Yamaha RX-V2400 A/V Receivers

RX-V2400

  • Dolby Digital EX, Dolby Pro Logic II, DTS-ES Discrete 6.1,
  • DTS Neo:6 and DTS 96/24 compatibility
  • Massive power 7-channel discrete amplifier configuration (120W x 7 RMS/FTC)
  • 32-bit Yamaha LSI (YSS-930) for CINEMA DSP processing
  • THX Select processing
  • Digital ToP-ART and High Current Amplification
  • Direct Stereo mode for high quality 2-channel sound reproduction
  • Accurate touch digitally regulated volume control governs all channels

User Reviews (16)

Showing 1-10 of 16  
thunder   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 22, 2004]
Strength:

Video Up conversion to component Srong, clean power Macro Feature-Universal learning Remote Improved and new surround modes THX (never dreamed of getting one until the 2400 came along)

Weakness:

No pure audio mode

This is my first post in this forum ever, having been a reader and researcher for the most part since I got to learn of this website early last year. My first venture into home theater was the RXV-630 when I purchased it together with it's satellite 6.1 speaker set (NSP-236). Sound for home theater was good. But having been a music lover for most of my life, I had to satisfy my "audio curiosity" by starting to alter my system after 3 months. After thorough reading of reviews in this site. I got a pair of AR Status S40's as fronts, a PSB Alpha as Center, and a Paradigm Phantom(bookshelf version)as rear. This 5 speaker set was all under $1,000. I added an AR Status SUB-25 for about $200 to complete my 5.1 set for the 630. I decided not to go for full 6.1 set-up at that time. Performance of this system was good but not excellent. The drawback being the 630 cannot drive the AR floorstanders to full response. Sound was a bit thin and speaker hiss (due to distortion) can be heard at -35db on the 630 volume. When volume is below -30db the sound starts to strain and ear piercing. I figured the 630 was inadequately mismatched to my speakers and that pushing the 630's amps can only damage my speakers which were more expensive. Late last year was when I saw the RXV2400 and 1400 and judging by the new features it has, I knew this was my ultimate receiver. After saving up for nine months, I finally got hold of this baby 2 months ago and have re-configured my 5.1 system to a full 7.1 system. I removed the big Phantoms in the rear (it's not meant to be used as surrounds, the woofer being 8-inches) and replaced them with a pair of Alpha minis (a very musical) which I got from a used dealer (for $75). For surround backs, I got also a used AR Sequel pair for $80 and fastened them to my rear wall. I moved the 630 to my bedroom where it serves as a pre-amp surround processor to my NAD-T770 which drives a 5.1 Tannoy Mercury MX-M with my AR Status SUB-25. I'm planning on getting a definitive PROSUB-100 for my 2400 system before the year ends. So far I'm very happy with the 2400. Movies are a joy to watch with a night mode to increase dialog volume and subdue sound effects. Of all the surround modes, my favorites are THX Cinema, Spectacle and Adventure. For average viewing, I recommend THX cinema. For music modes, this is where I am still dtrying to find my sweet spot, Prologic IIx is good, so is NEO:6, but being more musically inclined, I have tried the Direct Stereo and straight modes also. I am planning to get a dedicated cd player and SACD player soon and try this out with the 2400 to see how farther it goes in Audio Performance. Over-all, I feel that this RXV-2400 is a great product for the its price level, with features only available to high-end receiver models costing twice or more of the 2400. Power wise, it is sufficient though I seldom listen at volumes below 30db. the auto-calibration feature is a really cool feature which enabled me to flatten the response of my mixed system (AR/PSB). Despite the absence of a SUB, I still get good bass output from the 2400 as my AR S40 range is from 26hz up and I have bi-wired this using the AB connection recommended in the manual. Over-all, I believe the 2400/1400 is one of the best receivers in the market right now. Build Quality, Features, and Price are all very superior. This highly recommended to anyone who wants to invest on a top quality receiver for music and home theater.

Similar Products Used: NAD-T770 Yamaha RXV-630
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
liyakath   Casual Listener [Oct 11, 2004]
Strength:

Huge power supply Sound clarity Build quality Perfect pricing

Weakness:

No EQ. adjustment for PEQ. No. pure direct mode.

Top class receiver with very good pricing Everything is perfect sound clarity bass midrange even two channel also very impressive.Dolby digital and dts performance is outstanding dynamic power also very good.

