Yamaha HTR-5440 A/V Receivers

HTR-5440

The HTR-5440 is a 5-channel receiver providing finest performance and processing available for music and video sound. The 5 channels are: Left/Right Main, Center, Left/Right Rear Effects. The receiver delivers Dolby Digital and DTS 5.1-channel formats. Yamaha's Digital Sound Field Processing, Cinema DSP and Tri-Field Processing are all included as is Dolby Surround Pro Logic processing. The HTR-5440 also provides Silent Cinema and all channel stereo.

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
tanvir   AudioPhile [Feb 17, 2014]

I have this receiver for many years, hooked up with 7 Cambridge sound works and let me tell every time I play music or watch movies it gives me smile every time, I also have Boston accustics speakers that I hooked up once,, all I can say God damn!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mraudio   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 15, 2006]
Strength:

power especially for a home theater receiver. This is the second most powerful receiver I've had but only falling to a stereo recevier. I guess you can say DSPs also.

Weakness:

Weakness is only the DSPs they aren't the best, but I've definately heard worst.

I'd have to say that this is the best receiver that I've had overall. I've had receivers from yamaha, pioneer, panasonic, aiwa, KLH, and technics. It has the plenty of power for me. I use 2 KLH 250 watts speakers and 2 pioneer bookshelf speakers. I never have to get the volume past the 10 o'clock position. Although I have a BBE sonic maximizer, equalizer, and mixer hooked up to it. The DSPs are okay but the newer yamaha receiver I used to have had better DSPs. For some they may think that they muddy the sound and for others it may sound better, but for me they do muddy the sound a little. They aren't that bad if you tweak them, meaning using an equalizer. This receiver wouldn't be for an audioholic unless you hook up all the stuff that I have on it (BBE, equalizer, and mixer). If you don't need really great DSPs, need power, need digital sound, and a home theater receiver this is for you. If you can get the receiver cheap then you should get it.

Similar Products Used: pioneer vsx d514 aiwa d77 aiwa d55 pioneer vsx 305 other yamaha receiver panasonic KLH both home theater receivers vintage technics receiver
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Joseph Hernandez   AudioPhile [Oct 20, 2002]
Strength:

The features are endless. This makes the unit extremely flexible. Most importantly, the price is ridiculous. How can a company create such a wonderful unit for only $300. Amazing.

Weakness:

Ease of Use. I've heard one weakness was no Pro Logic II, but please who watches movies on VCR's or broadcast TV. Well maybe some people do but I haven't for years.

As I describe this unit I am doing so with my Onkyo TX 535 SV as a reference. Overall, the Yamaha seems to be a smoother sounding unit, hence the name "natural sound". It is currently connected to a Sony CDP CX-53 CD Player, Wharfedale RB-23 main speakers, Wharfedale RB center channel, Infinity SM 6.5 rear speakers, and a JBL PSW-12 subwoofer. I also have Direct TV and a Toshiba SD-1600 DVD player. I have compared this systems sold at local retailers and specialty shops. I have heard their systems ranging in price from a budget system of about $1000 to a theater that was developed for one of only two 12 channel systems in the world costing in excess of $500,000. (If anyone is ever in the San Antonio area you have to check it out at Bjorn's Audio Video. Trust me this is not an advertisement!) Obviously, the Yamaha receiver is the heart of my system. The unit isn't very big and I was a little apprehensive of its power capabilities. But after installing and a little tweaking I was very surprised at its capabilities. The sound quality was awesome. I first listened to several cd's ranging from classical to Jennifer Lopez. Again I was struck by how detailed each instrument sounded. Compared to the Onkyo it was definitely apparant. After this I popped in Planet of the Apes on dvd. I intentionally did this to make a comparison with a $5,000 system I just heard at Bjorn's using Definitive speakers and a higher model Yamaha receiver. To my surprise, there wasn't any real noticeable difference except maybe their system did play a little louder on highs and mids only.

Similar Products Used: Prior to this unit, I owned a Onkyo-TX SV 535. My brother paid over $500 for the unit around 6 years ago and sold it to me. It was rated at 100 watts x 2 in stereo mode and 65 watts x 3 + 25 x 2 in pr
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
jmarc   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 13, 2002]
Strength:

provides power, feature, settings/adjustments, flexibility, quality, all at a great price

Weakness:

if you've never used a receiver with all these features, it takes some getting used to...but thats not really a weakness, just a reality with this or any similar unit

I shopped around, compared reviews in magazines/websites etc., and thought yamaha sounded like a good, well-built av receiver. In the $300 price range, this is about the best you can do, imo. I've got decent speakers, dvd player, tv, this was the final component to replace, the sound quality of my system meets my needs perfectly, and this yamaha 5440 does all I need it to do (and much more)

Similar Products Used: 15 year old cheapo pioneer--didn't even have dolby surround, had some lame imitation that never worked very well (went in the trash can!) I have nht super one front spkrs (incredible), pretty decent
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
w-dave   Casual Listener [May 07, 2002]
Strength:

High current. low price. does not get hot.

