Technics SA-EX110 A/V Receivers

Technics SA-EX110 A/V Receivers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 30  
[Nov 27, 2020]
johnjones


Strength:

Works well for our store where we sell and buy PIN codes for RuneScape. Easy to operate. Less hassle setting it up out of the box.

Weakness:

Should have a longer cable

Price Paid:
399
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2017
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Nov 26, 2020]
diplo888


Strength:

Used. An item that has been used previously. The item may have some signs of cosmetic wear, but is fully operational and functions as intended. This item may be a floor model or store return that has been used. See the seller’s listing for full details and description of any imperfections.

Weakness:

No weakness so far. I like this item. women's fashion

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Nov 19, 2020]
Chris889


Strength:

I bought this in 1999 and it is still going strong. I lost the remote control but everything else about it is absolutely perfect. I have looked to upgrade the unit in the last few years and have not found anything that I like as much as this one. I bought this at a great time when technology was up as well as style and form. Today I find too many plastic things. I am very happy with this and would buy it again 16 years later. Used Cars For Sale in Urbana

Weakness:

It's definitely one of my faves so I cant cite any bad review about it. SVG Chevrolet Greenville

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Nov 01, 2020]
stevens


Strength:

I have this unit as a loaner while my 5 year old Sony receiver is being serviced, receiveing a heart transplant (power transformer is being replaced). For once, Circuit City stepped up and offered good customer service by loaning me this unit while my receiver is away at service in another state :( being fixed for the second time after they didnt fix it right the first time.

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
3
[Sep 15, 2009]
S-m-I-t-H
Casual Listener

i think is is a good unit by its self but if u hook up a pioneer graphic EQ (GR-860) it makes it alot better and i have 2 rca tower speakers and it kicks them hard the only problem i have had with it is that it heats up way 2 much and needs plenty of room 2 cool

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 11, 2002]
jkraeck
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clean power, no hiss with a clean input til volume past 3/4 full. Logical controls.

Weakness:

Spring clip connections for speakers.

This is a very nice stereo receiver for the price. It was purchased to replace a 22 year old receiver which had finally given up. I was not looking for HT, and this seemed the best of the 2 channel units carried by best buy. I did not shop extensively for it, as the need was immediate. I later learned that it garnered a CR Best Buy, and I concur. It served for over a year as my main system. It has since been moved to the basement, connected to the computer for moving my LPs to CD. A good receiver at a good price. There are better, but I would rather put the money into speakers.

Similar Products Used:

Technics SA-300 (circa 1978).

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 07, 2001]
Milton Saurina
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Potencia muy buena

Weakness:

No se pueden escuchar los parlantes A y B juntos

Es un excelente sintoamplificador para uso hogareño y para pequeñas fiestas

Similar Products Used:

Sony, Aiwa, Kenwood

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Dec 07, 2000]
will
Casual Listener

Strength:

***this review actually for SA-EX140, a step up or newer (i don't know) from 110***
cheap. good&loud sound for price. good remote. nifty volume knob remote adjustment thingy.

Weakness:

a & b speakers don't work at the same time. volume difficult to adjust in small increments from remote.

it's a good solid reciever for the price. neither the sound nor the reception is great, but it's really not that bad for a highschooler's bedroom. if you just want to listen to stereo music and not spend much money at all it's a good choice. all i know is it sounds better than my old koss boom box.
maybe all receivers have this, but i thought that it was pretty nifty how the volume knob turns by itself when you adjust it from the remote. this wow'd most of my friends. unfortunely it is very difficult to adjust the volume in small increments from the remote, so if you need it just a little louder or softer, you have to get up off your ass.

Similar Products Used:

Technics SA-424 (straight outta the '60s)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 16, 2000]
Frank
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Plays my music while my Sony is being fixed

Weakness:

Bad/flat sound, cant play A+B speakers together

I have this unit as a loaner while my 5 year old Sony receiver is being serviced, receiveing a heart transplant (power transformer is being replaced). For once, Circuit City stepped up and offered good customer service by loaning me this unit while my receiver is away at service in another state :( being fixed for the second time after they didnt fix it right the first time.

ANYWAY...

My Sony STR-D665 was not top of the line either, but the sound quality from this Technics unit is really quite lousy and flat. The bass is very flat, sounds muffled and punchy, and the treble is also flat and
dull. I wanted to at least rig my surround speakers to the "B" outputs to at retain some surround sound, but you cant play A and B speakers at the same time, which is quite odd. The receiver also runs much much hotter than my Sony. I know this is a lower end unit so I obviously wont bring the lack of surround sound into debate.

I cant think of anything redeeming to say about this unit except that it could be useful as a bedroom set, for a small business playing elevator muzak or
for in the garage. For the same price you'd be better off buying an Aiwa mini-system which sounds much better than this thing. I really miss my Sony!! Based on this experience i dont think i would consider buying Technics products. I have heard Pioneer 2 channel receivers and they sound much better than this thing. Its really a piece of junk.

Similar Products Used:

Sony, JVC receivers

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 07, 2000]
stephen
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very Powerful Class H Amp. Almost impossible to clip
Easy control layout.Sounds great with Snell speakers and Cambridge Soundworks Sub Woofer.

Weakness:

Not for Home Theater. Just straight stereo.

The best value on the market for just great stereo performance. If you want dolby or home theater this unit will not do.
Amazed at the volume it reaches with no effort at all.
Will keep for years or until want home theater capabilities.
A great value.

Similar Products Used:

Nikko and Kenwood receivers.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 30  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com