Yamaha HTR-5460 A/V Receivers

HTR-5460

The HTR-5460 is a 5-channel receiver providing finest performance and processing available for music and video sound. The 5 channels are: Left/Right Main, Center, Left/Right Rear Effects. The receiver delivers Dolby Digital and DTS 5.1-channel formats. Yamaha''s Digital Sound Field Processing, Cinema DSP, and Tri-Field Processing are all included as is Dolby Surround Pro Logic processing. In addition, the HTR-5460 provides Silent Cinema and all channel stereo.

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
ghosty87   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 12, 2009]
Strength:

Great sound quality and hundreds maybe thousands of options. More inputs and outputs than any normal TV/Music watcher can use. Very good, receiver for the money.

Weakness:

No HDMI port due to the fact the receiver came out before HDMI was available or standard on entertainment systems.

I have the Yamaha HTR-5460 receiver, and it has always worked well with my Sony surround sound speakers. After my last move from NC to PA the Yamaha receiver started causing the front channel speakers to crackle, hiss, or buzz when in enhanced mode or if the treble was up even a little bit. So i read a post on this site that said to check the optical ribbon cables inside the receiver. I went through a pushed down on all the ribbon cable connection points on the main board, and i had instant success. The receiver no longer produces a hiss or buzz in the front channel speakers and i can now use enhanced sound mode with the treble all the way on max. I am writing this review to help anyone else who may encounter this problem of hissing in their speakers. Check the optical ribbon cables inside the receiver to fix the problem it is a very easy fix takes less than 5 minutes. Do not waste your time sending the receiver to a audio repair shop for this simple problem. Just push on each of the ribbon cable connectors inside your receiver and it should work. They get a little lose over time i assume. Hope this helps.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
ricky rodriguez   Casual Listener [Aug 25, 2003]
Strength:

high feature menu,power exposed,full function remote

Weakness:

none

Ive used all kind of recievers and the most appealling because #1 it has video switching {while its turned off even} #2-it has 100 Watts per/5 channel #3-it has 25dsp's {soundfields} #4-its mid-sized with all the inputs and features that all the other brands top of the line products have.probably the best mid-range price reciever on the market...............

Similar Products Used: yamaha rx-v995,& other yamaha's
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jmgatt   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 13, 2003]
Strength:

Very well powered. Doesnt take up a lot of vertical space. Bannana jack inputs for all speakers including B Speaker inputs.

Weakness:

After having this receiver for a few months I noticed a chirping/buzzing sound out of my front tweeters. Not knowing what to do I called etronics.com they were absolute no help! They told me to call a Yamaha certified repair center and have them look at it. However etronics.com was not known to be an authorized Yamaha dealer! After much debate with Yamaha, Etronics, and my local repair place. I finally got Yamaha to call my repair place and tell them to repair the unit! What a mess! But that was just the beginning. After having the unit in repair for two months they found nothing wrong with it. But when I got it home sure enough the chirping/buzzing was still there! So back to the repair place I went, and after another month they still could not find anything wrong with it. Finally I got home and took the cover off and looked at it myself. Not knowing what I was looking for I resorted to tapping every possible part in the receiver while it was on playing music. After 5 or 6 pokes I found a loose ribbon cable connecting the optical jacks to the main board. PROBLEM SOLVED! It has been over a year and I haven't heard that chirping/buzzing sound again.

I have been very impressed with this receiver. A friend of mine pointed me towards Yamaha and I am glad he did. The remote is just offal. I replaced it with a Home Theater Master MX-500 Remote from HomeTheaterMaster.com. The remote is a partial LCD screen remote because I think full LCD screens are for "RadioShack customers", but I wont get into that. I found the remote for $120 online, and once I programmed it with my 5 other remotes I put them away and haven't had to use one of them since I programmed it!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
PeterR   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 20, 2003]
Strength:

Music, movies; features, power, sound... EVERYTHING!

Weakness:

Convoluted remote control (once you get used to it, it is fine)

After doing extensive research, I narrowed my search down to they Yamaha. Originally, this unit was out of my price range, but I found it online for a really good deal. I brought my print out into a local Sears, and they matched it! The unit was on the shelf for $499.99, but I walked out with it for $329.99. Anyway, I chose this receiver because it was extremely powerful, and the power is very clean. 110watts per channel at .06% THD. For a receiver in this price range, this is excellent! I am using the receiver to power two JBL S310's, two JBL S26 (rear surrounds), one JBL S-Center, and the LFE-output is connected to an Infinity IL100S subwoofer. This system couldn't sound better. The reciever is a little un-userfriendly, but that is to be expected with so many features. This receiver is PACKED with features, too. The onscreen menu, 5-channel stereo, DolbyDigital, DTS, display dimmer, DSP, all the connectivity you will ever need, and much more. I looked at Onkyo and Denon, but none could really compare to the Yamaha. Onkyo and Denon seemed really over-priced for what you get. The Yamaha had better amplifier statistics than the Onkyo's and Denon's that I looked at, for twice the price. After spending a year with this product, I couldn't be happier. The volume can be cranked nearly all the way up (to the point that you can't be in the same room with it on) and there is NO distortion, at all. The power is so clean, it is indescribable. I would recommend this product, even today, despite the fact that it is a little out of date with some of the newer technologies. I don't really go to the movie theater anymore to see movies... the combination of the Yamaha receiver and the JBL speakers is far better than any of the theaters I have been in. If you want an excellent home theater, this is the receiver to buy under $1000. Music is also unbeatable. This receiver is not just a theater receiver. The power is so clean (.06%THD) that music is absolutely amazing.

