TEAC AV-8900 A/V Receivers

AV-8900

DD/DTS receiver

User Reviews (23)

Showing 1-10 of 23  
lysergik27   AudioPhile [Oct 31, 2002]
Weakness:

Pretty weak for a 100 watt, but the system overall was pretty good.

Love it, Oh, except for the bass just quitting on me, the fuses blew, and each time I turn the bass on, whether or not its hooked up to the TEAC makes no difference, the fuses will blow

Similar Products Used: Phillips 300 watt prologic
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
I_HAVE_NONE   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 22, 2002]
Strength:

easy to use.

Weakness:

SO MANY. Not enough inputs, damn thing keeps flashing protect and shutting itself off. Cant seem to find an equalizer setting that plays the same amount of volume out of each speaker. Rear speakers volume is weak.

Good quality, cheap, meets the needs of any normal human.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
funko   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 08, 2002]
Strength:

price, connections, build quality, power, sound quality

Weakness:

none

With a decent subwoofer, not a cheapie no name, this unnit puts out bass with room to spare, the sub level can also be controlled through teh reciever to recieve a huge boost. That has been my experience. The reciever is a great value, it puts out enough power to fill my modest living room comfortably. It has the full range of inputs and outputs. Sounds great with a nice set of speakers...Get it!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Klev7   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 11, 2002]

This is a follow up review. I am responding to the complaints regarding low bass output n the AG-D8900 receiver. I believe my receiver is one in the same as the AV8900 by Teac. I only question this due to the fact that I cannot relate to the postings regarding poor bass output. As I stated in my original review, I do run Cerwin Vegas with 10in woofers. Not huge by any means yet large compared to many of todays floor speakers. I would suggest leaving the "superbass" feature ON and the "night mode" OFF under all circumstances. The superbass can also be adjusted to varying degrees of DB output. In worst case, I would suggest a seperate equalizer to tweak those low end frequencies. If you run only puny bookshelf speakers with this unit and expect deep bass, forget it. I hope this helps those who are presently disappointed. My walls continue to shake :o)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Peter M   AudioPhile [Jul 22, 2002]
Strength:

The automatic switching of DTS, DD and Prologic modes works great. Plenty of inputs and outputs. Enough volume if you have even half-way efficient speakers.

Weakness:

Poor low frequence response. Even with a 200 watt subwoofer, it's just not pumping out the bass as it should. Manual is almost useless and setup is anything but intuitive.

I just couldn't resist the price tag on this unit. It seemed to have all the features I was looking for and at a price that was less than my subwoofer! I've used it for a while now and I'm happy with its capabilities. I've got it hitched up with matched Infinity speakers an a 200 watt subwoofer for a true 5.1 setup. All in all, I can't help but to recommend it at this price.

Similar Products Used: Sony STR-911D series receivers
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
john   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 03, 2002]
Strength:

high current power,discrets output,100w by 5,cabinet design,inputs,price

Weakness:

their units are rare here,remote,knobs,poor power supply,

this receiver is awesome for the price,once i hooked it all up i noticed their way of producing sound besides this receiver is high current with discrete output transistors so your getting really good sound all volume levels,i know my friends tell me all the time that this unit looks allot like marantz receivers but i dont know why,i use this receiver for movies only,i kinda of dont like their tuner section or their cd playback like to me it sounds a bit bright on music but for movies it rocks my infiniti's rs-5 along with my polk audio cs400i,and my polk mk3'2's.it also gets kinda of warm after a while when your on volume 36,i would recommend this receiver has a entry level receiver just on features and price ,also it;s well built but i wish that would get a better power supply that might change everything about this receiver and better remote and basically better parts in and out but teac is not that known here in the u.s. mostly in europe and in austraila,so its really rare that you find a teac component here.

Similar Products Used: sony
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Jim Fisher   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 21, 2002]
Strength:

"Night mode" will be handly if I can figure out how to use it. The button is either stuck in the on position or does not function or only functions when you have some other setting adjusted properly. Unfortunately, the users manual gives no help at all.

