Yamaha HTR-5790 A/V Receivers

HTR-5790

7-channel discrete amplifier configuration (110W x 7RMS/FTC), digital ToP-ART and High Current Amplification, Direct Stereo mode for 2-channel sound, accurate touch digitally regulated volume control governs all channels, Audio Delay for adjusting lip-synch, new 32-bit Yamaha LSI (YSS-930) for CINEMA DSP processing, compatibility with latest movie sound formats including Dolby Digital EX, Dolby Pro Logic II, DTS-ES Discrete 6.1, DTS Neo:6and DTS 96/24, THX Select processing, 27 surround programs (47 variations) with SILENT CINEMA and Night Listening mode, component video up conversion:S-video/composite signal conversion to component video signal, YPAO (Yamaha Parametric Room Acoustic Optimizer), inputs/outputs for custom installation (Zone 2, Zone 3and speaker A/B selection), 9-channel speaker outputs, automatic presence speaker or Zone 2 speaker selection.

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
joshhunsaker   AudioPhile [Jan 23, 2010]

I picked this guy up on ebay last month for a song ($125) and ended up paying an extra $40 just to get the remote (pissed me off a little that you have to have a remote in order to access essential menus....really dumb idea that was consider it came to me without one and the L/R balance was completely skewed by the previous owner I assume...) and was so ticked I didn't around to actually plugging it in until recently to test it to make sure it worked.

Well, it does work. Rather nicely at that. In fact - it's a really pretty phenomenal receiver. Massive transformer, large internal heatsinks (it does get rather warm) extensive layers of components nestled inside the chassis, very substantial/intricate build quality, lots of connectors, etc. The most surprising thing (besides that it outperforms my Sony ES series surround amp and many other nice 2-channel ones I've had) is how good the converters are. That's right. Not something you would think any general integrated receiver would ever do well. Compared to my Lucid ADA-1000 (not a cheap toy, though it is a little older) being fed by an Adcom cd player (acting as transport) matched through a likewise not cheap Aphex impedance matcher - it sounded literally like a breath of fresh air. I couldn't believe it. A receiver that cost as much as the stand alone pro-level Lucid I purchased (it's a D/A and A/D to be fair though, and still quite nice) was noticeably more detailed, clear and extended in the top-range. I am starting to rethink the whole components vs. separates battle...very seriously.

Quite powerful as well. Some cd's I have the volume up about 1/4th of what I know it will go to and that is plenty loud. I'm running Polk Audio LS50's as mains currently until I fetch my Polk RTA 15TLs (monsters those are) from San Jose where I left them (too big to take at the time). Bass is substantial but not bloated and boomy, highs are extended without being sharp or brash and the midrange has plenty of presence and vocals are ultra smooth. Basically every generic "audiophile"-style quality you would read being attached to an expensive piece of kit in say a typical Stereophile mag you could use to describe this machine. It's pretty surprising to say the least. Definitely not what I was expecting (though, I'm not really sure what I was expecting from it). I've had some really monstrous pro-audio amps that haven't held a candle to the sound quality from this piece (and sadly, many other much cheaper pieces) of gear.

You need the remote though, don't forget that part. I'm docking it a star as I feel it's really inept to design such a nice receiver that leans on a POS remote to play such a vital role (really, Yammie - what were you guys thinking? Is it that hard to make one knob or set of buttons on the receiver that actually does something useful? Too much to ask I guess...) Surround modes are exceptional naturally, though I do wish I knew if they were using Wolfson or CirrusLogic or Burr-Brown or whatever dacs on the thing, as that part is so exceptional (2-channel is a huge standout). Haven't even gotten my hands on a proper mic to test out the YPAO thing (which I'm assuming is also as good as people claim). Should be fun...

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Charles   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 05, 2009]

As a audio video integrated amplifier it is a fine set indeed. All the bells and whistles one could ever want. Very good at converting video from S-video to composite and whatever combination you desire from it. Has a rather novel automatic graphic equalizer setup. Finely detailed on TV screen menu system. Has plenty of power for most applications but the acutal total measured RMS power of the 7 channels combined do fall short of the advertised figures. Even so, this is only a small issue as many other manufacturers flat out lie about these figures just to sell a product. The main thing is that over the past four years I have owned it, it has been quite reliable. My one and only complaint is that as a "receiver" it does rather poorly. Sensitivity of the FM is decent but the selectivity is quite poor. What this means is that if you live nearby a strong FM transmitter, this strong signal will overwhelm the IF strip and prevent you from hearing some of the more distant stations on other parts of the dial. I now have an outboard tuner, a Marantz ST-6000. With this I now can hear all of my stations from Washington DC and not just the local Baltimore ones.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
frostedsoul   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 20, 2006]
Strength:

THX Cinema, Dolby prologic II, 6.1 surround.

This receiver so awesome, the bass so decent when turn to high volume, mid and treble are very clear. The surroud is so true.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha 5890, Pioneer VSX-9300TX, Denon AVR-3805, PIONEER VSX-1014TX-K
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rt   Audio Enthusiast [May 10, 2006]
Strength:

wonderful clean sound, plenty power plus!!

