Yamaha HTR-5450 A/V Receivers

HTR-5450

The HTR-5450 is a 5-channel receiver providing the finest performance and procesing available for music and video sound. The 5 channels are: Left/Right Main, Center, Left/Right Rear Effects. The receiver delivers Dolby Digital and DTS 5.1-channel formats. Yamaha's Digital Sound Field Processing, Cinema DSP and Tri-Field Processing are all included as is Dolby Surround Pro Logic processing. The HTR-5450 also provides Silent Cinema and all channel stereo.

User Reviews (24)

Showing 1-10 of 24  
Dan Andrews   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 14, 2003]
Strength:

Great sound and flexibility. Awesome bang for your buck!

Weakness:

Yes, the remote just feels kinda chintzy, but with a little practice, it's fully functional and very universal (although, alas, it doesn't do Tivo!). Mine's endured a few drops already, but it's held up well. Initial setup is a bit tricky, but no worse than any other receiver. FYI: ALL Dolby Digital systems require a some kind of setup for proper performance - the owner's manual makes the difference there, and Yamaha's was better than many I've read.

This is the best receiver I have heard in this price range. I've sold consumer electronics (mid- and high-end) for more than 12 years, and I know that in this price range it's easy for the manufacturer to get a "cookie-cutter" mentality. But not Yamaha. They still use their own DSP chip that is head-and-shoulders better than any competitor (again, in this price range). Discrete amplifiers for each channel keep it clean all around. Great value. This is replacing a terrific Kenwood KRV-9010 I had for 12 years (yep, bought it at my first job, Circuit City!). I feel confident that this Yamaha will serve me as well for at least as long.

Similar Products Used: Kenwood, Harmon Kardon, Denon, NAD, Bang & Olefson, Carver, JVC, Technics, Pioneer, Sony.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tim   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 30, 2003]
Strength:

There are plenty of hook ups for audi and video devices.

Weakness:

The romote again gets my vote.

The HTR-5450 has a fair sound quality, and a low output. The construction of the cabinet is quite poor. The top "sank" in within the first week of owning the unit.

Similar Products Used: JVC, Pioneer, Marantz
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
jcambero   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 20, 2002]
Strength:

Powerful, easy to use, plenty of digital inputs. Good for the money if you wait until the next model is out.

Weakness:

Bad design on remote, warm sound, value will go to the floor as the new model comes out, no component video switching.

I had this Yamaha only for a little while only because I couldn't do component video switching on it. I was very impressed by the power but I have to say the sound comes out too warm for me. I also own a Marantz SR-5000 and sound-wise the Marantz sounds better hands down. Maybe it's because this Yamaha objective is not to beat the high end stuff but still I couldn't help feeling I was "stepping down" when I listened to the Yamaha. I also noticed I went through some trouble when trying to sell it. This receiver is too comercial and people see it almost as "one more" (ie. a Kenwood, Pioneer or even worse a Sony). Definitely did not hold its value. The project for the 5450 must have run out of money right when they were designing the remote because it's so thin it makes you feel you are controlling with a butterfinger candy bar.

Similar Products Used: Marantz SR-5000, HK AVRs
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
agtpunx40   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 13, 2002]
Strength:

great sound and value. Lots of features. reliable, everything it claims to be

Weakness:

small weaknesses: remote and sub out (see above)

very good product. I listened to many recievers in the price range, was trying to decide between this and a Denon, when this one went on sale. Very reliable also, no problems at all despite lots of use often at loud volumes. I am not a huge fan of DSP, but they are usefull sometimes. Like others have mentioned, the remote isn't the greatest, and while this may seem insignificant, it doesn't have a last channel button for the TV (although it does for the cable box) which has been really annoying a few times. My only other real complaint is that I think the small speaker setting cutoff is to high. I prefer having the speakers set to small to let the amp work where it's needed, but 90hz is a little too high for my taste. Not a huge deal, but still. These are just minor complaints about a very good product. This and the HSU VTF2 are the only two things that I bought 4 for overall rating because well, it's a $400 reciever and just is not able to compete with high end recievers. 4 for value, you won't be disappointed if you're looking in the price range, but like I said, not a "giant killer". my system Sony Wega 24" flat screen Yamaha HTR 5450 JBL S 312 fronts JBL S center JBL S 26 surrounds Hsu VTF 2 sub

Similar Products Used: many in many price ranges
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Tim   AudioPhile [Aug 09, 2002]
Strength:

Yamaha as a name.

