Yamaha RX-V800 A/V Receivers

Yamaha RX-V800 A/V Receivers 

DESCRIPTION

5-channel receiver providing finest performance and processing available for music and video sound. 5 channels are: L/R Main, Front Ctr, L/R Rear Effects. It has a phantom Rear Center to deliver the newest 6-channel formats Dolby Digital Matrix 6.1 and DTS ES. Features Yamaha's Digital Sound Field Processing, Cinema DSP, Tri-Field Processing, Dolby Surround Pro Logic, Dolby Digital processing, Digital ToP-ART design for signal integrity, is compatible with Panja and Crestron for easy set-up.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 147  
[Jun 26, 2018]
phaceless56


Strength:

Bought this back in 2000 $1000 retail at the time found grey market in the city brand new in the box $800 out the door I loved it this was my first AV receiver My youngest son moved out and I gave it to him he loves it although he needs better speakers my favorite DSP is the five channel stereo crisp clear sound DD and DTS are awesome

Weakness:

100 watts did not seem right more like 70 watts also remote is a lot clumsy on screen setup is better

Price Paid:
800
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2000
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Jan 24, 2015]
RonM
Audio Enthusiast

I'm ok with the sound of this unit but the layout on the remote is horrible.It is a very nice piece of audio gear.Near the upper tier of Yamahas.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 14, 2011]
Eddie
AudioPhile

I bought my Yamaha RX-V800 since 2001 and it is stunning, awesome and wonderful piece of AV amplifier. As of this date May 2011, this AV receiver still working excellent and the sound quality does not change. Other brands I heard they have some deteriorating sound quality. I love my RX-V800 and I cannot afford to sell it since it is still performing well. The durability of RX-V800 is very strong due to it's high quality parts.

It endures the hardship due to high humidity, ambient room temperature sometimes it reaches to 40deg. C without AC, but still this animal working like cow plowing in the rice field. I used this for my 5.1 home theater DTS ES and hook up with JBL LX-80T as front floor standing 3-way with the center using Infinity while the rear surround sound are handled by Canton Plus-S. The Sub-woofer is a 12" JBL GT5-S12 a car subwoofer with its own power amplifier separate from the enclosure, a custom made sub-woofer enclosure which is used in the car.

I felt the bass is outstanding specially the fine signal is fed from Yamaha. I did not felt any distortion.

I am now planning to buy a new Yamaha RX-V667 to upgrade my HT since, a new Toshiba 55WX800U 3D LED edge lit LCD HDTV will be arriving soon with the panasonic 3D wifi ready blu-ray player. The RX-V800 will remain to us as my baby which will be located inside our master bedroom while the new upcoming setup will be in the living room.

I cannot disposed the RX-V800 due to its durability and excellent sound quality and performance that had worked for 10yrs with us and my family are enjoying it while they are singing for karaoke. I just only maintain it by opening the cover and vacuum spray every 2yrs. to remove the dust and spray the volume control and switches with contact cleaner to maintain the conductivity. It is normal to maintain the AV receiver due to each long year of service to us without giving me headache. It had never experienced ever since by the hand of technician to repair neither encounter parts replacement. Yamaha demonstrate their product excellence and can be trusted that is the reason why I will buy another new Yamaha AV Receiver model for this new generation digital home theater.
GOOD job Yammy!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 04, 2009]
Hernando Esguerra
Audio Enthusiast

Amplificador que dá un excelente sonido, deseo recibir mayor informacion.
Note: No speack English, thank you.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 17, 2005]
TT230
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Exciting sound, well built, good tuner.

Weakness:

Lacks refinement, not quite the power house you would expect.

This is a slightly unfair review seeing as this amp as spent alot of time in 2ch stereo mode. In this mode it is easy to distinguish against simarlaly priced stereo amplifiers. The yamaha delivers alot of the sound but lacks refinement, which is a shame, I would also say that the manufacturers output ratings are somewhat of an overstatement, again compared with a similarly priced dedicated stereo amp with around half the power and you will see what I mean. The amp itself is well constructed as norm with yammys. The menu and even the remote are relatively straight-forward to master IMHO. I would recommend paying no more than £200 for stereo speakers, anymore and I would consider this to be un-economical. Overall,good stereo amp providing your speakers are not too revealing..

Similar Products Used:

Yamaha DSP-592. Tannoy m2 Tannoy mx1 Monitor audio silver S8's Marantz 63ki sig.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 21, 2004]
TWag
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Plenty of power for the JBL's. Simple to use DSP's for both music and theater. First model with 5-channel stereo. Good if you have marginal speakers.

Weakness:

Limited compared to the newer RXV line. None, if your sticking to a budget with 5-channel playback

I purchased the RXV-800 the first month it was available and was excited about the 5 channel stereo. Going from an old Sony theater package to the Yamaha had much better processing, and showed its muscles in both the 5 channel stereo music playback and 100 watt to each rear speaker during surround playback. At the time, I was using JBL speakers; all of which were rated at 150 watts each with a 92db sensitivity rating. For a 5 channel receiver, it did its job well and made the JBL's shine. I sold it to move on to the RXV-2400.

Similar Products Used:

Sony STR line previous, JBL, Monster Power, Yamaha universal player(at the time)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 22, 2003]
jelly109
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Solid made Remote Power DSP settings

Weakness:

Built in tuner is sounding "weak", missing bass, all other inputs are working without issues

The Receiver is a great bargain and very solid made. I like the slim and learning remote, once set up, it controls all equipment very well. Opposite to other postings I can state that the central part of the terminals can be removed so that they can take banana plugs. Tuner part is a lot weaker than the quality of the amp.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 23, 2003]
xboxrox13
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Pretty good on stereo and movies

Weakness:

not very punchy and lacks watts

This reciever is acceptionaly good. It plays nice on movies and pretty good on stereo. Huge inprovment on a piece of junk kenwood reciver I use to have. Only thing im giving it an 4/5 is becuase my friend had an Denon AVR-3300 and it blows it away. It is also in the same price rang.

Similar Products Used:

Denon AVR-3300

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 23, 2003]
brabs
AudioPhile

Strength:

powerful,TOPart technology, heaps of inputs, learning remote,ability to output 6.1 recordings, 2 sets of front speaker terminals.

Weakness:

no pro-logic 2, remote, a tad pricy but worth it

I have had this reciever for 2.5yrs now, and I have had no problems what so ever.It delivers clean sound for music and enough power to rumble the room in movies. However the salesman at retravision told me that this amp had the ability to output 6.1 discrete. I should have done more homework! but the dts-es 6.1 matrix works well, but not that much advantage over 5.1 soundtracks.The remote is not too good in the dark when trying to switch modes(dvd to tv etc). Dvd-audio is magic through 6 channel input too. 4 stars only because I expected 6.1 discrete, otherwise 5/5

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 07, 2003]
phantom21
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great sound and build quality. Plenty of power on tap at the top end like Japanes cars!

Weakness:

Binding posts

Having read many of the reviews on this site i agree with some and am amased at others. I am an 18 year old student who has a keen interest in Hi Fi equipment. I also DJ in my spare time. As a result i am used to loud music. I bought the rx-v800 in order to replace my old amplifier primarily because it was a such a bargain. Initially I too thought the amp was under powered however as i have played around with it I have realised that this is not the case at all. In order to get the best out of this amp you just need to turn it up!! At above -35db the volume increases exponentially! For those of you complaining about lack of power i suggest you bite the bullet and turn your amp up. The huge heat sink is there for a reason! This amp has many strengths. I would agree that the worst thing about it are the low quality binding posts. Other than that it is sensational!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 147  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com