Weakness:

unknown "switching" noise during regular use??? after one years use

have used the 5790 for just over a year, replaced the pioneer vsx-d309,great sound quality, pure , clean sound,wonderful music modes, enjoy "presence"mode alot! lately though, have been having intermitten "clicking" noise during regular use,(similar to mode switching noise) without system operation delay, or interuption, but is audible and annoying! any similar defects or advice?

Customer Service

unknown

Similar Products Used: pioneer,sony ,kenwood,
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
maddgoo1   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 01, 2005]
Strength:

Easy to use, good quality amp with lots surround choices and automatic features.

Weakness:

Remote control backlighting would be helpful Runs a bit warm; fans are a must if installed in a cabinet.

I purchased the Yamaha HTR-5790 to replace an mid 90s Onkyo TX-717 Pro. I am using the unit as a amp and preamp to drive my ADCOM GFA-555. Two sets of Surrounds and the center speaker are connected to the Yamaha, and my old Adcom drives the old Boses. The device has many surround features, several of which are automatic and will select in response to the source material. The amp is easy to use and you can adjust the response room equalization via the automatic YPAO analyzer, or tinker manually. The amp has a good on-screen display you can connect to the TV to enable tinkering from the easy chair. You can also adjust and rename your individual components on screen and rename for example, "DVD" to the brand component for that input, for example "Pioneer." The choices are provided in upper, lower, and numbers. The remote control is easy to use, but somewhat hard to read in a semi-darkened room; backlighting might help. Power is ample for the speakers being driven, and the connectors are good quality. The quality of sound is superb from where I sit, and is not fatiguing to listen to for long periods. Both the front panel and back panels are good quality, and easy to use and understand. This particular unit might still be avaialble at a bargain, since the replacement HTR-5890, was just introduced. I've been very happy so far with the purchase of this amp and would recommend this unit to other enthusiasts. Note: no comments provided on the tuner section since I have not utilized the FM features.

Similar Products Used: Onkyo TX-717 PRO
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
doc4b   Audio Enthusiast [May 25, 2005]
Strength:

Component Switching (why don't manufacturers put more component inputs on their TVs?) Clarity Power YPAO and Onscreen tweaking

Weakness:

Price was a little high compared to the bargains you get online, but you don't get 2 years financing on line! ;)

What can I say that hasn't been posted previously? This receiver is incredibly clean and incredibly powerful. I bought it to replace a Kenwood VR-7070 that I was not especially thrilled with. It was powerful and clear as well, but you couldn't adjust the treble/bass in surround mode. Now, I realize purists would say you shouldn't tinker with mother nature, but the system sounded a little flat to me in my living room. So, I took a leap off faith on this receiver (after reading all the reviews and realizing that I could tweak it to my satisfaction with treble/bass, and the very interesting YPAO). BTW, be wary of the new 5890, the specs seem more similar to a Pioneer or Sony, than to the fine quality recievers that Yamaha usually creates (XM ready or not)

Similar Products Used: Kenwood VR-7070 Yamaha RS-V496 Many crappy Sony and Pioneers HTRs
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mamboni   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 06, 2005]
Strength:

Clean detailed sound Excellent soundstaging Numerous DSP modes Enough inputs for any user build quality and styling Value!!! Video switching capabilities

Weakness:

None

This is an excellent digital receiver. I purchased a receiver in lieu of separates with trepidation, as receivers I've heard sounded mediocre due to high noise floor, companded dynamics and homogenized sound with no sound-staging. But, the home theatre I was constructing was primarily for my children, and I did not want the spend thousands of dollars to do it with separates. I am primarily a music listener, and watch an occasional movie in my office study using my separates, Ohm Walsh 5's and a BenQ XGA TLD projector. Based on reading many reviews and professioal review articles, and influenced by Yamaha's reputation for high quality digital processing, I purchased the HTR-5790. My basement theatre measures about 18 X 30 with 9' drop ceilings and I wired it for 7.1 (2 front, 2 side, 2 rear, outboard amplified stereo subwoofers). This sound quality of this receiver really surprised me. First, it is dead quiet. It has a see-through sound with a soundstage stage that is wide, though foreshortened somewhat in straight stereo. It is delicate and very detailed. Dynamics have nice snap. I have played it at both low and very high volumes to test it's mettle. Well, this baby gets hot, but never has it clipped, distorted or in any way mangled the music. I was very pleased and did not miss listening to my primary system. But, when I starting utilizing the DSP sound fields, the music really came to life. The sound stage widened somewhat, but deepened dramatically and, depending on the mode, moved closer to the listener for a very warm and engaging listening experience. I have used Mercery Living Presence and Reference Recordings CDs that I am familiar with as reference sources, plus the following DVD movies: Matrix, Star Wars Episode II, Pirates of the Caribbean, Savings Private Ryan. Wow, this receiver is absolutely wonderful. I had utilized the automatic setup feature YPAO and the result is a totally seemless integration of surround speakers speakers with the front loudspeakers. You are never aware of the individual speakers as discrete sound sources [but I checked them and they are indeed functioning]. The movie effects were executed flawlessly, the dynamics startling, the imaging perfect (I prefer a phantom center with the Ohms). On serious classical music listening, the Yamaha images beautifully, has a spacious and present soundstage, is timbrally vivid and is detailed but delicate and never cold and analytic. The high end is sweet and lucid; there is absolutely no phase distortion, edginess or any high of transitorish intermodulation distortion. It really sounds like a straight wire. IMHO, this receiver is a bargain. You will not get better sound even if you spend much more. Rather, you're loudspeakers and room will be the limiting factor on sound quality, not this reciever. The unit has numerous features. The component video output is one of the major reasons for my purchase. No more TV remote!! The unit's remote has many functions and is complex. But, you do not need to master all of the intracacies of this unit to use and enjoy it. Once you perform the YPAO and learn the most basic operations you are up and running. The unit does get hot, so generous ventilation is recommended. This is a great receiver. It you mate it with good quality loudspeakers that are efficient (SPL 89 of better) and present a fairly benign impedance (don't have big impedance dips and high reactance), you will not be dissapointed. Highly recommended.

