TEAC AG-D9320 A/V Receivers

AG-D9320

Rated at 130 wpc for stereo and 100 wpc for 5 channels. 6 pre-in and pre-out.

User Reviews (29)

Showing 1-10 of 29  
Isimokov   Casual Listener [Nov 14, 2002]
Strength:

Just look at the back.

Weakness:

The remote doesn't operate all off the functions on my CD player, but it's a very minor problem as the CD came with it's own remote

Don't know where to start. But simply put WOW. This unit is unbelievable. I really don't know the people that gave this unit negative reviews are on. I've had it for almost 2 years now, and there isn't a single thing that comes to mind as a negative. I have the receiver hooked up to the Bose AM10II speakers as well as a Teac 5 Disc CD and a Panasonic DVD. Both devices are connected with the Fiber Optic cable. The sound is excellent. Better then anything I heard comming from a Technics, Sony, Kenwood, or a Pioneer receiver. I would put it at par with my friend's Yamaha (which was twice the cost, and not nearly as powerfull).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
john   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 07, 2002]
Strength:

Versatility, clean power, great sound imaging, DD and DTS surround, great price!

Weakness:

Remote not universal, poor instruction manual

After looking around at all the popular brands such as Onkyo, Yamaha, Marantz, etc. this reciever caught my eye. At the time I was using a Technics receiver which I was not inpressed with. There seemed to be a lot of distortion and I was never satisfied. Then one day at costco, I spotted the Teac AG-D9320. I knew the product name but hadn''t heard anything from the company for a while. Well the price was right and that pushed me over the edge, I bought it. Once home I immediately pulled it out of the box and began setting it up. It connection pannel on the back was impressive and was an easy set-up for all of my components. Once set up and I turned it on, my first test was music CDs. I was impressed by the imaging that came out of my Paradign Monitor 7s. The next step was to test my DVD player which I hooked up through the Coax connection. Once again I was quite impressed, crystal clear sound! Dolby Digatal and DTS surround was amazing! It made me think of the possibilities when I upgrade my speakers! Finally I cranked it up and found that the sound produced was clear and did not hurt my ears, in other words there was no distortion! A friend of mine spent $1000 on his Integra reciever, and granted, it has some features that mine does not such as 6.1 surround and software upgrading, etc. However, when it came to music and dvd playback, He was scatching his head because the sound quality of my Teac was on par with his system, which cost considerably more. The other exciting thing about this receiver is that it has pre-outs so that you can power your speakers with separate power amps, something that I only dreamed about before!

Similar Products Used: Technics, Integra, Yamaha, Marantz
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Frank   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 01, 2001]

Outstanding sound, flexibility, quality and extra's for the price. when bought at Costco and you can't go wrong with their return policy! I love it!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
YOU WILL NEVER KNOW   Audiophile [Oct 20, 2000]
Strength:

good sound for the price

Weakness:

can get much better sound for about $300 more.

Well here is the story. I purchased this reciever, because of it's high current capability. However i then found out that the current is instantaneous, and not continous. Believe me this makes a huge difference in digital sound when either watching a movie or listening to music. Anyways i was planning on bying high end speakers, but then realized that this reciever, just would not power them in low's and high's. After i gave it back, i purchased the onkyo tx-ds575x, and wow what a difference it made paying only $250 more. The first thing i noticed was that even at full volume, it did not irritate your ears, which is the best way to check how clean an amp is on full treb, and bass. The second thing i noticed was the built quality. The teac was plastic, where the onkyo was built of solid aluminum, with huge heatsinks inside, which help keep the sound distortion free.

So as you can see the teac is not worth what people say it is worth. Sure it sounds good for $500 canadian, but then why not wait a bit, save, and pay $700, and get a reiciever like the onkyo. Anyways onkyo was my final decision, because of the clean power, detailed sound, build quality, and also the db boost for all 6 channels from -12db to +12db.

ALL IN ALL I paid $700 for the onkyo, but you will not find it that cheep, unless you do what i did, wich was tell them to compare a fake price of the net. Te regular price of the onkyo 575x was $900 canadian +tax.

