Sony STR DE875 Dolby Digital DTS A V Receiver A/V Receivers

STR DE875 Dolby Digital DTS A V Receiver

- Preprogrammed Remote Commander control.
- 32-bit Dolby Digital, Dolby Pro Logic and dts decoder.
- 32-bit DSP with 27 acoustic environments.
- Digital Cinema Sound system with Cinema Studio EX modes.
- Digital Concert Hall A/B for surround sound playback of stereo music sources.
- Virtual Matrix 6.1 mode.
- 10-function input selector with Phono input.
- 5.1-channel input for new high-resolution multi-channel audio sources such as SACD.
- 3 Optical digital inputs, 1 output.
- Coaxial digital input.
- 3 S-Video inputs, 1 S-Video output.
- Control S system.
- Subwoofer output.

User Reviews (39)

Showing 1-10 of 39  
Steve   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 15, 2010]

Wow this is the best for the value... Got this at Goodwill for $19.99 LOL.... Who would ever give this away. Hooked it up and Wow what a Home Theather System.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
richardbckr   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 18, 2008]
Strength:

Great value for the number of features and quality.

Looks great in the cabinet.

Excellent power for hungry speakers.

Excellent sound range.

Weakness:

Complicated to operate for old guys like me. There are lots of buttons to push but no knobs to twist.

My early 80's era Yamaha compnents gave up the ghost after 20 years and I needed a replacement. Not wanting to spend a lot of money I settled for a unit that had plenty of power, a circuit I can run a pair of Bose 901s through, and would fit into my cabinet easily. The Sony STR DE- 875 has done a very nice job for me over the last 4 years. It's been extremely reliable - even after a couple power hits over the winter. The Sony's internal equalizer fine tunes the 901s for my room and there are more features than I can possibly use. Perhaps one of these days I may move the Sony to the TV where it probably belongs and purchase an integrated amp for my 901s and music enjoyment. All in all, for the budget concious audio listener I think you'll find the Sony STR - DE875 a great deal with great sound.

Customer Service

Never had to use Sony customer service.

Similar Products Used: Replaced my Yamaha equipment with this unit.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Dimitris   Casual Listener [Feb 12, 2007]

I've this receiver for about two years and use it mainly for movies. I am completely satisfied, especially given the price that I paid. I 've installed Magnat Motion speakers and a 12 inch subwoofer by Magnat as well. I usually watch movies at around 30. I 've never raised the volume above 35, it's really loud and it goes until 50... I'm not a specialist or an audiophile but I never had a single problem or complaint about it so I do not regret buying it, and I urge you to do the same if you find one cheap.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
nebfan   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 15, 2004]
Strength:

Plenty of power, deep base, Ooodles of tweaks

Weakness:

None to report

Well, after reading some of the former reviews I just had to put in my two cents. First, This is an excellent reciever. I have not experienced any of the negative problems with the volume control or lack of bass. I attribute this to having high quality interconnects, speaker cables and of course quality speakers. I have been a 2 channel guy for years so perhaps my knowledge on Home Theater is limited, but I really don't think that is the case here. Prior to the purchase I have owned Arcam, NAD, & some of the old 70's Marantz & "tank Like' Yamaha Equipment. I have a pretty good ear for music and this piece does not dissapoint me in the least. No it is not as wide and dynamic as my old British & Japanese Hi-Fi, but they did not offer any of the Sony's DSP funtions so it has been to this point a good trade off. Hell, I still have my Marantz 2030 and have not felt the need to plug it in. In short for $125.00 this was an outstanding purchase. To those having any of these "so called" issues don't blame the reciever; upgrade the interconnects, cables, speakers & digitals sources & you shoud see a huge difference in performance

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
greggo9   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 05, 2003]
Strength:

Bang for the buck. Could have had a better remote.

Weakness:

Confusing set up.

Overall, a pretty good receiver if you are just starting out. Of course, now the DE-885 is out and has the 2nd room option and is $50 less! Go figure. The sound is good for a low-to-mid A/V receiver. I am using Wharfedale separates up front and Klipsch surrounds with an AR 12inch powered sub. The bass adjustments +/- 6db is pretty good, and is convenient to adjust the bass output. There are several different soundfields to choose from, but the majority time I leave it on Auto. Good options for the money. Setup takes some time and figuring.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer AV receiver.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
TJ   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 19, 2002]
Strength:

Easy to set up and over all flexibility, the amp can handle speaker impedance between 4-8 ohms. Proper speaker connecters using either binding posts or banana plugs, no messing around with spring clips that won't accept thick cables. Remote is cable of operating some Sony DVD players, VCR’s and TV’s.