Similar Products Used: Technics, Denon, Onkyo, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
StanD   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 26, 2002]
Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

Quirky volume management/display

I've used audioreview.com to do a lot of my research for this and other products and wanted to give something back by placing a review myself. I really found these to be helpful... After doing extensive research I narrowed down the field to Onkyo and Yamaha. At the end Yamaha ended up winning out, but the Onkyo did have Dolby ProLogic II (if you listen to a lot of CDs this is for you - it pretty much breaks the CD signal down into 5.1). I have been using my 5460 for a good half year now and have only praises for it. My audiophile knowledge/interest is somewhere around medium and I can't think of one component that can't be connected to this receiver. Basically, its got everything from on screen programming to 5 total optical inputs. Believe me when I say that its got plenty of connectivity for everything you'll thorough at it (unless you're a pro and have specialty equipment). My only tiff with this unit is that the volume level starts at something like -70dB and as you increase, gradually increases to 0db. Wouldn't it make sense to start at 0dB when off/silent and increase up as it gets louder?! Also, the volume knob requires quite a turn to really change the volume (the volume changes by about 0.5dB, so it takes a lot of turning to quickly get the volume changed). I know I'm nit-picking, but what else can I do with a perfect system?

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Steve   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 02, 2002]
Strength:

Price, sound quality, more features and sound effects than you could imagine

Weakness:

remote has to many keys!

I purchased this unit in january, to upgrade my living room system. I moved my rv-503 to my bedroom system. Anyway, I've been very pleased with this receiver. I needed one with a phono input, and this model had it. And the surround sound works with the phono, and my other receiver did not. Plenty of clean clear power, many features, including a loudness button for more bass at low volumes. A great all around unit, my fourth yamaha receiver sense 1985.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha rv-503 receiver
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
c1scok1d   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 23, 2002]
Strength:

Flexibility, Power, Clarity, Reliability.

Weakness:

...? Not able to crank it up due to neighbors...

Excellent unit. Very clean and strong. Plenty of input/output to make a nice batch of spaghetti with all of the wiring…I live in a high rise, so I haven’t completely experienced what my system is capable of. But I have turned it up plenty, which keeps me motivated to buy a house! If you are starting out and want a flexible and impressive system on a limited budget, feel free to duplicate my set up. My budget conscious setup: Receiver: Yamaha 5460 Front: JBL N38 (Mounted on 12” speaker stands w/spikes) Center: JBS S-Center Rear: JBL N24 (Wall mounted) Sub: Sony SA-WM40 (Modified w/ fiber fill and carpet spikes) All speaker wire, banana plugs and A/V cables by Monster. I’m willing to bet the ranch that there is not a better system out there for the total price I’ve paid!

Similar Products Used: None, do your homework and you shouldn''''t have to!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
blizzard   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 22, 2002]
Strength:

The sound out of the unit is wonderful. Very crisp and clean with no distortion.

Weakness:

Silent Cinema was not what Yamaha hyp''''ed it up to be. Wish there was more than one composite video out. Also wish that the speaker output was not automatically cut when the headphones were inserted.

Just got this AV receiver. Was looking into it for a while and hummin and hawing over waiting for the 6.1 stereo units to come down in price. After hearing the 5460 I decided not to wait besides, there''''s the added expense of buying an additional rear center channel. The unit works very well though I''''m a little dissappointed in the Silent Cinema feature. It doesn''''t work nearly as well as Yamaha touts it to be. Unfortunately a lot of my listening will be done though headphones as I don''''t have a very big house but do have small kids and a wife. I''''m running JBL N28''''s as the rear and an Athena center channel. Once I played around with the rear levels I got this thing to rock. Plugged in Atlantis in the DVD player (you can tell I have kids) The opening scene sounds fantastic...sounds just as good if not better than what I heard in the theatre. This really exposes how the surround sound really works and Yamaha did a very good job at this. The Dolby Digital was amazing and the bass was wonderful. The sound was very crisp and clear on the high end with no distortion. I know that people complain about the remotes but I don''''t have a real problem with this one...it''''s a universal remote and controls my TV,VCR and DVD player I suppose the dial switch is a little loose and sometimes migrates to other settings but this is very minor. I guess as for other minor complaints I''''m not too crazy about some of their DSP''''s for CD''''s..I feel there''''s too much echo in their digital sound fields...I prefer just listening to the CD as it was recorded and don''''t care to manipulate it very much...Oh well, all said and done I''''m quite happy with this purchase. Oh by the way the component video in/out is more wideband video than what some of the manufacturers have. This has a 30MHz bandwidth which I''''m hoping will be good for switching HDTV...but that''''s a future buy.

Similar Products Used: JVC stereo receiver.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
jesus   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 19, 2002]
Strength:

custom sound ,outlets,sound quality

Weakness:

remote, narrow not well organized

I got a good deal on this a/v receiverone of the best at any price has plenty of video out lets for multiple hook ups [six] with s video input for each, aswell three component inputs which can be reassigned thru the on screen menu. a winner

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
c1scok1d   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 19, 2002]
Strength:

Power and features.

Weakness:

Remote

1st reciever purchased. So far so good, seems to run a little warm but probably normal. No problems, a strong workhorse.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com