Similar Products Used: HARMAN KARDAN AVR 3000
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ambient fish   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 09, 2004]
Strength:

Detailed Sound, Great Remote, YPAO, build quality, power supply, quiet operation,

Weakness:

None that I have come accross

This is an impressive amp straight from the box, it is well built, has extensive connectivity, video upconversion, a powerful but quiet power supply and an excellent learning remote. In comparison to my Sony STRVA555ES the Yamaha is more detailed and far easier to use in everyday use. Don't get me wrong the Sony was a superb amp 2 years ago but now it would struggle against competition like this. Having all 7 channels amplified from 1 box is better than the Sony's preouts for the two rear channels, in short the Yamaha sounds better out of the box than the Sony does after 2 years of continual tweaking. The sound stage on the Yamaha is wider, deeper and much more 3 dimensional. The video dacs are also a huge improvement without even considering the video upconversion from Composite to Component video. This amplifier resolves detail to an extremly fine level in comparison to the Sony, until I heard the Yamaha the Sony sounded crisp and clear but the Yamaha shows it a clean pair of heels in all departments. I am so impressed with my purchase that I would quite happily reccomend this amplifier to any home cinema enthusiast. I should also mention the superb output in direct stereo mode but since I like to listen to CDs in Dolby Pro Logic IIx this is a feature that I won't be making much use of. The YPAO feature should not be underestimated, sure an experienced sound engineer might scoff at the very idea of an automated set up but for your average everyday user this feature means that you can get close to the ideal set up without sweating away hours of your valuable time tweaking your system you spend it listening to the amp instead. The price quoted above is UK Pounds Sterling

Similar Products Used: Yamaha DSP A5 Sony STRVA-555ES
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mark4x4   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 03, 2004]
Strength:

Features, build quality, excellent sound, one of the coolest running receivers, a great value.

Weakness:

Bass management for unprocessed signal

I believe it's not only the best value but the best receiver in this price range. There's no arguing that it has the most features of any receiver in this price range. One feature that works really well is the up conversion of "S" video to component video. I have a Direct TV receiver with "S" video output, that's being up converted to component video by the Yamaha and what a difference in picture quality. Also, it has inputs for DVD-A and SACD. This is my second Yamaha A/V receiver, my first being a RX-V690 a Dolby Prologic receiver which is now being used on my second system. I wanted a Dolby Digital unit with more power since I bought new speakers. I looked at other receivers, with the Denon coming in a close second (less features and more money), making the Yamaha the winner. The Yamaha has the best sound of any of the receivers I looked at. The one drawback is in analog stereo mode the lack of bass management. Direct stereo gives you unprocessed sound at the expense of losing your sub. Not a major problem since the sound is better using the digital processor anyways. The Yamaha does an excellent job for HT but it also shines is in two channel stereo mode. I believe that HT is less demanding for sound than stereo. In HT you have video along with multi channel sound so the sound doesn't have to be as accurate as in stereo. In stereo you can focus on audio only and this is where the you'll find the difference between the receivers. I listen to music as much as I watch HT, so if stereo is important to you like it is with me, then the Yamaha is the perfect choice.

Similar Products Used: Sony, Pioneer, Yamaha RX-V690
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
pa feroz   Casual Listener [Aug 03, 2004]
Strength:

Very powerful amp. Crystel clear sound. Dynamic power Yamaha build quality

Weakness:

Nothing

I was surprised with the quality of sound this unit produces.This unit is awesome in sound,power,and price.Excellent in both HT and music dynamic power is outstanging.

Similar Products Used: yamaha rxv520 HK avr 5000
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
andrkemp   AudioPhile [Jul 30, 2004]
Strength:

Dynamics/ bass/ huge soundfield Powerful Auto cal. mic. THX certified Build Good remote

Weakness:

None

This is a great receiver. I have had several before; Harman Kardon AVR-85 and Harman Kardon AVR-7000. H/K-7000 was great for its time, but is now outdated. I heard a cheaper Yamaha receiver connected to JMLab speakers at a Hifi-Show in Oslo last year. I was blown away. The RX-V2400 has great dynamics and presence with movies. Bonus with the auto calibration and THX. And the receiver does a very good job with music. I heard the new Denon AVR-3805 receiver. Personally I think the Yamaha is better. Better bass and the soundfield is bigger. Yamaha has done it again!!!

Similar Products Used: Klipsch RF-3 Klipsch RS-25 Klipsch KSF C5 (center) SVS 20-39 PC Plus (subwoofer) Denon DVD-2900
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
setupmand   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 22, 2004]
Strength:

Quality of sound, lots of features, and quality of build (pick it up it's heavy and has a heavy power supply.).

Weakness:

None that I have found.

I traded in my Onkyo TS-DX 797 for the Yamaha RX-V 2400. The Onkyo is a fine product but it was time to upgrade to 7.1. The list of features offered by the Yamaha in this price range is hard to beat. But what really impressed me was the sound of this unit. When listening to music the soundstage really became defined. The DSP's featured on this unit really bring movies to life as well. I had listened to current Onkyo, Harmon Karden, and Denon products in this price range and could not beat the combination of sound quality and features that this unit has. The many features may take some time to learn but if you read the manual it's pretty clear. The room optimizer is really cool and gives you a good starting point. I would recomend that any one looking for an A/V receiver in this or even a slightly higher price range to give the Yamaha a serious listen.

Similar Products Used: Onkyo, Sony.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
TWag   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 21, 2004]
Strength:

Remote makes life easier once it is set up. Plenty of power. Awesome movie playback and 2 channel music playback. Worked well with the B&W's especially after a few months of softening up. Definately, One of the best quality receivers on the market.

