Yamaha RX-V2092 A/V Receivers

Yamaha RX-V2092 A/V Receivers 

DESCRIPTION

Dolby Pro Logic/Digital - Yamaha's Digital Sound Field Processing (simulates actual concert halls), Cinema DSP, and Tri-Field Processing - 100w x 5 channels/25 w x 2 front effects channels - multi-room/multi-source capable - 4 analog audio inputs - 5 A/V inputs (s-video) - learning remote

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 81  
[Apr 23, 2016]
Mark Barnaba
Audio Enthusiast

I still have this unit, purchased it for $1300.00 on sale as the newer units were coming out. It's still going strong. When I bought it,I knew digital inputs were limited. The new receivers had more, so i immediately purchased a MSB Tecnology Digital Director, is allowed me to connect 6 components with digital outputs to it, with 3 digital outputs.So I am still able to use it today using it,s full 7.1 capability. Doesn't have the newer sound fields, but has a lot more flexibility.
Yamaha RX-V2092 still rocking the house!!!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 23, 2015]
Brent B
Audio Enthusiast

I have owned this unit for five years now since purchasing it at a pawn shop for $300. This is the 4th Yamaha I have owned and could not be happier. This receiver is almost 20 years old and I have had no problems with it. I have owned and demoed several receivers in the last 15 years and this one is special. I realize that its price point when new was quite high (at $1200-$1500) so its a bit of an apples to oranges scenario to most of the units I can compare it to but there are a couple. One was a pioneer elite from about the same time and another was a Sony es from about 2010. The pioneer was a very warm sounding unit and had quite the remote as it was a touch screen ( for you kids out there, that was a big deal in the late 90's early 2000's). It seemed ok but not as special as something you would expect costing over $2000. The es was a much newer unit but it had the same problems as the Yamaha I had before this one. It had no power. When you cranked it up it did put out some clean sound but what it didn't have, which is hard for me to describe since I'm not an audiophile, power. It's as if the hole thing was put through a crossover. No matter if you put on an eq on it or turned up the bass knob there was little other than treble. The Sony was boasting 120w per channel and my Yamaha was 80w per. They both had hdmi inputs but I never liked how they relied on the subwoofer for the bottom end and there was always a hole where the mid range should be (also the problem I find with the sound bars that seem to be the most popular home theater set up these days). This is where the rx-v2092 comes in. I knew it was an older unit and didn't have more than one optical cable hook up let alone one for hdmi but when I demoed the unit and it had more power and dynamic range than anything else I have heard other than some silver faced beasts from the 70's I was blown away. In a home theater set up, sure if you have money to burn the sky is the limit but for $300 ( much less on e-bay these days) you can have a receiver that with my cobbled together speaker set up( Polk rt-800i fronts, acoustic research center, and cerwin Vega at-10 rears) that rivals even the best theaters. You can take it as loud as you can stand. I have a monster cable thx subwoofer that I got for next to nothing when cc went out of business that I use very little of because I get plenty of low end from my main and rear speakers. That is how it used to be done and the 2092 has it in spades. There are some draw backs, it doesn't do blue tooth streaming or even care what that is, it won't take or switch your HDMI cables. Also it doesn't have a dts decoder which I have read in other reviews but almost all blue rays use dts HD as their only surround sound option and hooked up with a digital optical cable I get amazing surround sound so I don't know if my blue ray player does the decoding or what but it sounds sweet to me and everyone else that's listened to it. The only down side to the 2092 is the lack of a 5 channel stereo option that later Yamahas had. I do go through the process of hooking up my rears to the front speaker b jacks in the back to listen to music if I really want to crank it full tilt. That has more to do with the polk's being more suited for movies than music( they sound great for both but being dual 6.5" woofers they sound much fuller with the 10" Vegas helping out). With the ability to get one of these for $200 or less most times on e-bay its an easy decision ( unless your married because bringing a Darth Vader black 60 or so pound monster into the living room, not to mention the speakers to handle this thing, might be a problem).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 16, 2007]
Audioman00
AudioPhile

Strength:

Power
Built Very Well
BUILT IN JAPAN!

