Technics SA-AX730 A/V Receivers

SA-AX730

Pro-Logic/DD,DTS Ready receiver

User Reviews (18)

Showing 1-10 of 18  
dr__dally   AudioPhile [Aug 25, 2003]
Strength:

plenty of output power,ease of use, build quality,nice design, proffesional sound and durability.

Weakness:

Weak remote( must be universal and not only unified , learning and with backlit illumination)

This unit is one of best receivers i ever used.It delivers plenty of power (100 Watts x 5 at 6 ohms ; 20Hz -20Khz) with minimal distortion (0.05% THD at rated power with all 5 channels driven );and a dampind factor 0f 30. Signal to Noise ratio is more than 85 db. All these have been achived thanks to the newly developed H+ Class amplification ciruitary ; heavy duty power supply and the high end TA-KE capacitors by Matsuthita Electrics (panasonic mother company ). The design is unique gives the feeling of the traditional Panasonic quality products . Its a great deal for both home theater and music entertainment.

Similar Products Used: Marantz 4200, onkyo, Yamaha RX-V530 .
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Scott   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 06, 2000]
Strength:

100 watts x 5 channel. Lots of inputs with both standard speaker wire and RCA outputs. Different listening settings with variable "delays". Great price (got it at Best Buy for $229). Consumer Guide speaks highly of it.

Weakness:

Badly designed remote.

The Technics unit is a nicely designed receiver with features that 3 years ago would have been $500 - $600 easily. Sound quality is excellent and provides all the inputs and outputs you need.

I bought this specifically to replace a rack unit that was going bad. Without changing any of the speakers or any of the wire inputs from TV, Cable, VCR, CD, etc., the sound quality was phenomenal!

There's no DTS or Dolby digital decoder for playing digital audio from a DVD player, but for the price, it's hard to beat. You can always save up for a DVD player with the decoder built in -- like me.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andy Kim   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 08, 2000]
Strength:

Great price for 5X100Watts;
DD5.1 ready

Weakness:

Does get hot;
I've had imaging problems with the surround channels

There's a lot of comments on how the unit gets really hot. If you enclose it in a cabinet, its definitely going to cook. I actually made my own fan with an external switch that I can turn on and off anytime. But usually I find that if you give it enough room above and keep the cabinet doors open a bit it'll get warm but shouldn't be a problem.

The DSP modes are all right, even though there are 5 different modes, the difference between each is not striking. I think the DSP modes though are more naturally sounding then some receivers out there that make the DSP effect sound way too obvious.

I've had a problem with the rear channels in that one is louder than the other. The problem seems to vary with how long the receiver has been on for and how loud the volume is turned up. I've tried to get to the bottom of it but can't seem to figure out what it is. I even brought it to the repair shop but to no avail. When the surrounds are plugged in by themselves, the left and right are balanced. But when the fronts are plugged in, the surrounds become unbalanced with one becoming louder than the other. Whether this is a receiver problem or something in my front speakers that's causing this imaging problem in the receiver I do not know for sure.

The one thing I wish it had was a sleep mode.
Its a good value for the price but I think you would have more piece of mind if you spent a little more and got something of a higher caliber such as a Yamaha. I wish I had done that.
I give it a 3 because of the lessons I learned with receivers in general and because of the imaging problems.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha RX-V395
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Drew   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 29, 2000]
Strength:

Low cost, mid-high range performance!

Weakness:

Same as all the others, remote, and I thought I was buying stereo equipment, not a space heater :-)

The heat thing is just a complaint, it has caused not trouble, and I used it for a month and the fan didn't work!!(the plug wasn't connected to the board) It did get hot, but no worst than any Pioneer, or JVC cranked up. Good buy in my opinion. And yes the yamaha is better(if you don't mind throwing away a few bucks for a return that you won't notice) Just keep in mind, if it weren't for companies like Technics producing quality products at a low cost, Yamaha, Onkyo,& the other high priced brands would be totally out of sight in the price department!

Similar Products Used: JVC, Pioneer, Sony
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
cm961   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 28, 2000]
Strength:

Plenty powerful, lots of features, low noise, good number of inputs

Weakness:

Nothing that I can really complain about

For the price, this seems to be a really nice unit. It does everything that I want it to and sounds great doing it. It outputs lots of power and has a low noise floor, so unless you're really really serious about audio and have a lot of cash lying around, this receiver is great.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
sergey zhurbilo   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 08, 2000]
Strength:

Can power 4ohms/ can power 2 sets of frount speakers/ great soung/ cheap etc

Weakness:

needs a better remote

Got this for 189! yes 189! it sound great looks great with a sl-mc4 cd changer. could have a better remote. oh ya it can power 4ohms

Similar Products Used: sunsui 8300
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
MP3 Geek   Audiophile [Apr 05, 2000]

I was thinking of getting this amp then the guy at Future Shop said it has a fan in it. He said the unit should not need a fan to cool it so he thought this unit was not great due to a fan. He also said if the fan goes kaput your amp could burn out due to heat problem

Also nobody can seem to tell me what the signal to noise ratio of this amp is. I'm looking for a figure of 80 db or better.

Also what is THD (total harmonic distortion), it should be around 0.05 or better (0.03 would be equal to my old Revox amp).

Thanks.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Stephen Cragg   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 08, 2001]
Strength:

Clean cound, Lots of power, easy to operate

Weakness:

Remote control is not universal enough, receiver runs hot

I originally bought my Technics receiver with ease of use and operation in mind. This receiver is now the main component of my Home Theatre system. I have grown to love the total package that the receiver has to offer. I have added 4 x Polk R10 bookshelf speakers, a Polk C245i centre channel and a Quest QS10 sub woofer. This receiver is used primarily as a home theatre system. I can play a nice movie for my kids or I can pound the house with Twister or the Titanic, the receiver runs very well in all situations. This receiver has lots of power to spare. I would like a bit nicer remote with a bit more versatility for use with different components. Overall I have found my Technics AX730 receiver to be an excellent receiver.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Csaba Tamás   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 11, 2001]
Strength:

nice sound quality, pretty powerful DD ready.

Weakness:

overheating, bad design of remote, sometimes it cannot be switched on without the application of a certain secret button combination (by the remote), I wonder why! One of the sorround speakers, namely the left won't work unless you switch over to stereo mode then back to surround two or three times if it does at all. I am reluctant to take it to an 'expert'. Nobody has been able to help me with this problem yet.

I would be very happy with this product and would not be considering buying a new or other one but for this surround speaker problem. The sad thing is that I have not had too much time to really use this product, so I can't understand why it has this problem at all. I do recommend this reciever though, but make sure you test it well within the warranty period.

Similar Products Used: Sony, JVC, Yamaha
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Michael   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 06, 2001]
Strength:

Extremely Powerful amplifier used in stereo mode, with alot of grunt left over.

Weakness:

Not that many, there are a few but they are to be expected.

This amplifier has alot of grunt to it.
I am currently (testing it) to see its full potential, so far i am running all at 6ohms:
2 x 400 watt subwoofers in box with horn and tweeters.
2 x 350 watt subwoofers in box with tweeter and midrange.
2 x warffdale speakers (2 6"subs with satellite)
so, a total of 6 boxes.
In my room it fuc*in cranks. The bass on it, you can feel it.
You can hear the bass on it from my front yard, which is over 80 meteres with obstructions away clearly and without distorting.
So what ever u hear, buy this reciever.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com