Technics SA-TX50 A/V Receivers

Technics SA-TX50 A/V Receivers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 28  
[Nov 10, 2018]
sensible audio


Strength:

I've had this unit now for 5yrs (eBay purchase) and the outboard decoder. It has plenty of power, quality sound and low noise and the quality of construction seems good for a modern era receiver. I think I'll be keeping it for a few more years yet. It has style that a lot of modern receivers lack, even though I know there are newer one with many mie inputs auto eq etc.

Weakness:

No HDMI of course.

Price Paid:
350
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1990
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jun 14, 2011]
FHA
AudioPhile

TECHNICS SA-TX50 A WORLD ICON IN DESIGN OF THE 20TH CENTURY

SPEAKING of AUDIO equipment, commonly SE write REVIEWS, comments experiences ETC., with respect to his sound, qualities and qualities in media bass and TREBLE, answers of frequency, sensitivity (db), STAGE, image, body ETC. etc. AND MANY THINGS MORE, AND IT IS VERY LOGICAL BECAUSE WHEN ONE IS INTERESTED IN A TEAM OF AUDIO IS BY THAT ONE LIKE THE MUSIC, SOUND, HIGH FIDELITY, OF REALISM WITH THAT REPRODUCED INSTRUMENTS, VOICES, THE ORCHESTRAS ETC., ALL TEAMS IT IS MUSICALEMENTE OF OUR CHOICE AND LIKING.

IN this case and CONFESANDOME FOLLOWER of TECHNICS, because some of its teams have given ME pleasant surprises in its response of AUDIO, I would like to COMMEND what I personally I can describe as one of the most beautiful of AUDIO equipment that have been made until today.

TECHNICS IS SET IN THIS HIS LAST AND MOST ADVANCED MODEL OF RECEIVER BEFORE CLOSING ITS DOORS, NOT ONLY FOR ITS GREAT QUALITY OF SOUND IF NOT TOO IN YOUR DESIGN THAT WE CAN CONSIDER LITTLE SURMOUNTABLE, SUBVERTING OR RATHER GOING TO HIS TIME AT THE THRESHOLD OF THE RECOGNITION OF THE "RETRO", THE SPIRIT OF THIS TEAM DESIGN EVOKES THE CLASSICAL ERA OF THE ARTDECOGIVING GREAT CARE IN THE DESIGN OF A RADIUS OF 40´S 30´S EMULATION, IN WHOSE FRONT TO THE CENTRE HAD THE WINDOW TO SEARCH FOR THE STATION IN FORM OF ARC ALLOWING TO SEE FOR THIS PURPOSE A PART OF THE DIAL DISK.


TECHNICS SA-TX50 A WORLD ICON IN DESIGN OF THE 20TH CENTURY
Author:
See more guides the author | See eShop | See more articles
11 14 users found this Guide helpful. Last on 04/02/2010





TECHNICS SA-TX50 A WORLD ICON IN DESIGN OF THE 20TH CENTURY

SPEAKING of AUDIO equipment, commonly SE write REVIEWS, comments experiences ETC., with respect to his sound, qualities and qualities in media bass and TREBLE, answers of frequency, sensitivity (db), STAGE, image, body ETC. etc. AND MANY THINGS MORE, AND IT IS VERY LOGICAL BECAUSE WHEN ONE IS INTERESTED IN A TEAM OF AUDIO IS BY THAT ONE LIKE THE MUSIC, SOUND, HIGH FIDELITY, OF REALISM WITH THAT REPRODUCED INSTRUMENTS, VOICES, THE ORCHESTRAS ETC., ALL TEAMS IT IS MUSICALEMENTE OF OUR CHOICE AND LIKING.



IN this case and CONFESANDOME FOLLOWER of TECHNICS, because some of its teams have given ME pleasant surprises in its response of AUDIO, I would like to COMMEND what I personally I can describe as one of the most beautiful of AUDIO equipment that have been made until today.