Weakness:

none

The most impressive sounding receiver I have personally ever heard, the only thing even close was the DSP-A1000 I had years ago, but no digital in's on the dspa1000, so this is gods personal gift to me!

Similar Products Used:

if only i had the time... to list them all.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 20, 2003]
Ouchie
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

2 sub outs, 2 front outs, 2 rear outs S-video out for all, the price was a steal

Weakness:

only one Optic out

I have been very happy with the 2092 since buying it. I don't run out to buy new equipment every year, I buy it to keep till I blow it up. I use the 2092 to power Klipsch KG 4's a Klipsch center, Klipsch KM2 rears and a 15" powered Klipsch sub. teehee. When this system is set up right the sound that you get is out of this world for movies. I did buy a JVC 56" HD 16:9 format TV to finish it all off this year.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 02, 2002]
normlaf22
AudioPhile

Strength:

this unit has handled anything I have had to throw at it..ther total array of mis matched speakers through this unit did very well..it covered their flaws..

This review is more from a laymans point of view than from a techno person, but I am a pro musician as well..I found this unit to be so far above my previous unit which was the Denon AVR3000. the Denon had a sputtering sound in the tuner that just drove me up a wall and multiple service checks did nothing to help it..So I lived w/o the tuner for the most part with the Denon.. This unit has a tuner that is as clean as any I have ever heard in any unit, and the power is there, I think Yamaha has a tendency to under rate their power and output..I find there is much more power in this unit than is quoted in the specs..all of clean and I was driving a mixture of speakers instead of a matched set..I am using a Yamaha powered subwoofer model YST-SW100..that too handles this receiver quite well, I have a tendency to use all around sound instead of plain stereo as some may like, that does not seem to be a part of this receiver..that is fine with me...I did not spend this much money for a 2 speaker system for stereo..I personally do not consider having the inability to create straight 2 channel stereo a fault as some reviews seem to think..I still own an older Yamaha receiver I purchased in the early 80''s and it still performs flawlessy so if the 2092 keeps up with it wonderful and I have every reason to feel that it will.. i recently moved and while the system was apart i decided to update and replace the speakers with a fully factory matched set, the 2092 sprang to a totally new life immediately...handled everything more than expectered and I really went overboard in loading up the reciever with all the possible speakers it had a place to plug them in...lots of speakers..an overkill in a way..BUT, the 2092 does not balk at all with all of this in line..Remarkable to me..plus the ability with the extra remote to add more on in another room..the main remote was a bit to deal with at first, but I called Yamaha and got excellent and friendly help to make it quite a bit easier...

Similar Products Used:

Denon AVR3000--last Denon product I would ever buy and it cost $300.00 more to boot..

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 06, 2002]
SunHawk7
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great power for 5.1 and good receiver when used in that context. Surprisingly, it was able to drive very difficult electrostatics along with the other channels and not stumble during even very intense action sequences. I may keep using these old Accoustats for a while because of this. I expected the Yamaha to click off at the first sign of trouble and it held its own, producing room rattling sound levels.

Weakness:

No replacement for separates. Doesn''t produce 2 channel stereo music cleanly. It would be fine for casual listening, parties, etc., but very disappointing for critical listening. Still, quite good for a receiver and also better than the Denon 3200 I auditioned before deciding on this one.

