Yamaha RX-V590 A/V Receivers

RX-V590

5 ch Dolby Prologic, 75Wx2 front

User Reviews (23)

Showing 1-10 of 23  
david   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 08, 2013]

Can anyone help me - I have just been given a RX-V590 I need to know how to connect the speakers - copy of a manual would really help .
David T

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dj   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 04, 2013]

This receiver rocked my dorm room, serenaded my fiance, raised 5 children went to college
again with my son and has never ever stopped playing why dont they make products like this anymore Yamaha RXV- 590 built to last

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
oscar   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 12, 2009]

the rxv590 has plenty of power..add a subwoofer an you have club....its a great sounding...machine....ockness1

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Winger   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 09, 2004]
Strength:

Built like a tank, Sounds Great in both surround and 2 channel applications.

Weakness:

None

Yamaha have done it again with this ripper Receiver, that sounds great in Both 2 channel Hi Fi reproduction and Car Crashing, Door Slamming Surround Sound Experience. With a Remote that has a heap of great easy to use features. (even the wife is happy using it) Great Receiver, if you see one on the 2nd hand market make sure you buy it! Great sound at a great price.

Similar Products Used: Marantz SR-5000
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ty_dogg19   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 22, 2002]
Strength:

75x5 in the manual Manaul adjusting levels

Weakness:

BASS!!!!!!!!!!!!! whats with the new recievers no bass all the old ones in the 70's BASS shaking

Yamaha made some progress here they have been sliping with that natural sound s***. This was one of the first surround recievers and they made an okay step so back off my dad has this reciever and I hear surround comin off of my bigh EPI'S

Similar Products Used: Denon AVR-1400 better tho
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
John McShaw   AudioPhile [Apr 26, 2002]

Yamaha is alway make good product for your money.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
blarney88   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 27, 2002]
Strength:

Okay FM tuner. Phono output.

Weakness:

DSP modes are for the most part a useless "sales point". Amplifier is clean but doesn''t grab hold and move the speakers with any authority.

I owned one of these for a year. Bought a yamaha based on the 18+ years of solid performance from a 1010 integrated---was greatly disappointed. DSP modes weren''t worth using. Pro logic made some occassionally weird noises in the surrounds. But, it was the lack of body from the amplifier that caused me to sell it---I just couldn''t get use to the thin, flat and uninvolving music reproduction.I experimented with a few quality speakers all were lacking in heft.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Luc   an Audio Enthusiast [Sep 28, 1998]

Cant stand the Yamaha "natural sound", But the receiver is fair.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
kevin   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 25, 2001]
Strength:

Clean Sound, reliable, good power

Weakness:

No DTS

I purchased this Unit 6 years ago (when it first became available). I have owned yamaha reciever in the past and have been very happy with the build and sound quality. I have used the reciever for both audio, as well as the movies. I have been very happy with the reciever. I am using ith with PSB speakers, and the sound reproduction is fantastic. It is a little weak on the bass, but that is partly due to the speakers. I have since purchased a subwoofer, which is a key for home theater regardless. The various simulated fields are basically useless. The distrotion greatly increases and therefore is not a good choice for listening to music, and I see no use for them for movies anyway. When I purchased this unit, DTS was not available (or at least widely available) yet. It is something so seriouly consider.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
John   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 18, 2001]
Strength:

prologic preamp outs binding speaker jacks good power

Weakness:

dts

well people if dts is not youre concern this is the reciever for you. i had mine since 94 95 and i had the new rx-v800 for about 3 months now and im still wondering
for stero 2 channel music this thing drove my vs-15 cerwin vegas we sit out side and crank it up to a little over half
way and we had tunes it would get a little hot but we ran it hard for weekends my set up now

1.cerwin vega vs-15 (this is for 2 channel stero only)
2.polk rm 6200 5 speaker pkg for movies
3.klipsch ksw 12 sub for both
4.pioneer cd sony cd
5.panasonic dvd
6.sharp 27 inch tv
7.yamaha eq
8.rx-v800 reciever

now the new reciver has 100watts compared to 70 watts or if you change the ohms on the 590 it can be a little more if the speakers are lower omhs
anyway i can crank the new one full out no distortion but i dont think if any louder than the 590 at a little over half
800 is upgradeable though wow yamaha put me in a spot i tell ya going from a fine reciever to another is hard to judge but this one is a definetly worth the money
good luck on youre choices

Similar Products Used: currently using rx-v800 still have 590
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 23  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com