Weakness:

no component video. not 96/24 capability

I purchased this product because I wanted inexpensive quality sorround sound for movies. This unit delivers. It does not have 96/24 capability (the yamaha web site will tell you it does but the crutchfield rep set me straight before I bought this it does not have it). I do not think its lack of 96/24 capability hinders its performance yet. It has 65W of high current power which fills up my huge room (15''x20'' with 16'' vaulted ceiling). Easy to set up all the speakers sound levels etc. Lots of sound fields to choose from. No problem with heat. It does get warm but I keep it in a completely enclosed home entertainment center that has no air flow. It does not have S-video capability but this was not a concern for me. 5 years from now I will by a reciever with component video capability. Right now I wanted to spend my cash on my new baby that is coming and on decent (not cheap and not expensive) speakers. This baby delivers great bass and great highs. The Yamaha 5440 does the trick for me!!!my system: tv: mitsubishi 55" HDTV Reciever: Yamaha 5440 (65Wx5) DVD: Sony nsp700 Speakers: Front main: JBL N26ii Center: JBL N-center Rear sorround: JBL N24AW Subwoofer: Yamaha yst 305 (dual 8" 200w)

Similar Products Used: pioneer stereo 80W reciever (purchased 1989)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike Dee   Audio Enthusiast [May 01, 2002]
Strength:

dpl 2, dd, dts, 6.1 channels, numerous dsp modes--but i find them useless. Amazing power output (75 watts per channel)

Weakness:

At high volume, sound is not as clear as other higher end brand.

I have a denon avr-1602 at home, but wanted to compare the sound to this Yamaha. My denon cost $$$ more than the Yamaha and I had thoughts in my mind that I got ripped off. Let me say that the Yamaha''s lcd display on the receiver looks pretty good, better than the denon. The power really surprised me. It sounded pretty loud when I set the volume to 1/3 of max. I''ve tested this against the 1602 extensively and came back with a few differences, as far as I can tell. the yamaha has all the features that most people would need, dpl 2 2,dts, dd, and 6.1 channels. Yes the yamaha has dolby prologic 2 contrary to what one of the reviewer wrote. The biggest difference b/w this receiver and the denon is sound clarity. I''ve turn up the volume of both receivers near the max, and found the sound to be more clear on the denon. The yamaha sounds a little bit muffle. I tested it with various cds and dvds and tried to hear for sound differences. Another difference is that denon has banana plugs, yamaha doesn''t. The clips that are used for the speakers feels like it would become more loose as you interchange speakers. Overall the receiver is very good for the price. It offers everything that most people would need without paying a high price.

Similar Products Used: denon avr 1602
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Navin Kumar   Casual Listener [Apr 15, 2002]
Strength:

Sound, modes

Weakness:

No s-video

I bought this receiver as a part of the YHT-18 home theater package. Great sound. I highly recommend this system to anybody.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer VSX710S
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
hvymtl6988   AudioPhile [Apr 04, 2002]
Strength:

Powerful amp with excellent sound and articulation. Real usable and adjustable surround modes. Excellent value.

Weakness:

No Pro-logic II.

I purchase this receiver in a set at the Conn''s clearance center. It included a Yamaha DVD player,the HTR-5440, and a Yamaha powered sub for $150. Heck of a deal huh? Anyway I''ve used previous Yamaha receivers as well as Pioneer, RCA, Onkyo. By far Yamaha''s amp and Surround processing is superior to anything short of a $1,000. The HTR-5440 is typical Yamaha with underrated power and more user adjustable surround modes than I need except for Pro-Logic II. No big deal the 32-bit DSP engine does plenty for me in the meantime though I listen to stereo in stereo and surround in surround most of the time anyway. Thank you Yamaha and Conn''s for an excellent receiver at an unbelievable price.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer,Sony,RCA,Onkyo,Yamaha,Denon,Technics
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
cmslick   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 18, 2002]
Strength:

Great sound and effects. Universal remote which controlls the basic functions of most devices. Easy to understand menus and speaker settings. Runs very cool. Great for first time users.

Weakness:

No S-Video. Only one monitor output.

I got this unit as a part og the Yamaha home theater kit YHT-18 which came with speakers and a sub. So far I have been very impressed with the performance of this system. We spent about an hour and a half at the store comparing and blaring this system, a Sony and an RCA and the Yamaha was superior by far. The lows are low and the high are not ear piercing, the surround effects are awesome and I fele that audio reproduction is excellent. The volume level is perfect for small ti mid sized rooms, with the volume barely reaching the 1/3rd mark. The unit also runs extremely cool. we''ve had it going all day long and can barely feel any heat at all, I don''t see where stacking equiptment on top of this unit would be a problem provided enough space is given. I highly recommend this for those looking for an out of the box COMPLETE home theater system, it includes ample speaker wire which is well labeled and mounts/ stands for all th espeakers. There are enough inputs for most everyday users to hook up all their sources to

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
leburton   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 11, 2002]
Strength:

powerful DISCRETE amp, excellent clarity, pleasant sound, good features

Weakness:

no Dolby ProLogic II

WOW. Incredible power, clarity, and DTS/DD performance! Decision was between Onkyo TX-DS494, Denon AVR-1602, and this. Even thought about going cheap (Sony STR DE475 at $199 has good reviews), but *really* feel I made the right choice for $100 more. Power source was a big factor for me; EACH rear satellite traverses 50ft of 14 or 16ga wire so the amp needs to be sturdy. (Better use good wire for long runs, though.) Yamaha uses quality DISCRETE power amp instead of cheaper ICs and it shows: 65W x 5, RMS! I rarely turn past 1/3 volume when using DTS/DD because it is too loud in my 20''x18'' living space. And what''s the deal?... the unit is barely warm! I purchased with "starter" 6pc speaker system - Yamaha P220 (includes 50W powered sub) for $199. It is entry-level and STILL sounds incredible. How would it sound with expensive speakers? Gorgeous spectrum - not at all too bright or too bass-y. Good tuner sensitivity for us radioheads, and reasonable features to boot. On the downside, Dolby ProLogic II is missing. And beware Yamaha''s warranty policy: buy through a YAMAHA AUTHORIZED DEALER or forfeit Yamaha''s direct support for warranty issues. I bought the retailer''s 4yr "direct" warranty plan for $60...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com