TECHNICS IS SET IN THIS HIS LAST AND MOST ADVANCED MODEL OF RECEIVER BEFORE CLOSING ITS DOORS, NOT ONLY FOR ITS GREAT QUALITY OF SOUND IF NOT TOO IN YOUR DESIGN THAT WE CAN CONSIDER LITTLE SURMOUNTABLE, SUBVERTING OR RATHER GOING TO HIS TIME AT THE THRESHOLD OF THE RECOGNITION OF THE "RETRO", THE SPIRIT OF THIS TEAM DESIGN EVOKES THE CLASSICAL ERA OF THE ARTDECOGIVING GREAT CARE IN THE DESIGN OF A RADIUS OF 40´S 30´S EMULATION, IN WHOSE FRONT TO THE CENTRE HAD THE WINDOW TO SEARCH FOR THE STATION IN FORM OF ARC ALLOWING TO SEE FOR THIS PURPOSE A PART OF THE DIAL DISK.



TECHNICS YOU DÁ IMPORTANCE ALSO TO THE DESIGN OF THE COVER ILLUMINATING WITHOUT RESERVATION ALL THE EXTENSION OF THE FRONT OF THE TEAM DESTANCANDO ITS HUGE NEEDLES, SENSITIVE AND RESTLESS, AS ADDITIONS TO NOT PÓDER TAKE OFF SO BEAUTIFUL OVERALL VIEW WHEN IT IS OPERATING.



WORTHY QUALITIES WELL MARKED FOR ITS CONTRAST OF ILLUMINATION AND THE CAREFUL SELECTION OF ALL THE TEAM'S COLORS, A VISIONARY RATHER THAN AVANT-GARDE DESIGNER.

WHEN THIS GREAT TEAM IS WORKING ACHIEVES AN INSPIRATION THAT NOT ONLY IS HEARING IF NOT ALSO AESTHETIC, THAT US LEADS TO TIME TRAVEL AND ITS BECOMING TECNOLOGIGO.

THIS VAIN COPY FROM THE TWENTIETH CENTURY; AMALGAMATED TWO IMPORTANT SCHEMES ARTISTIC; THE MUSICAL PLAYLIST OF GREAT CLASS AND BEAUTY OF ITS AESTHETIC VALUE, THAT IS WHY IT IS AND IT WILL BE CONSIDERED AS AN ICON FOR A LONG TIME IF NOT IS THAT FOREVER...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 16, 2009]
Dazzyfae
Audio Enthusiast

I bought this receiver in 1998 in England while I was stationed at RAF Alconbury. I paid $704.05 for it at the time which I thought was rather expensive but because I was in the military I didn't have to pay tax, which was nice. I have used this receiver throughout the years and have not had any problems. I finally bought a house and have pulled it out of the origional grey and black box. This receiver has a classic look with the meters and needles. The sound is great and there are multiple hook-ups for everything that was avaliable at the time. I now have two Acoutimass 5 cube speakers (rear), two Bose 201 bookshelf speakers (with wood panels on the sides, bought in the 80's), a Bose VHS center chanel speaker,a Klipsch 10" Subwoofer, sony blu-ray palyer and a 46" Samsung LCD, HDTV. This receiver still rocks, I haven't found a receiver that comes close to the looks of this one. Receivers today are just plain ugly, case in point sony, pioneer, yamaha etc... I think Technics should redo this receiver with HDMI, room sampling, dual zone, and all the modern gadgets. I would definitely buy one.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 15, 2008]
Jimmy Roland
AudioPhile

Strength:

Raw Power,Accessory section(THX)this unit will rock your house with the right speakers.

Weakness:

None. other than weight, this uint is heavy.

I have had this reciever now for 10yrs this is my opinion is one of the best recievers ever created, I have not found many recievers out there that can compare to the TX-50, one of the main reason's I love this reciever is because it has multiple hook-up for multiple speaker amps so you can power a club with this reciever, if you own one hold on to it, I am sure this will one day be a collectors item, of high value.

Similar Products Used:

None.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 06, 2008]
rbeez2004
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Vintage looking face plate with watt meters that you can turn the lights on or off for night viewing. Fan cooled amplifier, which has very high sensativity. Can hear so much more than with other previous amps I had. Huge power output gets my JBL 4800 towers dancing nicely just like my Scott 380r did, and it weights about the same to.