Similar Products Used: Ohm Walsh 5 Loudspeakers Kinergetic BSC-200 Stereo Subwoofers Ohm Pro-200 Sound Cylinders Dual Bookshelf speakers X4 B&K ST2020 Stereo Power Amp Rotel RC960 Pre-Amp Rotel RB960 Power Amps x2 (bridged) Rotel RT950BX Tuner Rotel 955AX CD Player Onkyo DV-C501 CD/DVD Changer Pioneer DV-260 DVD Player Sony SLV-660 HF VCR
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dtwmiller   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 31, 2005]
Strength:

Sound Quality. Number of DSP fields to choose from.

Weakness:

Manual.

Purchased a Sony STRDE995 last year and cannot believe the difference in sound quality. After setting up using the Auto YPAO setup, the system sounds great. I have wanted a THX Select Receiver for quite awhile but didn't want to pay top dollar for one. There is a tremendous difference in the sound. After reading on the Yamaha web site the differences between the HTR line and the RXV line, I went with the HTR. The Yamaha web site basically states the only difference is in the faceplate and 1 less component video hookup on the back. Manual can be difficult to follow, but don't give up. You will be well rewarded. Glad my wife let me buy another new receiver less than one year after purchasing the Sony receiver.

Similar Products Used: Sony STRDE995
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
archady   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 24, 2004]
Strength:

quality for the money

Weakness:

can only use either presence or sb not both at the same time

Due to gross abuse of the Best buy return policy I am not sure were the line between store credit and cash was drawn on this. I am very pleased with this ht unit. I did a lot of research and was either going to go with an HK or a Yammy and due to the store credit went with the htr at Best buy, dont listen to anybody there is only one difference between htr and rxv and that is the face plate. recently hooked up the presence speakers for the movie dsp and all I can say is that I was impressed unfortunately you can use only the presence or surround back not both at the same time. this is quality equipment and Iam sure that until yamaha comes out with 9.1 ch I will own this

Similar Products Used: htr-5590, accurus a-150 amp and preamp
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
spocko   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 28, 2004]
Strength:

The 2 channel direct mode is excellent!!! It's really nice to see the THX SELECT logo. It's a seal of approval on the amp/preamp of this receiver! And I can hear it!!

Weakness:

I wish it could decode/digitally the sacd/dvd audio thru the digital inputs!!

Wow! A 7.1 channel A/V THX Select receiver with room acoustic optimizing (YPAO), @110 w/chnl @8 ohms!!! for $519.00 + $35.00 Shpng!!!And I sold my Onkyo Tx-sr501 w/ a 6.1 sat/sub system to friend for $150.00! So, I paid just $400.00 for this new receiver!!! It also has all the other decoding: dts 5.1,dts 96/24,dts 6.1 es/matrix,dts neo:6 music/movie and dolby digital (DD) 5.1, DD 6.1 EX, & most important Dolby PRO LOGIC IIX music/movie, which turns any 2/4/5.1/6.1 channel source into TRUE 7.1 channels with stereo back channels and additional steering technology in those back & surround L/R channels! + POST PROCESSING from THX & Yamaha DSP MODES!!!!

Similar Products Used: I have a Philips prgvsv scann dvd player. A GE 36" stereo TV. Yamaha htr-5790 receiver.Bic America DV62CLRS center speaker,2 6 1/2" woofers & 3/4" soft dome tweeter. a pair of 36" tall tower polk R50 w 2 6 1/2" drivers & a 3/4" soft dome tweeter.4 polk R15 surrounds w 5 1/2" driver & 3/4" sft dm twtr. 2 L/R KLH 10" SUBS w 50watt amps wired in parallel with submode off in the receiver. It sounds better! FOR SEAMLESS SUBWOOFER SOUND USE THE SPEAKER HIGH LEVEL INPUTS!!! NOT THE RCA INPUTS!!! THE LOW END HAS SO MUCH MORE PRESENCE!!!! LATER, SPOCKO!!!!!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com