REMEMBER: DO NOT BUY THE TEAC

Similar Products Used: teac ag-d9100
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Chung   Audiophile [Jul 15, 2000]
Strength:

130wpc, great DD and DTS processing, cheap price, pre in/out,

Weakness:

remote control, heart-beat sound sent to subwoofer when reciever is off,

This is a great receiver. However, when i turn it off, there is a heart-beat noise sent to my sub-woofer which i just turn off. i don't think it's got the same power as the AG-D9100 because i have to turn the volume up a lot more for the same amount of sound as the AG-D9100. I use them both as the pre-out for the surrounds into the 9100 so i can use the analog Surround EX for DVDs. Also, this relieves stress on the 9320 because i don't have to power the surrounds. The unit does get warm but not as hot as the technic recievers. This is a great unit because you get a lot for the amount of money you spend. Not only is there room for expansions like SACD or DVD-Audio, but there are component in/out. However, I would recommend this unit to everyone.

Similar Products Used: teac agd9100,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mitti Jallabi   Audiophile [Jul 15, 2000]
Strength:

Good price. DTS and DD decoders built-in. A lot of different inputs and outputs. Very very good good.

Weakness:

No thing!

Wow i take it out of box and it's great. It a good thing. no thing like this ever. It's like nothing ever made. It's unbelievable. I like it, I love it. It great and good and awseome and fabulous and easy to use. Buy it right now. Please.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jason Banks   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 19, 2001]
Strength:

Everything and more. power Power POWER

Weakness:

Audiophiles that believe in Onkyo,Denons(fan squeelers)

This an awesome reciever and there is a guy below that says that you will never drive all of your speakers with a reciever so you need to go with seperates and he is totally right and then below him there is a guy that thinks a reciever that is twice the price is comparable Onkyo 575x but he has obviously not realized that the Onkyo 575x doesn't have preouts for seperates and it also doesn't have any digital outs like the guy below me mentioned so he is a salesmans best friend.The Teac does have more power and it is just as clean sounding and you have the versatility of going with seperates and you can work around it.The guy would probably buy a fan squelling denon just to say he owned a denon and his reciever is more expensive than yours so that makes it better but he is only kidding himself.The Teac reciever is very powerfull and all companies have glitches with remotes so you I wouldn't discount them for that.I listen to movies in digital stereo because my centre sucks but I will update this when I get one and it sounds better than most HT setups in digital stereo.It rocks and I would host a concert with it and plug 300 watt power amps into all of the preouts.I DON'T LISTEN TO FANS WHEN I WATCH A MOVIE.

Similar Products Used: None but if the Onkyo 656 was $300.00 I would compare
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ray Willingham Jr.   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 25, 2000]
Strength:

Works very well, DD and DTS decoders are built in. Plenty of inputs and ouputs for SVHS, analog and digital audio. Was easy to get up and running properly. Has large (no sub) and small (with sub) speaker selection, sounded very good with no sub woofer in large and excellent with subwoofer in small. Good price vs performance, I do recommend it to others.

Weakness:

Has Too much delay to rear speakers and echo to front in theater and other fake modes. Does not have universal remote control (thank god for Sony RM-AV2000). Manual does not live up to Teac Recorder manuals of the 80's.

Really a great buy, if you've got a universal remote control you like and you don't like DSP modes. If It had a universal remote and a tuning knob (I know I'm getting old) I would have given it a 9 out of 10. This one rates a 7 because most people will need the remote and some probably like DSP modes.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
alex macdonald   Audiophile [Jan 05, 2001]
Strength:

Great Dolby digital and Dts decoding. 24/96 built in. Pretty good watt per channel output. Price. S-video

Weakness:

No THX certification,remote

This receiver is quite satisfying in its all around sound quality. I found it best sound matched with a second digital decoder and monster cable. It is important to have the best speakers in your budget I use a sunfire true sub woofer mkII jr. legacy audio "whisper" loudspeakers for both front l/r and rear l/r channels. When I compared it to my lexicon pre amp processer and outlaw amp package it could'nt keep up but did very well. Delivers in all modes. If purchased i suggest buying The Fith Element to have for reference. Buy this unit and use it properly and you are on your way to home theater bliss.

Similar Products Used: Lexicon,Sony,SAE,Marants
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrew   [Feb 20, 2001]
Strength:

Great sound and tons of extras

Weakness:

unknown

Excellent product for the price and comparison to other receivers in the same range.

Similar Products Used: old Kenwood surround receiver
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 29  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com