Technics SA-DX940 A/V Receivers

SA-DX940

Dolby Digital, DTS, and Pro Logic decoding 100 watts x 2 (stereo) into 8 ohms (40-20k Hz) at 0.8% THD — or 100 watts x 5 in home theater mode 5 soundfields (Hall, Club, Live, Theater, Simulated Surround)

User Reviews (135)

Showing 1-10 of 135  
3db   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 07, 2014]

I've had this receiver for over 14 years now and its still working very well other than the input select skipping from time to time. Its been retired from my main system for over 5 years but have finally completed a second full HT system built around it and a suite of PSB speakers (original Alphas as main, Century 100i center, Micros for surrounds and Subsonic 5 sub. Prior to that , it was strictly used as a stereo receiver. It does a good job for the room that its in. The sound is clear, dynamic, and unstrained 90 db and lower. Any thing higher and I hear it starting to strain. Other than feature limited due to its age, its still a solid little AVR. And it still runs hot so please give it lots of ventilation like I have done and it will last you a long long time.


OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Neil Hughes   Casual Listener [Apr 25, 2014]

Bought this AV receiver as part of a set with yamaha speakers years ago, dumped the speakers about 8 years ago and it sat in my loft until 6 months ago when I invested in a decent set of brand new Kef 5.1 egg shaped speakers in Feb 2014.. All I can say is wow it sounds amazing, better than when I bought it and I will not bother buying an up-to-date one until it dies.. Fallen in love with it again 12/13 years after buying.. Brilliant piece of kit..

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike C   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 20, 2014]

Had this amp for years and forgot about it, pulled it out when an Onkyo I was using in my edit suite died. I forgot the Technics also was not a normal Class B transistor amp but runs heavily biased near Class C mode. This explains why it gets so hot - think of a tube amp sitting there all covered up... What I discovered is how great this hybrid receiver sounds! Compared to Quad tube amps it lacks ultimate musicality and depth but for an affordable, reliable, remote controllable surround receiver its pretty good! Very crisp and neutral sound, great vocals!
Good advice also from other reviewers regarding extra fans and raising the thing a little.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Rumen Robert   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 19, 2014]

heb dit toestel van een vriend gekregen had een klein defect aan een druktoets een klein beetje contactspray heeft wonderen gedaan gebruik hem op mijn muziek kamer met twee boxen van toch wel 300 watt het stuk en wat een geluid dat deze versterker produceert toen ik hem aanschakelde en het geluid hoorde stond ik met mijn mond vol tanden van ! how man dat is pas power en haar zuiver het beste product wat technics ooit op de markt heeft gebracht met andere woorden een echte top versterker wat andereversterkers het nakijken geeft
kalitatief een echte top versterker echt TOPPIE !

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
vincent.mlndazwe   Casual Listener [Sep 18, 2013]

can i see all aboud this amp iam willing to pay from R 2000 OR MORE CAN I SEE MORE
PHOTOS OF THIS Tehnics-DX940 A/V

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
George Devitt   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 22, 2011]

Bought this receiver in early 2001 and it's still awesome. It's now July 0of 2011, unbelievable!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
reinhardt kluender   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 09, 2011]

One of the best receiver you could buy, forget the others

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
badocan   Audio Enthusiast [May 03, 2011]

i have been using this amp for 10 years. it is getting hot but size is small although sound is very power. So getting hot is unimportant . unfortunately remote control is poor of quality. difficult to find again in my country (turkey). i have to protect it carefully. i m using this amp with small technics and coda speakers (8 ohm).also i using panasonic dvd audio player.so sound is very well with dvd-a (5.1 channel not compress studio music). but there is no any coaxial digital input. only there are 3 optic input. i pleased to using it until now.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Andrew Peleikis   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 27, 2011]

MAKE SURE YOU (FIND ON THE NET AND) READ THE MANUAL. Set up the speakers correctly.

When I first hooked it up to my bookshelf speakers and self-powered subwoofer; I thought it sounded really weak. The sub sounded quiet and the front speakers were blaring and not full.

Just for kicks i looked for the manual and found it online - and it talked about how to adjust the filter for the subwoofer - SHAZAM - it sounds great now. (you hit both the A and B speaker buttons at the same time, then use A to scroll through the options... select FILTER and then you dial in the highest frequency you want the sub to play, 150 is best for me)

And then since my front speakers were low impedance - I set that too (Hold A and B for 4 seconds)

Now it sounds FANTASTIC.

And if I had more speakers connected theres a bunch of other settings you can run through too.

I bet anyone who thinks this amp doesn't sound great just hadn't set it up correctly.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Matt   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 24, 2011]

Someone gave me this amplifier for free because the main power fuse had a problem causing the thing to shut off thinking that it was overloading. I replaced the fuse myself in less than 5min. and it works great! The amplifier does get hot but I have not had a problem with it being hot....it's hot...so what? If it works who cares??....Additionally I have used this amp nearly every day now for over 2 years. I listen to music a lot so it gets very regular use and I have yet to have a problem with it. I have it hooked to very efficient Klipch Heresy 2 speakers that I had hooked to an old pioneer tube amp previously. The tube amp sounded great but was very old and needed major restoration and so I just got sick of it with all the noise I was getting due to all the corrosion. To my Great Surprise the Technics amp sounded very good and clean and I was quite impressed hearing such crisp and clear sound coming from a solid state amp. The surround mode sounds very good too but I disabled the Center channel function because it sounded harsh and overall did not sound very well balanced at all to me thoughit could just be that I don't really have a true center channel speaker. As far as power goes the amp is more than adequate with High efficiency speakers like Klipch Heresy’s. The radio works very well and sounds great! The main surround mode sounds good but the other surround options I don’t think sound very good at all. I have not messed with the digital hook ups nor do I really care to bother with them. Overall I am quite impressed with this amp and have very much enjoyed it! Not tubes of course but: Very good clean sound for a solid state!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 135  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com