Weakness:

Non-backlit front panel buttons - why have manufacturers gotten away from lighted buttons? Not enough inputs/outputs for various components (five inputs on this unit versus six on my old unit). There is no "TV" input. I have to plug the TV audio into the "VCR/Audio 1" jacks. There are no "aux" jacks so that my digital cable audio must be plugged into the "CD-in" or some other illogical input jack. No "auto-on" function. This is a really nice feature of my old unit. You turn the TV on and the receiver sensed this and powered itself on. Now I have to either turn the unit on seperately or just leave it on all the time. That's fine for me but my family (okay, my wife) simply wants to push one button to watch TV. This isin't too much to ask these days, is it? All advanced functions must be used from the remote. Just to change from, say, FM to Cable TV, I have to use the remote. It seems all manufacturers are moving towards this but what happends when the remote dies or you can't find it? The remote died on my old unit making the Mitsubishi pretty much useless until I bought another remote for SEVENTY DOLLARS! Is it too much to ask manufacturers to put even the simple but

Okay, I received my receiver and, as threatened, I am writing back with a two thumbs down on this unit. I'm glad I didn't actually pay real money for this unit since it came from the American Express "Rewards" program. This unit was to be an upgrade to my old Prologic-only Mitsubishi MVR400 unit and I am very dissapointed. Biggest gripe is not enough "boom." Very low bass response compared to my old 70-watt unit (this Teac unit carries 100-watts). I've got this thing hooked up to the Bose "Lifestyle" cube thingys with an in-line subwoofer (yeah, I know, don't laugh but I bought these Bose's a few years ago and didn't know better). The sound is simply not as "there" with this Teac unit. I've checked and re-checked my polarity and that is not it. I have a sneaky feeling that the "night mode" (which kind of "chops off" the loud parts at night for listening when family is sleeping) function of this unit is stuck in the "on" position. I don't know for sure since there is no indicator of whether this function is "on" or not. I want to call Teac but there is no phone number listed. A web search is forthcoming. I've checked and re-checked the various settings described in the poorly written users guide to no avail. It just sounds like crap. I will keep working with this unit as there is a chance that I have missed something but I don't think so.

Similar Products Used: Mitsubishi M-VR600
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
JD   Casual Listener [Jun 02, 2002]
Strength:

1. 2 Optical Inputs 2. Doby Digital/DTS/Dolby ProLogic 3. 500 Watts 4. Excellent Sound Reproduction w/good speakers 5. An $89.00 Clearance price tag (originally $399.00) I was willing to pay $599.00 for a HK, Sony, or JVC. 6. One hell of a bargain

Weakness:

1. Limited Bass/Treble functions (no equalizer) 2. No universal remote 3. Larger size than competition 4. Runs a little hot

I was looking for a simple A/V receiver for my family room and purchased the JVC 8020. The product would not recognize the DTS signal from my Onkyo DVD Player. I took the product back to the store and got the Sony 1075. One of the plastic clips on the back of the unit broke so I took it back. I was given the TEAC 8900 for a loaner (they ordered me a Harman/Kardon AV 120 (on sale for $299) but I have chosen to keep the TEAC for $89. I was amazed with this unit. It handles all of my music nearly as well as my Harman/Kardon AVR 520. I got my neighbor (he claims to be a music expert) and asked him to listen to my new reciever. He was amazed that such an old unit and being made from TEAC could produce such great sound. He claims that my Bose speakers compensate for the cheap receiver. The receiver has 2 optical inputs, Doby Digital, DTS and 500 watts.

Similar Products Used: Harmon Kardon AV 520 (total winner, my baby and ref. receiver) JVC 8020 (no good, cheap build) Sony 1075 (a bit cheap on the build for the price)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jim Fisher   Audio Enthusiast [May 29, 2002]

Okay, folks. I've ordered this receiver to replace my aging piece-of-junk Mitsubishi Pro Logic receiver (I'll NEVER buy a Mitsubishi-anything ever again!). If this Teac unit doesn't live up to my expectations, I will be back to haunt all of you. My review will be forthcoming.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Klev7   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 26, 2002]
Strength:

Dual Optical in, S-Video switching, great looking.

This Teac reciever is insane! I previously owned another "big name" reciever which retailed at a much higher price but offered far less. The Teac has loads of features and great sound at a dirt cheap price. As outlined by other reviewers, the digital audio and S-video switching is a huge bonus. The build quality is excellent and the "super bass" feature delivers deep thundering lows without a sub. I do have Cerwin-Vegas with large cones however. If you are on a budget and want a pleasant surprise, you cannot go wrong with the teac D8900!

Similar Products Used: Sony, yamaha, JVC, Fisher
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 23  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com