I bought this receiver when I got my first DVD player in 1997. I got it as much for its video switching capability as its 5.1 DD. It replaced an old Denon receiver that put too much noise into the video signal--not to mention what it did to audio. First off, I was very impressed with the number of inputs. It covered everything I wanted it to do. The amp seemed solid, well built and powerful. It was also fairly noiseless in both audio and video signals. I am running two Quart rear speakers, a Polk center channel and Jamo 400 Professional fronts. A seperate 15" JBL Sub is powered by a Carver amp. They seem to match fairly well through this receiver. The Yamaha can really power it out, maintaining significant headroom at higher than normal volume levels. Sound is clean and impressive during movies. The amp always runs cool and never seems to break a sweat. All in all, I was very pleased. The amp has been a forget about it piece of equipment--No problems and good performance. But I also noticed another personal trend. I''ve not sat and actually listened to music in quite a while. The digital sound fields were originally fun to play with, but now I''ve settled to only using a theater setting during DVD movies. I don''t use any of the other sound fields at all, except for the stadium mode during a big sports game. Still, I was curious that with all these features, why wasn''t I critically listening to music anymore? I finally hooked up a Nakamichi PA-7 amp and Nakamichi CA-5 preamp with no tone controls and mostly straight through signal path. I then hooked up a set of very demanding Accoustat 2MH electrostatics and ran just that setup using my Meridian DVD/CD player. It was clear why I hadn''t been listening to music much lately. Although the Yamaha was great for watching movies and DVD concerts, it fell flat reproducing music. When playing through the Yamaha 2092, I found the sound slightly warmly colored with fair imaging and depth. Instruments tended to get lost in the mix and all of it was covered over with a very muddy, unfocused bass. Highs tended to be a little more defined, but the bass was loose and overbearing and would smear through the performance. This is using straight 2 channel, effects off listening. It performed better with the Jamo 400''s, but still exhibited the same problems.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 15, 2000]
Martin
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great Sound, Solid construction.

Weakness:

complicated remote

It is one of the best receiver I have used. I have used Sony, Pioneer and Denon. Around same price range, it is absolutely superb Receiver. DD and DPL decoding is excellent and music sound is clear and powerful. One real problem is remote control, it is confusing and construction is flimzy. But it is no problem to me because I finally got my Pronto remote (I was hesitant to spend $286 for a remote, but now the money well spend...) and consolidate 7 remote to this. If you are considering to build Home Theater, It is your best luck since you can find one used one under $800 easily.
If you can find one at good price go get it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 02, 2000]
James
Audiophile

Strength:

Sound, Sound, Sound!!!

Weakness:

None

I bought demo for $800 from local store. I just hooked it up to my speakers and DVD. I almost lost where I was. The Matrix was just killing me. I considered some cheap model with DTS but after I listened the sound, I decided I can definitely live without DTS. Dolby Digital decoding is just amazing. Dolby Prologic with may old VCR was wonderful too. Solid construction. If you can find one, just get it. RXV2095 is with DTS but except that You will not be disappointed. How may DTS movies out there anyway!!! DD is enough to enjoy the DVD (At least for me). Music plays flawlessly with warm sound and clear reproduction. MSRP $1599 is little high. But comparing other products within similar price range, Yamaha RXV2095 is definitely stand out.

Similar Products Used:

Pioneer Elite 24tx

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 05, 2000]
Chung
Audiophile

Strength:

Excellent sound, DD decoding

It is my second review on Yamaha 2092. The first one I acquired from Watson Audio was excellent except the Volume dial problem. Thank you for Mark Valeri's suggestion. But mine has broken motor teeth, I returned it to the dealer and
they gave me one year old floor model with some extra money.
I'm really satisfied with this unit. Actually I bought two of floor model from them and one is on sale now. I may upgrade to 2095 if I can find a good used one with fair price. The brand new one is good, but for my limited budget, used one with a bargain is better.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 18, 2000]
Peter Szmrecsanyi
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sound, powerful remote

Weakness:

Not enough optical inputs, no RF (dig. LD) input, no DTS

Overall a very nice receiver, but without DTS. It delivers supperb sound (so long as you have decent speakers!). Unfortunatly, due to the lack of DTS, this product is worth while only at a price much lower that the RX-V2095. However, if you are a DD enthusiast (and have nbo need for DTS) it's a great buy.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 81  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com