Weakness:

Has no digital inputs which was remedied by buying the Dolby Digital processor that was sold at the same time as this reciever which has fiber and coax digital in. Hooks up directly to the Technics SA-TX50. The model of the Processor is Technics SH-AC300. Has the white display trim also to keep with the reciever. This provides the 5.1 digital in you want to have. I bought the processor for 40 bucks on ebay. Please keep in mind you DO NEED THE REMOTE with the processor. If it doesnt have it dont listen to people who say you can use the processor without it. There are functions that only the remote can do.

Also the bass output is sorta low. But if you have good speakers should compensate.

I had a Scott 380R hooked up to 4 JBL 4800 Towers untill about a year ago I bought a 52 inch HD TV and decided to upgrade finally to Dolby Digital surround sound. I love my Scott with all the meters and slide rule tuning. I wondered if there was a reciever out there with a vintage look but modern looks. I went to numerous local stores looked at 300 dollar to 1200 dollar recievers with all kinda hook ups. Ill tell you the one thing that stood out. They all looked identical no matter the price. So dissapointed that none of them looked even close to vintage I looked on ebay. Low and behold a Technics SA-TX50!!! I couldnt believe it. It was wonderful big glowing watt meters and nice vintage look. I knew then I must have it. Yes its aged only being analog prologic but it has everything I want on it and a plus is it is THX quality. I won this item for 350 dollars on Ebay and hooked it up. Amazing sound and can push all 4 of my 4800 towers with no problem. Huge power in a modern but vintage style package.

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 28, 2008]
Kevin Barker
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

This receiver still has the power of an old school reciever which is hard to find now days. This unit also makes a good pre amp.

Weakness:

I think this unit could have had more bass. I have been using this amp for a long time and the amp has gone crazy. So I hooked it to a Spec 2 pioneer power amp.

I bought this reciever back in 2000.It has been a great reciever. It is the only reciever that I could find That still had the watt meters on the front.The reciever has a beautiful design.I had a different reciever hooked to my system and I un hooked it and went back to the SA-TX50.I hooked a spec-2 pioneer power amp to it which made it wicked.

Customer Service

The place in Myrtle Beach were I had bought it at went out of business. I would like to find someone who is certified that can fix it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 30, 2003]
messerjg
AudioPhile

Strength:

The ability to hook up so many different things. Crystal clear sound scares me when playing Silent Hill 2.

Weakness:

No optical input/output jacks. Too loud for an apartment.

The SA-TX50 is by far the greatest Stereo reciever I have ever seen or heard. It hase more power than my apartment can handle. With 2 12" Technics speakers, this has been heard 3 floors above my room. January 2003, I have been offered $1000 for it. I would sell this for anything.

Similar Products Used:

No sililar products used and have not heard others that sound close to this one.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 30, 2003]
Jeff Woolsey
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Classic style with duel meters in the front. Able to turn the display off. Incredible sounds to all speakers. 150 Watts to the front 3 100 to the rear. Great price for a true THX receiver. Nice remote. Not the nicest out there but nice. Able to add amps to it easily.

Weakness:

Can't run two signals at one time. Can't use A and B chennels at the same time.

Best ThX Receiver I have come across. I was stationed in Japan when I cam across this receiver. I just couldn't pass it up for the money. I have bought others thinking they would be better. But I always go back to the SA-TX50. very underated

Similar Products Used:

Onkyo TX-DS838, Onkyo TX-DS989

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 15, 2003]
John
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Pretty design.

Weakness:

No DTS.

Good, crisp sound. However, my left VU meter would click and the overload circuitry kicks in. The music would die. I have opened it up to see if there were loose wires or shorts, could not see any. It works most of the time but when you need it most, it will trip EVEN in low volume. I don't know what elese to do...

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jul 17, 2002]
mwp
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

power

Weakness:

lack of inputs/white noise

this receiver seem to be the big thing at the time power is great though it lacks inputs a has to much white noise in surround

Similar Products Used:

sony strdb1070

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 28  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com