Technics SA-AX530 A/V Receivers

SA-AX530

Surround Sound Receiver

User Reviews (19)

Showing 1-10 of 19  
Boricuarx7   Casual Listener [Apr 25, 2010]

I've had the unit,along with the SH-AC300 digital sound processor, (which had a $100 rebate at the time Brandsmart). I bought this new, same year it came out. Still have the remotes for both. Running JBL front's and center and KLH surrounds. Also a powered Cerwin-Vega sub. Most people are still amazed at the sound from this humble ($$) set up. I use every weekend for movie viewing (digital sound) and am considering upgrading to an Onkyo reviewer for the TruHD sound. I now have a 60" Mitsu. DLP and use the PS3 for lots of gaming (yes.. Mod. Warf. 2) and Blu-ray. I have been very content with this product and if it were not having TruHD I would not be looking for another. I faithfully stand behind Technics /Panasonic products.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Franz   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 24, 2009]

I'm always picking up receivers and amps at garage sales for 10 or 20 or 30 bucks. Gone through several Sonys, a couple JVCs and a Sherwood. I don't remember all the model numbers I've had, but this is by far the best so far. First of all, it drives my garage sale purchased JBL940s just fine. The back of this receiver says 270 Watts. I listen to a lot of classical music with soft passages, this receiver has the power to keep those passages from dying. I can attest as well that Bob Marley comes through crystal clear from top to bottom with this receiver as well. When my son and I watched Star Wars using this receiver, I was well pleased with the "Theater" surround sound function. The receiver gave the Star Wars special effects sounds plenty of punch.

I'm almost embarrassed to say I picked this up for a measly 10 dollars. It could have been sold for 75.00!!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
avmike89   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 01, 2009]

I bought this reciever a few months ago as a cheap short term reciever to aid my tv speakers, but I have fallen in love with the sound of this receiver! I have tried many different receivers to power my Polk Monitor 70's but they all end up back at the store! I even brought my receiver to a friends house to use with his B&W towers and the technics still beat out his onkyo txsr805! The lack of digital inputs does get annoying but I solved that problem by picking up a Yamaha digital processor and the sound is even better! I would recommend this reciever to any audiophile on a budget...not everyone has the cash to pick up the best of everything...but this little wonder that I picked up for $25 is easily worth much more than that!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeff   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 26, 2002]
Strength:

1. Sound 2. Reliability 3. Looks-I think it does not look to badly outdated for its age

Weakness:

1. Not digital 2. Lack of inputs

Well seeing as I have had this for over three years and never had a problem I would say this was well worth $140. I use it probably at least three hours a day for music, movie and video games. It still sounds good, so good in fact many times I have gone out to buy a new reciever and came back home empty handed because nothing was so beyond this that I could rationalize spending the money. I do wish it was digital and I wish it had more inputs, but at the time digital was still catching on. My Systerm JBL S 38's JBL S-center Jbl N 24 (rear) JBL PB 10 Technics PD 888 changer(I think this will outlive me) Panasonic CV 50 DVD

Similar Products Used: Sony, kenwood, sherwood
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tiago   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 11, 2000]
Strength:

Good sound, power and low cost.

Weakness:

Lack of terminals for a second front speaker set.

This is a pretty good receiver, sound is very good and will probably please most listeners. It has enough power to play really loud in medium/small rooms.
BTW, a thought I'd never find a receiver with such features (7 inputs including DVD, digital-ready, fairly high power, nice design) from Technics for less than US$250.
If you want a quality receiver for your home-theater at a reasonable price, this one can do it.

Similar Products Used: none.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Peter   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 27, 1999]
Strength:

Sounds quite nice for a 80W per channel system, low cost.

Weakness:

Technics doesn't have a 100W per channel version similiarly priced.

Its a great receiver for its cost. Technics is a good brand with a quality reputation. If you aren't an audio freak, then this receiver is for you.

Similar Products Used: Kenwood 80W per channel receiver (model number unknown)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Roy Antonio   Casual Listener [Sep 02, 2001]
Strength:

Lots of inputs, low price.

