owned or listened to. In my opinion, it's absolutely an amazing value at its modest price. With this amp, I have ended (or at least suspended for some time to come) my search for better music reproduction. I love it more with each passing day. It's a wonderful tribute to Nelson Pass who had a major hand in the design of the Adcom 5000 series. It's also amazing that this series was designed at least 6 years ago and yet is still holding its own so well. For my money, it's a classic if there ever was one.

Similar Products Used: Dynaco Stereo 120 Dynaco Stereo 70 H-K Citation 12 NAD 2100 Mitsubishi 300 Hafler DH-200 Hafler XL-600 Hafler SE-120 Hafler 9270 Hafler 9180 NYAL Moscode 600
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
cuong   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 02, 2002]
Strength:

bass is tight and fast when spkrs are two ft away from side walls and 1.5 ft away from the back wall

Weakness:

mid range is shy

got this amp at a moonlight madness sale at the s.a. i''ve had this amp for a month and it sounds good and it''s in good shape. have not come across any problems. i have a thorens 150 connected to the gfp 555II preamp and the result is nice. sounds lush at low volume (around 8-9 o''clock) and harsh at around 1-2. i don''t listen to music loudly. i usually have the volume at 11-12 and i sit 8-9 feet away from my spks. as of now, i have not noticed any drops in dynamics, bass, volume, or clearity at this vol. level. the amp has plenty of clean ooohmp for me. room size is 17 by 22 by 15 i am please with my purchase. it has not pissed me off. however, i would not pay adcom''s suggested retail price of ~700 for this amp because i feel that you can get similar to better results with vintage marantz, sansui, or macintosh gear for less.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 34  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com