Technics SA-DX930 A/V Receivers

SA-DX930

DolbyDigital / DTS / 5x100 Watts

User Reviews (184)

Showing 1-10 of 184  
elijah waweru   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 06, 2012]

well i bought the system an year ago .am a sound technician .it does fine very fine .even .on dts .but you have to set your reciever or dvd to digital then use a coaxial or digital cable for your input.also confiem ttat the dvd or the source is ni dts 3.2.1 format(dolby

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
1
jbscpa   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 11, 2011]

Just acquired a set of Magnepan Magneplanar MG-2.5/R speakers.

I found this Technics SA-DX930 AV Control Stereo Receiver at an estate sale for $15.00

I am BLOWN AWAY by the quality of the sound.

Highs, mids and lows are crisp, clear and life-like.

I now know what it is like to set-up a true "sound stage" for listening.

NOTE:
The MG-2.5/R speakers 5 ohm. The SA-DX930 should be set to "low imp" when "even one of the speakers being used has an impedance under 8 ohm." (Operating instructions manual page 19)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Gord   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 21, 2010]

I've had this receiver for 12yrs now.When I first got it it ran hot and quit. Got it fixed under warranty, that was 10yrs ago and ran great ever since. I love it. I've done several weddings and gatherings and it worked fine. Lots of power.dts works fine on mine.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
flynavy   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 26, 2004]
Strength:

clarity power

Weakness:

lack of DTS on products that have it

Great power and sound for the price. Bought it on a whim, with plans to put it in the bedroom but found it had better sound and power than my Pioneer (VSX-D409). It runs hot, but the fan comes on above 20% and cools quickly. I found the same problem as the previous review with the DTS, I run Satellite tv through it with numerous digital channels and can't get the DTS to put sound out (may be the satellite receiver). the many variants of surround are worthless, just use the normal surround mode, it works great. I have Yamaha fronts, bose rears. the remote could be better, but overall great value and no problems for the last 5 yrs. If anyone knows what the deal with the DTS is feel free to e-mail me. I also run a Technics SL-MC7 multi CD player through it, and the sound is phenominal even through cheap Yamahas. I find that Technics products get along better with each other than with different brands. Too bad Technics doesnt make decent speakers.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer, Onkyo
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Gary   Casual Listener [Dec 11, 2003]
Strength:

Price

Weakness:

No DTS on mine

I find the sytems works well and produces agreat sound for my home therater syatem, at least up until yesterday. I received the Eagles: Hell Freezes Over" DVD and I tried to play in DTS asit recommends and guess what no sound. Anyone got any suggestions or have any ideas what can be wrong? I tried DTS before with a couple of DVD movies and I got no sound and I never bothered with checking out until now. I just figured one of my conponenets was not capabale of producing this sound source. I have the SA-DX930 and I have Panasonic DVD player(can't recall Model Number) with built in DTS decoding, coax and didgital outputs. I purchased in 2000. For sound source I have the Bose Series II Acoustimass I am a casual user and no expert, hope someone can help. Is it the fuse thing everyone is talking about?

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
FrankC   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 21, 2003]
Strength:

Very good sound for the price paid

Weakness:

Getting realy hot

I 'm having this amplifier for about 3 years now and up till now without any problems. yes, It' s getting hot but I think that' s normal considering the power it has. I know there is better equipment but or the price I've paid I don't think I 'm gonna find a lot.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
alpha1977   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 08, 2003]
Strength:

DD 5.1

Weakness:

3 times in for service Sond always the problem

Does anyone happen to know what the "f70" means when it is displayed on the Receiver. I have had tis unit in for repair 3 times now. And now after pressinf DSP/Defeat all i hear is analog Tv. No digital

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Lonnie Bartusch   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 27, 2003]

Bought a SA-DX930 with no manual and can't find one any where. If some one can help me please let me know at lbbar2sch@lycos.com. I will pay for it.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Minga   Casual Listener [Nov 16, 2002]

Question about the FUSE Fix: Everyone is recommending Radio Shack part# 270-1051 As seen here: http://www.radioshack.com/product.asp?catalog%5Fname=CTLG&category%5Fname=CTLG%5F010%5F015%5F001%5F000&product%5Fid=270%2D1051# But this fuse is 250 V -- The fuse that it comes with is a 1 Amp 125 Volt. Is replacing a 125 volt fuse with a 250 volt fuse a good idea? Have they changed the model numbers? I cant even FIND 1.6 AMP - 125 V fuses any where.. (even Fry's). So, is the 1.6 A 250 V fuse safe for the DX930 ? plug@minga.com

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
SDL   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 10, 2002]
Strength:

Reliable Good sound for the money. Dolby Digital/DTS

Weakness:

Top of casing gets hot (small heat vents)

This was a good receiver for me. I used the Technics for home theater applications as well as music and it never let me down. The top of the casing would get pretty hot after extended use, but it never overheated. I had 2 Technics receivers prior to this one and all were very reliable. The only reason I got rid of this one is because I decided to upgrade my entire system. If you want a nice receiver for a little bit of money definitely by the Technics.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 184  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com