Technics SA-AX710 A/V Receivers

SA-AX710

(See reviews)

User Reviews (28)

Showing 1-10 of 28  
David Andrews   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 12, 2017]

I've had this receiver nearly 20 years and would not trade it for the world. I've used this receiver to DJ a wedding and at 100 PER channel X 5 plus my 100 watt powered sub. My God this thing just kicks. I have some rather big yamaha towers and 2 Onkyo rear channels along with 100 watt powered sub and a sweet Klipsch center. The Receiver has never missed a beat . I definitely have gotten my money's worth and then some. Time to rock out!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Vitaly   Audio Enthusiast [May 31, 2016]

Hi guys!
My technics as gx710 stops working and I want to buy another bad TECHNICS sa gx710 for parts.
If u have it ,my email mvz5653@hotmail.com

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rich   Casual Listener [Jul 24, 2013]

Have been using the unit for many years without problem. However, it now won't power up. Any similar experiences? How to fix?

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
WILLLIAM   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 17, 2010]

Im VERY HAPPY BUT MY NAEIGHBORS are not ive had the cops at my house for just watching a movie my closes naeighbors 500 feet yes im very happy with it im not saying to turn it up ok yes im my technicsSA-AX710 IT ROCKS MY HOUSE AND ITS GREAT FOR WHEN YOUR GIRLS MAD CAUSE I CANT HEAR HER WHEN ITS HALF WAY UP IT MAKS IT LOOK LIKE SHE SINGING INSTEAD OF YELLING

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
JME476   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 23, 2004]
Strength:

Loudness Control, good sound, two 120 volt switched outlets on the back, 6 channel discrete imputs, phono input, multiple AV inputs.

Weakness:

None that I've encountered in five years.

Okay, I had to put in a postive note for this receiver. Though I do not own the AX710, I own it's little brother, the AX610. I believe that all that is different is the remote control. One is universal, one is not. I must say I have not one bad thing to say about this receiver. It's been reliable, powerful, and sounds as good as it ever did. I bought this receiver based on my previous experience with Panasonic/Technics products. I purchased this to replace my first surround receiver, the Technics SA-GX550 that I had purchased four years. (I dropped on its face, so needless to say it was toast). Everything about the 610 (710) was better! The power output is powerful, the bass is phenominal (gotta love that loudness switch, and my receiver has none of that noise the other reviewers were talking about in Dolby Surround mode. And yes, I admit the fact this receiver doesn't have digital decoder is annoying, but I solved that problem by buying a DVD player with decorders built in. After six years of moderate use, this baby keeps on churning out good sounds whether it be in 2 channel or multi channel. I'm not one for the extra sound field settings, but they work well. Yes, the receiver does run warm, but after owning two other Technics receivers, I just assumed that they do run warm. It never is too hot to touch, and the fan kicks on at higher volumes. The unit has never overloaded, even when I was using it at a small party. The remote control is a joke however. It is nice laid out, but is a pain to use. I'd just like to try to find a good workhorse like this TODAY for this price. I hope it never dies.

Similar Products Used: Technics SA-GX550, Technics SA-EX140 (sucks), and the Technics SA-190.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Shane Khan   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 22, 2003]
Strength:

With the write spekers it sound magic

Weakness:

Can get a bit to hot for my likeing at times

I've not had the amp for long but i found it to be one of the best around but had a DIGITAL SOUND PROCESSER & the amp turns in tosomething very specal inded

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
david smith   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 06, 2002]

i was just curious if anyone had over come thie hissing problem from the sa-ax710. i've had the reciver for some time now, and never had the 5 channels hooked up. recently, i hooked them up and got very hissy sound and a weak signal from the rears.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
Tom Esmanech   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 14, 2000]
Strength:

Quality-Price (Value for Money)

Weakness:

n/a

I bought this product more then a year ago and I find it excelent. I am not an expert, however I got a lot of info from the web before buying the AX710.
The AX710 meets almost all the requirments for a good reciver. It is powerful enough.
I still have to try it with a DVD, I will update you after I have done that.
Tom

Similar Products Used: n/a
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Thomas Hugg   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 18, 2000]
Strength:

plenty of power, good bass, help function

Weakness:

clarity poor in pro-logic mode, remote not the best

Before I bought this model I checked out the reviews in Consumer Reports. It was ranked very high. Talk about your bogus reports! There is a lot to be improved on here. First of all it was outdated before I even took it out of the box.(no DD or DTS) The 6 channel discreet imput was worthless. If your going to buy a processor for your DVD you might as well have one that is allready incorporated in your receiver. IN pro-logic mode the sound clarity was just not what I was expecting, even after adjustments and other speakers. The remote was dissapointing as far as turning off an on other units and the receiver itself. FM reception was bad even though reviews said it was the top of the line. Overall I would like the opportunity to have not puchased this receiver. It was not worth my money or my time.

Similar Products Used: first pro-logic receiver
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Daveee   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 05, 2000]
Strength:

Price, Sterio mode is alright, power.

Weakness:

Doubles as a portable heater. Hiss in the center/surround speakers. Low center/surround volume. Speaker wire clips are cheap. No digital input. No S-video imput. The remote is hardly "universal", big, dumb and missing a Phono selector button..

I picked up this reciever a couple of years ago for the "bargain" price of $330 at a local military base. It had everything I was looking for at the time. I listened to it at a few stores and they all sounded pretty good.

In Sterio mode the sound is decent...but if you want a sound field or 'surround' sound, forget it! The center/surround channels love to produce a hiss noise.
Pro-Logic? HA! don't even bother. This unit is NOT for HT.

The 2 channel sterio has plenty of power and will produce nice sound, but there are plenty of better recievers out there.

2 Stars for a value Rating because at the time (i thought), the reciever was a pretty good deal. Now when I think about what else i could have done with the money...ugh

2 Stars for an Overall Rating because it does play music ... just not very well.

Similar Products Used: yamaha,sony,pioneer,etc
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 28  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com