Weakness:

Possible problem with the display and dead pixels. Only one RCA input. Remote looks cluttered until you realise it is multifunction of sort’s. Can’t record from digital source to analogue - very annoying for dubbing cd player connected though digital to cassette etc. No tape monitor for connection of external graphic equaliser but to be fair the internal EQ is more than good enough.

Have had this amp at least 6 months now and pretty happy with the sound. Bass notes have a habit of sounding "boomy" though but this is more to do with the cheap speakers and the wide range of music than the amp. Only problem I've had is dead pixels on the display, the retailer fixed this and to be honest was probably my fault for leaving the amp on 24/7. Other criticisms are only one RCA input; both the DVD player and PC use this type of connector so I had to build a Y splitter to enable them to be connected at the same time. The volume issue that some people have commented about is something of a double edged sword, the amp does sound quiet until it reaches 25 on the dial (max 50) but once its there every number higher sounds massively louder – suspect this to be more of a miss calibration of the volume control than a weakness in the amp. Either way there is more than enough power to rattle the windows in my bungalow before reaching this maximum.

Similar Products Used: Sony STR-D511 Pro-Logic receiver.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
fr_ronnie   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 13, 2002]
Strength:

Great and deep sound. Easy operation. Remote feature is fantastic.

Weakness:

It get really hot after playing 0ne hour.

I have been using this product for about 9 months. IT is really good. I am really satisfied with the system.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
youdd   Casual Listener [Aug 31, 2002]
Strength:

Multitude of inputs Universal remote Great sound, plenty of power

Weakness:

Remote a little trick to learn Runs hot

I have had this system for a couple of weeks now and I have been very happy with it. Set up was fairly easy, probably made easier by having used an 845 a friend has. I have had no problems getting volume, exept throught TV/SAT as described later, as some have said nor do I have a thud from the sub when I change inputs, or a hiss from the speakers. The remote control is a little tricky to figure out, especially since you get basically no help from the owner's manual. Once you figure it out however you can easily see the logic behind the controls and they are quite easy. Overall it has worked great, the sound is equally good whether playing cd's or dvd's. As I mentioned earlier, I have trouble getting volume out of my TV/SAT input, but it's probably how I have it hooked up. If I watch it through my VCR on Video 1 the problem is gone. I'm sure it is fixable, it may just be my crappy RCA television that is causing the problem since that's the only input that is giving me poor volume. As always seems the case with Sony's you have to be careful of the heat and keep the receiver's top clear for cooling. In the end, I'm very happy with this purchase and would suggest if you are having problems with volume, a hiss or a thud, try some different ways of hooking it up or better speaker cables.

Similar Products Used: Sony STR-DE845, Technics A/V reciever
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rick   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 31, 2002]
Strength:

Preset EQ Ease of Setup Remote Control is fantastic Plenty of optical ins and outs for the casual user, ie shows off for friend on football sunday.

Weakness:

ACK! Where did all my S-Video ins go? The DE875 could learn a thing or two from the S-Vid's in on the Kenwood VR407

I replaced a Kenwood VR407 with the Sony DE875 - I found quite a bit of difference in both sound quality and EQ Options including a TON of presets that are beautiful for someone who is kind of brain dumb at setting an EQ manually.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Darcy Dubois   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 21, 2002]
Strength:

Lots of features for the price.

Weakness:

Non-programmable remote - incompatible with my Hughes DSS IRD.

Cracked this baby out of the box despite the somewhat negative reviews re: bass, sparse manual, etc. I jerry-rigged a number of speakers and speaker parts I had lying around and opted out of hooking up a sub, especially since I have some reasonabl woofers connected. I find the sound to be really good . Oddly, MP3's burned at 128 kbps sound better than factory recorded CD's. I found the receiver easy to set up and integrated nicely with my Panasonic DVD, JVC VCR, etc. The sound is good - I agree with the volume issue, although this is a bit absurd - 30 is just a number. That sounds supiciously like the Nigel Tufnel approach to vlume control expecting it to rock at 11 I suppose. I checked out many receivers and liked this because of the amount of inputs and outputs. Assuming this doesn't burn out in a year, I will have lots of room for expansion.

Similar Products Used: denon pioneer
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 39  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com