Weakness:

Remote is difficult to use, not even my child likes it? The quality for being a "Yamaha" is not what I expected.

This receiver has been a hard receiver to work with. The literature in the manual is less then easy to understand. I have dealt with the same troubles as others, the receiver shutting off and the message to check speaker wires, the top of the receiver has sunk down and does not look very appealing in the entertainment center.

Similar Products Used: JVC, Pioneer, Marantz
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Tim   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 19, 2002]
Strength:

As good as high end

Weakness:

None for the money.

This receiver is a real value and remarkable for mass produced electronics. I use it for two channel playback on my CDs. This rivals some of the "high end" stuff I have had in the past. I have a Yamaha 506 CD player which I couple via optical interconnect to the receiver. I use good cables and Tannoy speakers to get the best overall presentation I have ever had in a stereo. If you are looking for stereo electronics dont look further than Yamaha. Forget the "high end" electronics. They dont have tone controls and produce a bright thin sound that doesnt resemble anything natural. I have respect for speakers that are high end but I think mass produced electronics have caught up with the pricey stuff rendering it obsolete.

Similar Products Used: Jolida, Acurus
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ekarjala   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 24, 2002]
Strength:

The HTR-5450 is a real value proposition. Lots of quality sound and plenty of tweakability for the audio nut. In my experience I would have to spend 3-5 times as much to get significantly more sonic quality (which is the key in this price range).

Weakness:

The remote takes some getting used to.

Sounds great out of the box and, as you learn all the features, offers a wide range of tuning options for even better sound. Lots of sound detail without being harsh - smooth, predictable midrange - plenty of bass response. I am able to run the bass and treble controls flat and be totally satisfied. As others have stated, the DSP modes are better than expected. I intermittently use the digital cinema modes when watching DVD movies - they seem to add some nice atmospherics without overpowering the original intent of the soundfield. I enjoy the jazz club setting when listening to most live music recorded in a smaller venue. The 5 channel stereo is just great for casual listening to almost anything.

Similar Products Used: Marantz, Pioneer, Harmon Kardon, Technics, Sony
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Josh   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 28, 2002]
Strength:

Bass/Treble adjustable from remote, along with almost everything else.

Weakness:

Remote not programmable, weak power output, crappy display, ugly to look at.

I had this receiver for less than a month and had to take it back. I didn''t have a huge budget, but buying this was a waste of money. The sound was bad, and I am suspicious of the 100w X 5 claim. I was constantly turning it up to 45 (out of 50!) to power my 220w yamahas. LOW POWER!! I exchanged it for the Yamaha HTR-5450 and couldn''t be happier. Now THAT''S 100 watts/channel! This thing puts out sound like a boom box.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha HTR-5450
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
gralen   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 14, 2002]
Strength:

sound clean and clear and lifelike

Weakness:

yamaha customer service department it sucks. Should have 100 watts perchannel with the price paid instead of 80

I purchase the 1200 which I think this is the same thing. I had trouble with the first one I had and it took me 3 months to get a replace ment model. The first one did not come on. The second one was worth the wait. I have it hooked up to some celestion and I am in CD heaven. This sounds better than my 596 which was stolen in july along with my mirage om10. well this sounds a lot better than the 596 and it makes the celestion sounds like they are worth 2000 dollars speakers. The sound is clean and the separation is clear. Even though I listen to cd''s I think it will sounde alot better in surround sound. The remote is a lot better than thatpiece of junk if a remote the 596 had. In a few minutes I am gojng to tweeters to pick up my new om10s by mirage. and next month I am going to pick up the panasonic 36 inch I have on layaway. This weekend I am going to try to see DVD movies. The celestion are going in the back . update this weekend about how this does on dvd. I am hearing things on these cheap celestion speakers that I didnt know was in the music.

Similar Products Used: yamaha 506 yamaha 490. sony and another yamaha years ago
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
Bob   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 08, 2002]
Strength:

Deceptivly powerful. Easy to use remote. Good sound.

Weakness:

none so far

This speaker simply put rocks. It produces a good clear signal, with very little distortion. The remote isn''t that hard to learn, contrary to everyone else''s beliefs. I sit at a near 180 degree plane to the receiver IR port, and I don''t even have to move my arm at all to use the dumb thing. The receiver was a breeze to set up, and took me a little under an hour to run all the wires and connect everything. The sound fields are quite interesting to play around with. I love the five channel stereo, I can''t even turn the thing up past half without my whole body being rocked to the core. I run the JBL S series setup with the S310 mains, S center, PB10 sub, and S26 rears.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 24  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com