Weakness:

I moved on to separates as they bring on more fullness, especially to the mid's without sacrificing clarity.

I wanted to wait until the year mark before I submitted my review. I upgraded my whole system, and I needed the time for calibration. I'm using the B&W CDM series speakers, Denon DVD, Yamaha CD, Monster surge(just for the components and the TV), and audioquest cables. The setup of the 2400 wasn't easy, but once you eliminate all the distractions and read the manual, it's easy to figure out. The remote is a little intimidating, but the macro capability and multiple use function enabled me to operate my system with only 2 remotes. With an odd shaped room, the auto-calibration gave me a good starting point which I customized later to my ears. This is my second multi-channel music playback receiver as I am a big fan of it, but the 2-channel mode with the B&W fronts sounded more natural and became my favorite for music reproduction. The 2400 also has plenty of connections and even offered a way to bi-wire the fronts. I was very pleased with the DSP's offered in my older Yamaha, and am just as pleased with the newer ones. Lord of the Rings in DTS is just a sample of this combination treated with a good soundtrack. Most new recievers are substituting power for channels, but the 120W x 7 proved to have plenty of power and Yamaha has always been a favorite for movie processing.

Similar Products Used: Denon DVD, Yamaha CD, Monster Powercenter, Audioquest cables, B&W CDM Series Speakers
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
osmax12   AudioPhile [Jul 05, 2004]
Strength:

Great power Warm musical sound All sound formats Endless inputs and assignability Welcomes future formats and upgradabilty Looks cool, too.

Weakness:

It often causes me to be late to work,and to bed!

Straight to the point- I love my V2400! I spent a year researching the new and upcoming sound formats(dvd audio, sacd, etc..)and I wanted a unit that would not only support my system now, but also as I continue to grow with my dream of having all formats of sound reproduction at my disposal! I auditioned Onkyo, Harman Kardan, Sony ES, Marantz, Intregra Research, Rotel, and the almighty B&K. With $1500 to spend on a receiver, I chose Yamaha as my brand of choice, due to features and craftmanship for the money. I then went through various models until the salesman and I were left with the V1400 and the V2400. Now mind that it wasn't the extra 10 wpc that made the decision for me, but the extra warmth in low level listening due to the larger capacitors in this model. It was noticeable. Vocals were rich, but not harsh or brassy. Surround modes were detailed in DVD listening and very powerful. The 2400 had the reserve to "scare you" after a brief soft passage, yet a controlled dampening factor brought the drivers back to a quick silence. 2 channel mode is extremely clean. I run coax digital out of the CD transport to the Adcom d/a, and my friends can detect artist's breathing patterns in the music! Even the DVD audio's attack is linear without being overbearing(you know they usually overcolor to get the WOW effect of surround). There are more than enough digital inputs and outputs, which are assignable to almost any device and the video up-conversion is a feature that cannot go unmentioned. But yes, the remote is not for the faint-of-heart, and can send an awaiting date into a panic if not "preped" on its usage. The massive power supply runs quiet and I have yet to hear the fan run because of proper ventilation. My advice to anyone, novice or audiophile, is to audition, listen, leave, and then come back and listen again. Bring your own music, also a movie or two, sit back and recline. Make the saleman angry, ask about the specs, tell the salesman what he or she does not know about the product. Do your research, compare and follow your own ears. Treat yourself, don't cheat yourself.

Similar Products Used: Sony Es, HK, B&K, Marantz, Rotel
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Qruzer   AudioPhile [May 25, 2004]
Strength:

Musical reproduction -(When you don't use any built in processing) Excellent Surround power for movies. 7.1 DPIIx music mode <--nice for some CDs DSP Digital Surround enhancements. Clarity at all sound levels. Component video inputs

Weakness:

Auto select sound formats will only play the last format (2 speakers -or- multi)in analog or digital. For regular TV I like my unit to only play in 2 channel w/o having to select from the remote when I'm done watching a multi-digital format like HBO.

Bravo Yamaha! This is my first Yamaha receiver. I've owned the Yamaha baby electric grand since 1983..that was my last Yamaha purchase, and that was a winner. This looks like it will be around for a while as well. I decided on the 2400 after reading as many reviews as I could for products in this price range and then auditioning this product. For the ultimate performance I found that utilizing the 'STRAIGHT STEREO' really brought out the quality of my Def Tech fronts. Another plus is the auto room calibration feature with the mic. Set it up where you will be listening from and let it go. As far as music or movies this amp exceeded my expectations for power! Clean -not bright, it also enhanced the imaging from my speakers. The THX certification is a feel good nice label - but the DSP enhancements for the surround sound is quite impressive. If you are into great sonic reproduction for under $1000 this is the receiver for you. I can now listen in a song and tell if guitarist is playing a Strat, Tele,or a Les Paul with great confidence. One song even played exactly what an old Fender tube amp would sound like. My last receiver was never this musically perfect.

Similar Products Used: JVC (old Dolby 2.0) Onkyo 575x HK 7200 Onkyo 700
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com