Yamaha HTR-5240 A/V Receivers

HTR-5240

  • 5 CHANNEL HOME THEATER RECEIVER
  • 70 watts to each to five channels
  • 23 SURROUND MODES
  • DISCRETE 6-CHANNEL LINE INPUT
  • 4-sets of audio/video inputs
  • 2 S-Video inputs
  • 3 pairs of audio-only inputs

  • User Reviews (105)

    Showing 1-10 of 105  
    stevemar   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 31, 2006]
    Strength:

    Great sound with DTS DVDs.

    Weakness:

    Programmed settings are limiting.

    If I remember correctly, I also bought this unit because it was one of the first to offer DTS at this price. I wasn't dissappointed because it sounds amazing. I was using a combo Bose/ JBL surround setup and now I'm using a Bose Acoustimass 10 setup. I do have some problems with the factory DSP settings though. These factory settings seem to be sales points but are really quite limiting. The receiver works amazing and at it's full potential in DTS mode "70mm Spectacle" setting (whatever that is) with a DTS disc movie. Not a complaint at all.

    Now using the receiver with standard TV, with Time Warner HD digital 5.1 cable, things head downhill. The most full sound you get is from the 'Disco" setting, but you get no center channel. Why? If you go to the Dolby Digital settings (one is "Enhanced") you get all front and you can't turn up the rear speakers. Same with the "70mm Spectacle" setting, you get all front end and you get no rears. What's with the Sub only going up to 0?

    There doesn't seem to be one setting where everything works other than with a DTS DVD.

    Similar Products Used: Kenwood receiver
    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    biker   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 30, 2004]
    Strength:

    every thing

    Weakness:

    NONE people just need to know how to use remotes

    I have owned many receivers in my life and few compare to yamaha's htr-5240 my friend just bot a brand new sony and he still wishes he could get my yamaha form me the sound is great very very clear and it still has no probs.

    Similar Products Used: pioneer sx-2300 pioneer vsx-406 onkyo sony jvc awia
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Bryan Frantz   Audio Enthusiast [May 01, 2003]
    Strength:

    Sounds excellect with any format. Excellent choice of useful sound options. Easy for the average person to use effectively.

    Weakness:

    For the price? NONE.

    I bought the Yamaha 5.1 package to get into the DVD/5.1 sound game. I wanted a quality name I could trust. I knew Yamaha from the guitar and amp niche. This receiver sounds great! I have been happy with every aspect of it. From stereo cd's to DTS-M discs to blockbuster movies. I find adjusting the levels of the speakers, when needed, a breeze. No problemo! Money well spent.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    John   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 05, 2003]
    Strength:

    Price and QUALITY

    Weakness:

    NONE!

    Awesome receiver for the price. Have the Accoustimass 15 for the speakers. They rock! Definite A+

    Similar Products Used: Carver
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Jay   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 24, 2002]
    Strength:

    bang for the buck

    Weakness:

    hiss when treble is high

    wanted to get into dolby digital for a price that didnt break a college students bank and bingo.... great value for what i paid... if you want to pay an entry level price for a well above average reciever then this looks to be a solid investment

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    dale bergeron   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 15, 2002]
    Strength:

    great price for quality product.

    Weakness:

    I just can't understand why they made a remote that doesn't have dedicated volume controls for each speaker section, center, frount, rear,sounds simple. no one should have to search the manual to figure out how to adjust speaker levels Can't adjust volume loud enough on center for dialogue. At +10 center the L+R mains drown out whats being said on movies. Wish I could turn down frount speakers. As It stands now I have to have volume control in hand and constantly adjust volume not only to hear movie but keep the tennants in building from banging on the walls.

    rich sound.Great stereo. But I got rid of My Bang & Oulfson to get the 5.1 theater experience. I have Bose 901's foward and Bose 301's rear. And $200 JBL center. The remote is a total let down and wouldn't think twice if they sold a remote that addressed the problems. I feel like I'm playing a video game when watching a movie. When I just want to sit back and hear the dialague.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    isaak dedrick   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 03, 2000]
    Strength:

    very clean sound, the DD is better than anyother receiver i have tested in the same price range, 2chnl music is full and easily fills the room.

    Weakness:

    Would prefer to not see the "effect off" light (read main display) when in 2chnl mode...

    What can i say....i thought the sony was a good replacement for the abomination kenwood put out....and this yamaha is easily four times better than the sony. The sound is much clearer, center dialoge is precise and easy to hear even at low lvls. Im use to muddy surround effects and didnt even know it. Which brings me to another point, the surround speakers. The yamaha puts out sound through these speakers. I know..its supposed to, but there is an audible and significant differace between thhis receiver and the other 2 i have used. The larger volume of sound from the yamaha makes for a richer more imersive experience. And a BIG THANK YOU to al the previous posters for this amp...i walked out of sears with this amp for $297...a $100 less than listed price thanks to ecoast.com and Sears internet price matching. Would never have known about the price matching if i had not read these reviews=) my only complaint is that you cant get rid of the effect off display in 2 channel even on non-av input=( But for the overall quality of the receiver its really not worth mentioning. At this price, this amp is a steal. the only thing stoping me from giving it 5 stars is the display...cosmetic but it matters to me.

    also a note on the 70wper.....i have never owned a receiver rated under 100 per befor this one...but im sold. It really is as loud as a 100 watt receiver (sony kenwood pioneer etc). Its hard to objectively compare volume lvls on 2 amps, but with the sony (100 w/c) i watched movies with the volume in the 10 o'clock position, with this receiver i use the 8 or 9 o'clock position (depending on effect volume). not definative proof, but more than enough for me.

    Similar Products Used: sony str-de835 kenwood vr-309
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Fred   Casual Listener [Nov 04, 2000]
    Strength:

    Absolutely the best for the money.

    Weakness:

    Nothing

    Thanks big time. I read the reviews and went to Sears to get this. It was on sale for $259. I also got 10% and had a coupon for another $10. I had a 9 year old Sony Pro Logic and didn't think anything could sound better. I was wrong. Thanks again.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    J Stortz   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 15, 2000]
    Strength:

    Awesome sound

    Weakness:

    Remote

    This receiver is the best thing I've done for my home
    theatre setup! I was looking for a receiver that could
    handle a decent number of inputs and both Optical and
    Coaxial hookups. I went to Sears to attempt to price
    match and voila, 279.99. I have been very pleased w/
    the receiver. It has definitely outshone the Sony it
    replaced. It offers a great group of features for the
    price group. I just tried out the digital sound last
    night and fell in love all over again w/ it!

    The only downside is learning the remote. It is a little
    confusing, but a nice universal remote solves the problem well except for the setup of the receiver.

    Similar Products Used: Sony STR-DE435
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Derrick   Audiophile [Jul 10, 2000]
    Strength:

    Yamaha brand

    Weakness:

    Not enough S-video and optical inputs

    I bought this product as my bedroom unit to replace the Pioneer I had (listed above). This product is amazingly similar to the 1105 I have in my living room, but I got it for a price way lower than what I paid for the 1105. Yamaha amplifier quality is amazing. They are one of a few companies that actually rate theur receivers power throughout the entire sound spectrum (hence the seemingly lower watts per channel) and their sub crossover is simply close to perfection. Movies now sound so much different in my bedroom, and I don't even have to crank it up that much, unlike my Pioneer. Highly recommended for what you get when compared to the price you pay!

    Similar Products Used: Yamaha 1105, Sony 725, Sony 825, Pinoeer 606S, Pioneer 498
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-10 of 105  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com