Weakness:

Runs HOT, HOT, AND HOTTER!

For the first year, through the warrenty period, this receiver worked great. Plenty of power and great sound on Cerwin Vega 100w speakers and sub-woofer. After this the unit began randomly cutting out the front and surround speakers leaving only the center and sub-woofer channels. Volume level, duration of play, etc. didn't seem to make a difference. I hooked different speakers to the unit with the same result. I believe the problem lies in the unit running so darned hot. Over time the loss of front and surround channels became increasingly worse until the receiver is simply no longer usable. For sound quality I would rate this product at 3+ to 4 stars, but over all I can only give it a 1 star due to its failure in longevity.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
4
Salud Almaguel   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 04, 2002]
Strength:

Long Lasting

Weakness:

None

I have enjoyed my entertainment center without any problems. However, my remote control for the system is very hard to find. This is the only complaint I have. There is no store that can be found that carry any items from Technic.

I need a new remote that can work properly. If you can please direct me in the right direction, I would be most appreciative for your help.

Thank you, Salud

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
ALEX QUINONES   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 25, 2000]
Strength:

GREAT RECIVER FOR THE MONEY AND MODERETED PAWER FOR SMALL SPEAKERS LIKE THE BOSE ACOUSTIMASS AM 6

Weakness:

I GETS A LITTLE BIT WARM FOR LONG TERN PLAYING

THE RECIVER IS GREAT FOR THE PRICE AND THE POWER IS GREAT FOR SMALL SPEAKER LIKE MY BOSE ACOUSTIMASS AM 6 I HAVE NO PROBLEM CRANKING UP THE RECIVER WITH GOOD SPEAKER THERE IS NO DISTORSION WHAT SO EVER THE RECIVER IS GREAT IF YOU WANT HOME THEATER FOR A AFFORTABLE PRICE OF 169.99 AT CIRCUIT CITY IS COMPATIBLE WITH DTS DECODER FOR DOLBY DIGITAL THAT MEAN YOU CAN YOU A DVD PLAYER WITH IT THAT MAKE IT DVD READY RECIVER...

Similar Products Used: KENWOOD VR 305 RCA HOME THEATER RECIVERS AND PIONEER AND HARMAN KARDON AND ONKYO
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Rick   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 18, 2000]
Strength:

Price, Crisp/Clean Sound, Digital Ready, Sound Field Control

Weakness:

Speaker Connectors and Audio/Video Inputs

My parents bought this receiver for me on my birthday two months ago (Hey, I'm a poor social worker!) and I love it. If I had done more research before picking this one out, I would have chosen the Technics SA-DX930 with Dolby Digital, but I have read many negative reviews of the model, so I am glad I stuck with this one. I use a Bose 301 for the center speaker, Polk Audio RT400 for the front speakers, and two Sony bookshelf speakers for the rear. The sound is great! If you want Dolby Digital for the DVD player, you will have to buy a player with built in Dolby Digital Decoder (unless you absolutely have to have the DVD player right now, I would hold off on it until the DVD recorders come out next year. Rumor has it that when the recorders are standard, your current DVDs will not play in them). There are no Digital Optical inputs on this receiver, but I could not imagine getting any crisper or cleaner sound with that feature (the ears can only pick up so much!!). The surround sound is strong and when I watched a Tina Turner live on VHS the other day, it does feel like you are there. The Sound Field Control is a nice feature. Sometimes movies or music videos are not well done in Surround sound and will cause distortion in playback (this problem is not your receiver, unless it does it all the time). By distortion, I mean there will not be strong sound out of the center speaker or rear speakers. Choose the Theatre mode, Simulated Surround mode, and for live concerts, the Live mode, and that will remedy this situation. The only negative I see with this receiver so far is the construction of the speaker connections and audio/video inputs on the back. Very cheap plastic, but with gentle handling, this is not a problem. After all is said and done, you will not go wrong with this receiver. For the price and features, I think you will walk away happy and with a few extra bucks in your pocket to buy that CD boxed set you have been wanting.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 19  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com