Acurus A200 Amplifiers

Acurus A200 Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

200 watts per channel continuous, both channels driven into 8 Ohms, 300 watts per channel continuous, both channels driven into 4 ohms

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 25  
[Dec 11, 2019]
walrodiz


Strength:

My main system amplifier. Excellent sound and performance and it pairs really good with my Vandersteen Speakers.

Weakness:

The only bad thing is that it doesn't have a trigger input to turn on-off from pre-amplifier but I found a power conditioner with trigger for that purpose.

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Dec 11, 2019]
walrodiz


Strength:

My main system amplifier. Excellent sound and performance and it pairs really good with my Vandersteen Speakers.

Weakness:

The only bad thing is that it doesn't have a trigger input to turn on-off from pre-amplifier but I found a power conditioner with trigger for that purpose.

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Dec 11, 2019]
walrodiz


Strength:

My main system amplifier. Excellent sound and performance and it pairs real good with my Vandersteen Speakers.

Weakness:

The only bad thing is that it doesn't have a trigger input to turn on-off from pre-amplifier but I found a power conditioner with trigger for that purpose.

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Dec 16, 2018]
DJ Cora


Strength:

Bought this amp at an estate sale in LA along with an ACT-1, L11 line stage, and 3 Chanel Acurus amp. The equipment was for home theater and growing family. Pretty good amp but runs very hot.

Weakness:

Runs hot compared to our Bryston.

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jun 26, 2018]
Lawry


Strength:

Clear sound. Power appears limitless. Build quality is very good considering the age and much better than my matching A200 x3. Perfect for a home theater. And if you're not very critical about sound, it makes a good amp for a hifi system if you can find suitable speakers. Don't use these with low end speakers like Klipsch, B&W or Celestion. I had good results with the higher end Rogers, JBL, Martin Logans and Magnepans.

Weakness:

This is a 20 year old amplifier and there were better amplifiers in sound and build quality e.g. Denon, Sony ES, Bryston, Hafler, and pretty much any British company.

Price Paid:
200
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1998
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Apr 02, 2013]
Brandon25373
Audio Enthusiast

I took advantage of a used version of this amp that I was able to trade my Adcom for. I was happy the second I hit play and hadn't even made it over to the sweet spot for critical judgement. I used this amp with Monitor Audio RS6's and a B&K PT3 Preamp.

Pros: Large capacitors and and a massive transformer provide excessive headroom and reserve for speakers as sensitive as mine. This amp had a very warm, almost tube-like sound quality. The sound stage was very transparent and the imaging was precise.

Cons: Noticable hum when sitting idle, but that's likely due to the fact that it's nearly 20 years old. The ground on this amp bleeds into the interconnects and will BUZZ if you're not using a grounded preamp. Isolating the ground loop with a piece of wire going from the amp chassis to the preamp chassis solved the issue immediatly.

In a nutshell: These amps are selling on Ebay and other places for around the $400-$500 price. I believe this amp is a STEAL at that price. You will not be disappointed!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 01, 2008]
DaWizard
AudioPhile

Strength:

Build Quality and CLEAN SOUND!!! Great DETAIL

Weakness:

None at this price point

One of the best things about this amplifier is that it allows you to evaluate every other component you add to your system. So if you buy a new Preamp, CD Player, DAC you know exactly what that component brings (or dose not bring) to the party The Amp is totally out of the way. It adds no color of it's own. Clean pure power. You could easily spend twice as much on the used market and not get a better amp and 200 Watts of audiophile quality is not going to happen at this price point. In fact you can spend twice as much on the new market and not do better. My friend just bought a Brand New Parasound A23 for 850.00 Yes it was only 125 watts vs my 200 watts but that's not the point. We first swapped mine into his system and then the following week we swapped his into mine. He had to admit that the Acurus was the winner hands down both times.. For bset results pair with a Tube AMP a little less detail but more layered sound stage

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 09, 2007]
RadialElite
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Solid power
clean uncolored sound
Solid build (could probably drop it 6 feet (on carpet) and it would be unscathed!

the massive heatsinks are pretty!

not pretentious

It is heavy so it would be harder to steal!

Weakness:

Doesn't have an auto on trigger, but it is cool to turn it on. it feels like the beginning of back to the future.

The heatsinks are sharp and will cut the uninitiated.

at program it is warm to the touch so has become the cat's favorite spot.

doesn't have balanced inputs, but if you had the money for a pre-amp with balanced inputs you might not have ever looked at this "budget" jewel.

I have two a200 running my PSB Stratus Goldi's bi-amped and use an a200x5 for the surrounds and center.

The a200 is a tank! I can describe it better than that. When the amps are asked to deliver they wake up and make the music sound full and rich.

The only moving parts are the power switch and the binding posts so it is as quiet as can be.

The toroidal transformer is massive enough that might seem silly to have one for each (get a monobloc if that is what you want),

The capacitor is almost the size of a coffee can and it always has reserves. I have had the levels at full volume when the power went out and the a200 will continue to play for at least 5 seconds!

I love them!

Similar Products Used:

Mackie
Peavey

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 05, 2003]
timrhube
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Build quality, runs cool and quiet.

Weakness:

None.

I've owned this amp for about a year now and it has performed flawlessly. It is the coolest running amp i've had in my system, no matter how long it stays on or how hard it's pushed. The only way to describe the sound is nuetral, nothing accentuated that shouldn't be. It also is extremely quiet when idling, not so with the Rotel amps (RB-981s)I used before the Acurus. The build quality is superb, this amp looks like it'll run forever. Too bad it is no longer in production. For the price this amp is unbeatable.

Similar Products Used:

Sony TA-N55-ES, Rotel RB-981

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 15, 2003]
kevin5brown
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sound, build quality, looks.

Weakness:

Has 1 transformer. Dual transformers would be a step up, but that would cost more too.

Very nice two channel amp. I'm using it with an Acurus A200x5 for a 7.1 system. There's not much else I can say! It does the job in a very understated way. Always have enough power, never runs hot, doesn't add anything to the sound, very well built, I expect to have it in my system for a long time.

Similar Products Used:

Aragon, Nakamichi (Threshold), Adcom

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 25  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com