Technics SA-AX720 A/V Receivers

SA-AX720

6-channel direct input - 100w x 5 channels - 3 composite A/V inputs - s-video inputs - 3 analog inputs

User Reviews (58)

Showing 1-10 of 58  
mustangjohn   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 16, 2004]
Strength:

easy to opperate. Nice controls of front panel. Great choice for small to medium room applications.

Weakness:

Remote

I have read all comments. I purchased this item because it was inexpensive. You can't beat it for what I paid.($181.50) I have absolutly no complaints about this amp. No rear hiss like others have stated. The remote could be better. I will upgrade to a Harmon Kardon at a later date, but for now I am 100% pleased with the performance of this unit!!!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
gothic_one   Casual Listener [Jul 24, 2004]
Strength:

it has alot of good qualities everything on its nice but than again I am not picky like some people

Weakness:

none i didn't get the remote with it i purchased a universal

this reciever has been ne of the niecest i have had it works great with my klh 12 inch 3 way speakers it did start to over heat a bit so i put a small fan on it and it works perfectly i haven't herd any hissing or anything because of the connectors and speaker wire I am using is high grade i must say it was well worth the money i spent!!!

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
David Radloff   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 25, 2003]
Strength:

Great soud in all moads never break's i think it 120x5 now its like 600x10 afeter all the mods

Weakness:

heavy on teh tras side

After ading four 600 watt sony amps 6 187inch subs and a 32 inch subwoffer i only did this cusi got it all free and I wanted Bass Im a bass junkie the only outher good untis are sony and Denonall in all its a very good sysetem even without all the mods iv used on it

Similar Products Used: Sony dennon
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
David Radloff   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 25, 2003]
Strength:

Great soud in all moads never break's i think it 120x5 now its like 600x10 afeter all the mods

Weakness:

heavy on teh tras side

After ading four 600 watt sony amps 6 187inch subs and a 32 inch subwoffer i only did this cusi got it all free and I wanted Bass Im a bass junkie the only outher good untis are sony and Denonall in all its a very good sysetem even without all the mods iv used on it

Similar Products Used: Sony dennon
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Daniel A   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 27, 2003]
Strength:

Can do loads like 2ohms or even lower without burning up.. had it for aprox: 3years now.. I would like to see a Yamaha do a 2ohm load at high volume..

Weakness:

In normal edition, it gets warm very easy..

Bought this Reciever/amplifier by a friend when my old one broke (1ohm load). Got a bit coserned about the display saying "High Temp" after only a few minutes Cranking, so I cut off some off the cooling flences and installed a computerfan instead.. Now I only use the main (A) speaker outputs and load the Reciever with one 18"sub and one 15" speaker (2ohms) on each L/R, and it sounds great.. lots of power!!!

Similar Products Used: had a few Sony's and Yamaha's
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Jesse Petty   AudioPhile [Jul 22, 2003]
Strength:

GREAT RECIEVER

Weakness:

Volume knovb broke out of nowhere, its weight is all on one side where the big ol transformer is

ok, all you guys are crazy. ive had this unit since its debut, and its never ever failed me, i have cerwin vega re-30 series 12's and they BEAT! the onlt thing wrong with my reciever is the volume control just broke last week. the post snapped inside, but the motor still works so i can use the remote to turn it up, also, get a mitsubishi learning remote from one of their 1995 big screens..works beautifully with it. now 100wx5 is overrated, its actually olnly about 75. i got some nice yamaha amps for my speaks, they work wondrs. i havent had no overheating probs, but ive taken verry good care of it. i clean it out once a month with air and a brush, and i reapply heatsink grease to the amps once a year. its saved me alot of problems, and ive just got to deal with this damn volume knob.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brian   AudioPhile [Jun 12, 2003]
Strength:

Power (wattage), usability, reliability, overall sound quality

Weakness:

The remote control could definitely be improved.

As an AudioPhile, I have owned 8 different surround sound receivers including Harmon Kardon, Denon, Onkyo, Sony, Yamaha, Pioneer, and Technics. For the money, this receiver is AMAZING!!! I have owned and thoroughly abused this unit for almost 5 years now in my main living room and it has NEVER given me a problem, nothing but amazing sound and TONS of power to drive all of my Paradigm speakers. I would recommend this receiver to absolutely anyone!

Similar Products Used: Many other brands of receivers. (I'm always buying more and more!)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
nathan burns   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 15, 2003]
Strength:

very powerful amp,very happy with its performance,(except i can only crank it up for 10 minutes)

Weakness:

as above,one very hot unit!!! so to speak!!

i got this amp given to me and now i can see why!10 minutes of 1/3 volume then it overheats and displays overload,i have tried a portable fan blowing cool air directly into the top vents but this only prolongs the overload which is about to occur,could somebody please suggest how to fix the problem,i am pretty sure it has ben taken back to the shop for this problem.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
liamoc   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 23, 2003]
Strength:

Price Point

Weakness:

Everything: - Performance - Not Clean at all - Imbalanced Volume Level - Cheap back input panel - Cheap Remote - Annoying Hiss from rear speakers in all modes - Spring clip speaker inputs, couldn't they at least supply bind posts?

Plain and Simple: This receiver is the biggest piece of junk ever. I have no idea where to start. Lets start with the irratating "hiss" that comes from the rear speakers during normal operation in *ANY* mode. You can completely turn the volume off and the hissing still exists! Or the cheap constuction of the rear input/output panel? The thing still uses spring clips for speaker wire! Technics rates this thing at 100w x 5?! Are they nuts? What a joke, my factory car A/C delco could blow this thing away. The over all construction of the case is cheap and the volume is not gauged at all - to get it to a decent level it usually has to be at least at 45% of max volume. Just by picking this thing up you can how inexpensive this unit is. All the weight is balanced to the left hand side. After being faithful to Panasonic for years I have never bought another one of their audio components again. I was actually saved by Natural Sound Audio in Kitchener! They offered me $150 on trade in on this unit for a new Yamaha RX-V795a. I was so relieved to get out of this unit. I ended up losing $250 in 6 months from purchase, but honestly this unit was so poor in performance I really didn't mind. And last but not least, the remote! It's absolutely horrible! It looks like something that came with a high end clock radio, not A/V receiver. In Summary: ** STAY AWAY FROM THIS UNIT!! ** Current setup: YAMAHA RX-V795a Receiver Paradigm Monitor 3's (Fronts) Paradigm Titan's v.2(Rears) Paradigm CC-370 v.3 (Center) Paradigm PS-1000 (Sub-woofer)

Similar Products Used: YAMAHA RX-V795A <- One word - AWESOME!
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
milkmanchris   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 01, 2002]
Strength:

Affordable, easy to use, great sounding amp.

Weakness:

100W/channel RMS may be over-rated.

I really was proud of this unit until I tried powering some Carver Amazing Loudspeakers. Half volume is all I can turn until the OVERLOAD warning flashes on the display. However, it has worked great with my DCM 12's delivering crisp sound and good versatility for many devices.

Similar Products Used: This replaced older Denon pro-logic unit which supplied just as much power but rated at 80W/channel
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 58  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com