Acurus A250 Amplifiers

Acurus A250 Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

250 watts per channel continuous, both channels driven into 8 Ohms 20 Hz to 20,000 Hz at no more than 0.06% THD

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 52  
[Jun 30, 2020]
malkova


Strength:

Good TV, the sound is amazing! jiofi.local.html

Weakness:

no flaws, good work!

Price Paid:
200
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
1999
OVERALL
RATING
5
[May 13, 2020]
Roofer


Strength:

Can't really complain about this bad boy. Great sound and it has been reliable for me.

Weakness:

Nitpicking a bit but something that heavy shouldn't have pointy edges. We had to move something similar during a roof replacement project and let me tell you, thank god we had gloves on!

Price Paid:
200
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1999
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Mar 30, 2020]
richardv4


Strength:

great sound, affordable price, reliable

Weakness:

needs color options IMO Ensure Home Inspections

Price Paid:
$600
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1994
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Dec 10, 2019]
Zara18


Strength:

So far, I've been using this product over a year now, well I am satisfied with the quality and durability.

Weakness:

it is quite expensive and high electricity consumptions. concrete supplier

Price Paid:
$125
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2017
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Dec 09, 2019]
fsatsil


Strength:

Loads of power Drives difficult speaker loads Price excellent sound quality Made in the USA Good parts and build quality

Weakness:

No speaker protection circuit

Price Paid:
250
Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 06, 2019]
PGC


Strength:

Active used market so prices are still very good. 250 Watts means it will easily power even the most inefficient speakers. I bought this amp to replace my Acurus A200 x3 which had a sound I never liked.

Weakness:

Same problems as the Acurus A200 x3 which this amp was supposed to replace. Crosstalk, poor sound quality for music, unrefined. Reliability. Prone to overheating. Better sounding and cheaper 80’s amplifiers are available from Adcom, Denon, Sony, Hafler, NAD, Quad. Chassis is poorly designed. A heavy amp shouldn’t have razor sharp corners!

Price Paid:
280
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1999
OVERALL
RATING
2
[Jun 06, 2019]
Blair Ware


Strength:

I bought my A250 new and used it with a variety of speakers over the years. Most recently I have been using it to drive a pair 1.7 Maggies. I could not ask for a better combination, truly magical. My only concern is its age.

Weakness:

I am currently using an Acurus L10 preamp. I've tried a couple of other preamp, all of which sound better.

Price Paid:
2000
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
1992
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Nov 20, 2018]
Artemis


Strength:

This amp has lots of power and sounds clean and detailed. It can drive hard to drive speakers while not losing control or finesse. With a good tube preamp, the sound is liquid smooth with lots of detailed highs and deep bass.

Weakness:

It can sound tinny and harsh with cheap speakers or bad sources.

Price Paid:
$299
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1994
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Oct 11, 2015]
leodoc
AudioPhile

I agree with the bulk of the reviewers. Acurus a250 mated with Counterpoint 3.1, and with Thiel 3.5 speakers are musical, smooth, and very true in tone and presentation. Thiels are well known to require a certain quality to drive them to get the best out of them.

The Acurus mated with the tube pre-amp from counterpoint created a richness than was difficult to match from most all of the compeition. I had a friend that owned a high quality stereo store back in the 90's and 2000's.

I used to take the counterpoint and Acurus up to have him audition the pair with different speakers and against new equipment as it rolled in the door. That combo put all but the $20,000 systmes to shame. In my theater room, I ran a Proceed AVP with ADP and a Carver AV806x. The Proceed was likewise an excellent mate with the Acurus, but I think the tubes played off of the Acurus the best.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 29, 2015]
BradleyP
Audio Enthusiast

It's all been said in the reviews in this forum. The Acurus A250 is a fine amp, especially for the money. I bought mine new in 1993, along with the matching L10 preamp. I mate the combo with a very revealing pair of Martin Logan hybrid electrostatics (completely passive) and get crazy smoothness, detail, depth, width, and control. I once heard a similarly powered Aragon amp, which had even more bass depth and control, so that's why I give the amp four stars instead of five. After owning the amp for 20 years and running it through the same power conditioner the whole time, I finally got a wild hair and wondered what it would sound like plugged directly into the wall. Well, I did that, and then my wife and I laughed out loud. The transparency increased by a whole lot. It wasn't subtle. Then I almost cried knowing that I spent 20 years with sound that was not as good as it could have been. Anyway, it's like I have a whole new amp!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 52  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com